December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

First Ludum Dare Submission: Star Supremacy

by sfdnetwork - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[Game Info]
This is my first Ludum Dare submission, entitled 'Star Supremacy.' A game where you take control of a sun, and navigate it to a red giant to create a supernova, trying to avoid the clusters of rock that zoom past you.

[Development]
To make the game, I used none other then Java's standalone library, photoshop for the art and FL-Studio for the music. The games idea didn't come to me at the start of development but rather 10 hours in, after I had scrapped my other idea for being too boring. As a result some of the code in this is very messy, and it created room for bugs and errors. Nevertheless the game's core is intact, so that is why I have submitted it anyway.

[Known Bugs]
-Audio completely doesn't work outside of eclipse (Runnable jar)
-After playing a match or two, the 'play' button doesn't reset the game.
-Keyboard input doesn't work on some versions of java

[The Future]
In the future I will continue development on this game, fix bugs, add new items and features perhaps. You can help me out by reporting the bugs.

http://www.twitter.com/sfdnetwork

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#758Humor1.56
#787Graphics2.31
#901Mood1.96
#923Innovation2.10
#945Theme1.90
#956Fun1.97
#984Overall2.07

Comments

Fenmar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:50am

Hey :-) I played your game and made a video. If you are interested: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Im55Et7fQfk

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:55pm

In my opinion the sun is a little slow, but well done anyway! :)

drentsoft says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:26am

I like the concept.

LexGarza says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:08am

It is an interesting game, fun as well, though I had a bit of a problem with it after losing, I don't get if I start from the last level I lost in or from the beginning, and the keys seemed to get stuck for some reason after losing and restarting. Still, very nice game =)

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:39am

I seemed to occasionally get an instant failure when pressing play, and I don't think it reset properly so I somehow won

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:35am

Like moomoo, I get instant failure some times too! Almost as if the game is still running while I am on alternative menues

Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:43am

It's a shame the sound doesn't work, it would have added a lot!

dash2001imi says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:05pm

it is fun but a little buggy

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:12pm

The game is kind buggy.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:45pm

It's rather buggy but the concept is interesting nonetheless. The only problem I have with the game is how sometimes after starting the game, a rock just so happens to spawn really close to me (maybe add some sort of small period of invulnerability when the game starts?).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]