December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeons of Resolve

by Dark Helix Games - Jam Entry

Dungeons of Resolve is a simple dungeon crawler.

There are a few known issues with the combat system. Eliminating enemies is hard but not impossible!

GLHF!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#250Audio(Jam)2.95
#251Graphics(Jam)3.26
#378Humor(Jam)1.94
#407Mood(Jam)2.50
#464Overall(Jam)2.52
#494Innovation(Jam)2.16
#502Fun(Jam)2.00
#525Theme(Jam)1.83
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

lightsoda says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Got the helmet once I decided to just run past the bats, attacking is kind of awkward. Nice music and graphics.

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

Graphics were very good, functional and polished. Music helped set the mood, too. I played it about 4 times, walked around and managed to find three chests in the dungeon, sometimes containing boots, chest plates, helmets, and shields. I tried killing enemies, but found it impossible to attack them without getting myself hurt. I kept searching for a weapon, it felt like the theme was "you only get 0 weapons". Fists are not very effective against bats, apparently. So I ended up just trying to dodge the bats. Eventually, I got bored and gave up. The walking speed was so slow, and every room seemed identical, so exploring didn't feel very satisfying.

bodsey says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Great art, nice sound. The attack command is not very responsive, making the gameplay a bit frustating, unfortunately.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Graphics where awesome. The best ever seen so far this LD. Killing enemy's is hard, walking trought doors didn't really work sometimes. Every room is the "same", it would be nice if there were decorations or something. I just dodged everyone. So it could be a little more polished up. I had fun thought. I didn't really get the theme.
Also, for the next time you distribute a game: You don't need to copy the program debug database files.

I would love to get your source code! Great job!

Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Well the graphics are great :D, was hard to enter a door, the game is very simple i feel like i needs more content like decorations, extra walls or something and needs more enemys but thats ok. But anyways great work n_n

StMatn says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Nice idea.
The game looks quite nice and the music is cool. You could have made attack radii more forgiving (greater for player, smaller for enemies), since it was really hard to kill an enemy.
All in all nice work :)

dalbinblue says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:44pm

The graphics and sound are definitely about average for an LD game, but the game-play is very awkward. Attacking is possible, but ineffective as the enemies will hit you in the process. To fix that you could either have knocked the enemies back (so that they would not hit the player on a successful attack) or make the player's attack longer range with feedback showing the attack (as it was difficult to tell if I was even attacking).

PaulSB says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:38pm

First impression is very good with the nice sprite art but the game is rather difficult to play. Walk speed very slow, going through exits was awkward and the attack range is very small. Certainly stuff to build on though, a few tweaks away from being rather good I think!

kibertoad says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:58pm

it seems to have more potential, then actual gameplay. attacking without getting hit is hardly possible. overall, for something so pretty it's just not very fun. music was nice and the menu looks really professional though.

Grafter says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Awesome Graphics! Good Entry! Well done!

Tanser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Nice art, the resolution came up a bit too big for me and the character is walking too slow(is there way to sprint, I didn't find any).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]