December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SANITY

by acehk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

LEFT CLICK to MOVE

NOTE: Web version is less buggy.

I ran very short on time and had some issues during development, so the gameplay is admittedly weak and incomplete, but I went for a different style than I usually go for. It was nice to make a more serious game for a change and I might try and do my original idea justice at some point in the future.

My original plan was for each area to have its own enemies to defeat or puzzles to solve in order for the main character to realize that it was not the "real world" and unlock the next level of conciousness. Running short on time I was forced to just stitch my assets together into a similar but much less ambitious "game" that focused more on the mood and story than any actual gameplay.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Mood4.04
#335Graphics3.24
#381Audio2.75
#709Innovation2.57
#811Overall2.60
#970Fun1.92
#990Theme1.65
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:23pm

It's good-looking and your idea seems interesting indeed, too bad you ran short

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Very moody, and good looking, also works in WINE ^_^

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:26pm

I'm not sure I like a game that builds you up through an intro by getting you to walk into the green clouds to progress and then gives you a game over for doing so seemingly arbitrarily.

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Premise is interesting, but I can't grasp the goal or story with this short playing time.
Also, I can't continue after reach the text 'You died a painful death...', is it intended?

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I just had a wtf moment what the game was all about, atmosphere is really good but missing some game play at some point after checking out the daughter.

acehk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01pm

The green clouds are pretty much my last resort replacement for the original mechanics. Originally, you would have advanced to a new level of consciousness/reality by finding some kind of paradox through a puzzle or defeating some being(s).

The story is that you suddenly get this notion that your world is not real (the daughter getting sick) and then you begin to descend through different levels of reality until you awake in the real world and see what caused your daughter's illness and must save her by sealing her pod. I'll be the first to admit the gameplay is barely existent and doesn't really make much sense. I need to focus more on gameplay in upcoming jams as I always seem to get caught up in the looks and feels

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Kudos for trying out a different style!
I admittedly had no clue what's even going on, but mood and atmosphere are really great. It's something different and I enjoy it. Keep it up!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36pm

good mood piece. left me a bit creeped out. sad you ran out of time, but don't we all?

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Cool mood, great sound, enjoyed it

hazzen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13am

I really didn't get it - first I'm supposed to walk into green clouds, then it is a game over if I do. And I have to replay the long intro just to get back to that screen.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:46pm

nice and atmospheric, some good sound effects... but i don't get the objective. is there something other than committing suicide in the green cloud??

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:13pm

I'm really unsure what this game is about, but it's certainly interesting.

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very atmospheric, and pretty good graphics & audio overall!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I think it gets you in the right mood! :)

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

What... how... where...??

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:41am

Spooky atmosphere and great graphics and effects. I especially liked the snowy area.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]