December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGO Submarines

by lilinx - Jam Entry

My first LD! This is a two-players (seated) game about submarines chases, invisible underwater mines and sonar detection.

YOU ONLY GET ONE EARSET FOR TWO so you have to share it.
(each player only get one earphone).

The most important thing is to make sure you're listening to the right channel! Check this on the instruction screen (use your controls : you should hear your sound).

Controls :
red player (left) - w/a/s/d
green player (right) - arrow keys
Press ESC anytime to go back to title screen

HOW TO PLAY?
- Chase your opponent when it's your turn to attack
- Mines are hidden underwater
- Different sounds tell you where are the adjacent mines.
- Learning the meaning of sounds is a matter of trial-and-error.

If you're confused about how to play, go to CHEAT MODE.

EDIT : In my experience the game is funnier with the following settings : 240 seconds (or more), and 8 mines. It will also be more challenging and will ask for more concentration. Try various settings and tell me if you find other interesting options!

You will need a sound system that supports stereo (most do).

The French controls "zqsd" work too.

Other stuff I've done : http://www.lilinx.com/
Twitter : http://www.twitter.com/lilinxgames/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Innovation(Jam)3.92
#185Audio(Jam)3.14
#240Theme(Jam)2.83
#300Fun(Jam)2.77
#310Overall(Jam)3.02
#338Humor(Jam)2.08
#406Mood(Jam)2.51
#490Graphics(Jam)2.23

Comments

hroon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Excellent! There are so few games using audio in new and interesting ways! - I only could play around on my own so far. Can't wait to try it out with a friend!

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Nice Game. I like the use of sound. I only have been able to try it solo but it seems like a cool game to play with a friend. I also loved the artwork!

MarGolith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:52am

My son loves to play this with me. He has a blast running around the screen trying to get away from me and then KABOOM! He finds a mine. It makes him laugh so hard.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:41am

Very cool and innovative. Also a good interpretation of the theme. I also like the cheat mode, to make it easier to understand how it works. Also nice Graphics. Excellent work.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:44am

Interesting use of audio as a gameplay mechanic. Took a while to figure out what was going on tho.

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45am

I had to use cheat-mode to understand what's with the various warning sounds and it all makes sense :) (location by different chime/siren). Perhaps on next build to have an option for a player to add finite amount of mines and hopefully not run into their own. great idea of appropriating sound to gauge surrounding and hazards.

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18am

Very original idea with the sound based mine avoiding!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:39am

quite simple but must be fun with two players ^^

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:59am

The dual earplug thing is amazing, cool idea. Although I must admit that it's pretty tough to learn (for me at least) Colour scheme is really nice retro though. Reminds me of playing battleships, but with sound!

Aske says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Great idea! Really enjoyed it :)

dekkuran says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Amazing use of audio. We tried it out and found it pretty challenging.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58pm

It 's playable for blind. Super idea!

ludotrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Nice and original idea, had fun playing.

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I'll have to find another player, but I love the idea. Very clever new twist.

Miltage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I really like this idea. I think that the mines should be randomized each turn, instead of once at the start of the level. Once you find a clean route through the minefield, both players can just run the same path until the game is over.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Fantastic interpretation of the theme :D

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26pm

took some time to figure out the audio cues, but enjoyed the chase, and the mines definitely make it better.

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:27pm

I love what this is getting at. It's a really innovative use of audio, and the idea has a lot of potential. What frustrated me is that the L/R/Z placement of mines couldn't have any audio panning (of course, because you're sharing a single set of earbuds) data. I understand that this is totally by necessity (and ratings reflect that :) ), but it'd be very cool to have an implementation where you can still get pan data to help find the mines.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28pm

An amazing use of audio, even though the sounds get a bit annoying after a while. Great job!

mboaj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Wow! :) I really like that it can be played with your ears only. Really great.

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Miltage : I think you're right. I will change this if I make another build.

thebrainfuse : I guess the fun (and challenging thing) about this game is that you are constantly re-learning the audio cues because they are randomized (at least it's how I meant it)

Omaha : maybe you should check the entry called "Can you hear me"? It works on the mechanics you're talking about. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=4020

Everybody else : thank you so much for all these comments. I'm so happy I entered ludum dare.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:13pm

love the idea ^^ Thank you for sharing this. Its easy and funny! I will give 5 Stars for sound :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Great artwork, the graphics are nice !

Jago says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Very nice concept!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:19pm

I was sitting with friend in collage checking out Ludum Dare games while wearing earphones like in the picture. Imagine our faces when we discovered your game :) Fantastic idea but we got big problem to find out how it works. I just noticed the cheat mode and see it explaines a lot.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Really excellent. One of the most innovative interpretations of the theme I've seen so far. So far I've only played around single player but when I get someone else to play with I'll play it properly.

Shigor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Very nice idea (first game I've rated that deservers some more stars for innovation)

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:57am

Awesome, man! Best idea I've seen so far for the theme! And the colorful graphics are a nice touch too! Great work!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:17pm

very well done. i've only been playing by myself so far, but i usually play chess by myself too, so yeah, i guess good games work with or without a partner. the sound is great, and i appreciate the cheat-mode, it makes it all the more accessible.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Despite the audio getting annoying after a while the game itself and the idea are really awesome. Well done!

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:45pm

I like the idea ! i played it with my girlfriend, she was a bit confused and get bored before the end of the round. I then to myself in the cheat mode and really understand the game. the game can be really fun with a bit more polish

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Seems interesting, in the next version maybe add network play?

insane66 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Its like a new, different twist on "Battleship". Interesting use of sound and 2 player mechanic.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:21am

This is probably the most innovative game I've played this entire jam.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Nice way to pass info to only one of the two players.
I played alone, but I will give it a try at two.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Really cool concept. It was definitely a unique take on the theme, and pretty well executed. I haven't had a chance to play with another person, but I'll need to give that a shot sometime soon.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:15pm

I have to give you stars for innovation - very original gameplay!

henrykun says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Interesting idea, very nice graphics and sounds. I think that you picked the appropiate sounds for giving feedback to players, well done!.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Very fun the use of audio and ..its a two players game! Very nice, but maybe too simple. This idea can be developed more, with more time, of course ;-)

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Yeah i win!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Very boring if you play alone, not bad with multiple players

lilinx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:23pm

obviously :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:43am

Very awesome concept you have here! Nice :)

multikorv says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:11am

Usually not a fan of trial and error, but still I play them. :) And I had no one to play against. :(

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Really neat idea. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]