December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Library *Real Name: Welcome to the Library*

by Capitals - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the most successful 'mage' in the world, you have come into knowledge of a great and holy book which lay in a library at the end of the corridor. It should be easy! If you can wade through the living slime in the corridor!

The game is unfinished, but I have had some much fun. This is my first Ludum Dare and I have learnt a great deal for my next one! Such as try and submit a semi-working version on the first day...

To play the game you have to download the game, extract it and run the shortcut inside the ludum dare folder. If your file 'Run the game' is a .ink your shortcuts are bugged out so click on natives and run Game.jar.

There is no end of the corridor and you may fall out. Currently there is no solution to this.

I'll port this over the next couple of days but I have a history mock exam tomorrow and I should probably get some sleep!

Please tell me what you think and if you have some tips for next time! I hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#290Graphics3.34
#525Humor2.18
#737Mood2.42
#755Audio1.47
#759Fun2.47
#804Innovation2.40
#872Theme2.13
#889Overall2.47

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:14am

.ink How to I run the game?

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:09am

You have to download the game and run the shortcut.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Good start, you should continue your idea. :)

kratorspore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22pm

A good first attempt! Nice graphics and smooth motion. Would have been cool to see the thing in its finished state.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Ditto the above, good start & the first Ludum is always the hardest.

Personally I don't like to develop graphics beyond just a bunch of colored squares until the core of the game plays as I want to. That why at least the game is done even if doesn't look like anything.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Great for a first LD Jam!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Press 'e' for infinite fun. (If you like the dwarf fortress kind of fun)
Great idea (I like shops and collecting money) Unfortunately I couldn't get my bought items to work. :( But I had fun killing all the green blobs!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Shame about the bought items, I'll look into that and check if I am allowed to upload a fixed version.

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00am

Neat idea. Just seems to have little in the way of implementation or end goal.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

You can feel that's it's unfinished, but it's an interesting idea! Upgrade mechanics in games are cool.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14am

I made it to the end of the library and was fascinated. The start of an interesting survival-runner-type game.

Kareemroks101 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:28am

Really good for a first LD, great start for a fun game.

Tanser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Nice game, just the menu was a bit off for me at the start and I did not hear any sounds... Good job anyway, nice idea. :) I love the graphics too!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Nice graphics!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Please continue with this project. Nice idea, wanna see it finished ! Nice job ! It was my first LD jam too, i'm pleased to see other games from beginners like me :)

Ditto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56pm

This was fun in weird way, I have no idea what im doing, but shooting those slimes is pretty fun anyways ;o are those small books that drop the intellect? :P

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Yeah, and gold!

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Awesome game. I can cheat a bit by going all the way right. Also.. I pressed "E" while trying the controls and immediately regretted that decision.

Bcadren says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Got tired of the button spam rather quickly. Good low res sprite quality though.

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Can't run the game.

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:43pm

I don't know what I am doing in this game... but yeah, I would love to see this game in its finished state ;)

LewisChaplin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:18pm

was great fun. i enjoyed playing it. first time LD here aswell was a great weekend

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:06am

Falling off the world means I win, right? ;) I liked the upgrade mechanic and the way fireballs worked, think there's a lot of potential here! Also props for making a game starring a badass old man, beating up slime and reading tiny books. Games about old men kicking ass are my fav!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Nice effort, even if you didn't get all your ideas in there. Tiny books.

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Very good for lwjgl :)

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:47am

Fun! Spells gliding across the floor was a nice touch. The premise is very entertaining. Good luck if you decide to keep working on it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]