December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bombsquad

by ghosrath - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My very first Ludum Dare submission!
I struggled a lot with the theme and eventually decided to create a nice puzzle game in which You Only Get One life, as well as only one level (but that is just me being lazy :P)

The idea is a puzzler in which you have to collect your bombdisabler tool first (at the sparkly tile) after which you can proceed to the master bomb (the smoky tile). but watch out, the playing field is infested with mines, you can figure out where the mines are by looking at the numbers on the tiles, just like minesweeper.
Zoom in and out using your scrollwheel.

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#491Overall3.00
#525Innovation2.87
#586Fun2.74
#628Audio2.21
#645Graphics2.65
#773Mood2.35
#939Theme1.91
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53am

I read the chronicle of your development to get me here. This was a very interesting game. Like a new take on minesweeper. Unfortunately I suck at minesweeper so I wasn't exactly able to beat your game XD. But it was an interesting concept.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45am

Really cool idea - first-person Minesweeper! I dig it.

ghosrath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59am

Darn, I found a bug.. sometimes the height difference between tiles gets too big, the character can't move when that happens. A workaround is to move him sideways so he gets unstuck. I will fix this ASAP

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35am

The first first-person minesweeper I've ever seen and it's great! I'd play it on a tablet if it was available. :)

ghosrath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43am

@Coblynau, android port is planned. If i can get my hands on an iOS device i might do that as well.

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22am

minesweeping game of the year, good job :D

Shigor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Not bad - but I'd suggest showing the numbers on tiles in a way that allows player to see them when stepping on the tile for the first time - it's a bit of a guesssing game what number is shown under the player.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Interesting take on Minesweeper! Too bad I suck in Minesweeper.. Or I just have terrible luck.

it was bit hard to see the number of bombs on the tiles, perhaps the number could show over the character instead?

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I absolutely love the idea of walking through a minesweeper minefield. It is a bit hard to see the numbers, though.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:44pm

I would've liked to control it with the keyboard and maybe see adjacent values without stepping on them first (though that might make it too easy, come to think of it), but other than that, interesting take. :)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:57am

Cool idea and good execution. Just need to work on better player and camera controls. Great work!

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:22am

cool, did not see much of the theme though.

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I like this take on minesweeper since it fixes most of the problem with unsolvable parts, navigating the map was too slow though and it also seems like there was almost no mines on the map.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:23am

Nice little minesweeper game. It would have been nice to have a way to mark the bombs and

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I suck at minesweeper!!! XD Nice game! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/fUXvqevl8YI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]