December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dare to Dig!

by Mirroar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have discovered an unknown cave, and rumor has it some ancient artifact lies buried deep under it. You only had time to bring one pickaxe, but if you can use it to dig up your target before they get here, your archeology "friends" will never be able to doubt your abilities again!

How high a score can you get? While developing, the best run I've managed to end was with just under 40000. Have fun beating it!

May the duck tape gods smile favorably on you! Strike the earth!

Linux Users: you'll have to get Love version 0.8.0 for your system and then run the .love file - find it at https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads

The source is in the .love file which is essentially just a renamed .zip-File. Open in the archiver of your choice and there you have it.

Edit: Added a 32-bit Windows version. If the game doesn't run for somebody using any of the executables, you could always try downloading love 0.8.0 from the link mentioned above and run the .love file itself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Fun4.15
#41Overall3.85
#113Graphics3.85
#118Mood3.46
#173Humor3.14
#228Theme3.38
#285Audio2.92
#378Innovation3.07
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

This game is quite entertaining and addictive, yet also difficult. I've played it time and time again to try to get that artifact, and I'll likely keep trying. The dialogue is witty. I never did understand what those bright flashes were, though...

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:40am

Really cool game, I thought it pretty difficult to go to the deeper floors though.

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13am

Thanks, I'm glad you like it! Yes, the later levels can be difficult to reach. As a rule of thumb, look out for rings, they will help you crack the tougher stone of the lower levels. And you probably want to get at least one of each of the other upgrade items.

Zephyr89 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Small comment the "P" key doesn't register in the select name on macosx

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Mining FTW! Nice pixel art, and really fun to play =)

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Cool idea! Reminds me a bit of Boulder Dash.

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Unfortunately the game was unplayable on my MacBook Pro running windows, I have not rated it so you can see whats up, but my computer, and the game just froze when I played it

cappelnord says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Very cute art style and a quite addicting game.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Great game and you did well for this Ludum Dare.

derdragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Not sure if I need something else to make this work, but I got "The version of this file is not compatible with the version of Windows you're running." I've got Win7, 32-bit. Just FYI. Looks neat, sorry it's not working.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Loved it!

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:19pm

@David Colson, @derdragon weird, I've tested the game on a Windows and a Max machine. But from what you're saying, I think I've only bundled the 64-bit executable. I'll add a 32-bit version, and that will hopefully run fine on everybody's machine!

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Graphics and sfx go together really well! Like the game, it was easy to understand and the texts were funny. Got to 8000 and I'm pretty proud of that. :P

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Very fun game. Really enjoyed the dialogue and gameplay. Very addicting!

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Well done my friend. It's really addictive as the others say!
My highscore is 18314, I went till the sixth layer.
The little texts to each objects really help to setup the mood. I like it a lot.

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

@Zephyr89 Oops... In my alphabet, there is no P! Find a better name then, because you will not use P as a letter in your name when playing my game! (Yeah, a typo, I somehow missed that letter when telling the game what input is allowed. Might fix it later, but it's pretty minor, after all. And kind of funny ;) )

allinlabs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15am

I haven't rated it yet but it's one of my favorite game so far in this LD, it's very addictive and I played multiple times since yesterday.
Yet I can't find this damn fountain of youth. How deep do I have to dig to found the it ? (My best score so far is 17084)
I will beat the shit out this game and then I'll come back here to rate it !

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31am

My roommate just stormed intro my room to tell me his new high score at Dare to Dig. I think this is getting out of hand... One of the most addictive LD games I've ever played.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

Ok, I've got my answer. Finished the game 8D http://i.imgur.com/YkYkJD3.png
And new personal best score : 48185. I was something like 10 or 12 levels deep, maybe ?
It was so much fun, great game !

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39am

nice little game with nice graphics too!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:36am

This is a very addictive game! I love the exploratory nature of the game.

I will admit, it takes up an awful lot of ram.

Mirroar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:43am

@allinlabs congrats! Currently your objective can always be found on level 10.

@ZYXer Oh wow, glad you and your roommate are having so much fun! :D

doonay21 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Hey there Mirroar I have added special version of my game - as you asked - with all levels unlocked :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:33am

One of the most pleasingly "complete" games I've played so far! I absolutely adore this game, fantastic job!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:44am

Can't find the Mask of Zuul. Damn! I have to play it once more and more and more :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:45am

cool roguelike game. Durability is a cool enemy in a field full of underground rocks. Like this very much.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:04am

this game is amazing!! I was impressed to see the list of stuff I found. My score: 6870. I will definitely try it again later.

Is the fountain of youth real or is it a lie like blood diamond ... lol

Sytech says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Fun and addictive!

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Ah, digging games can be so satisfying! I'm glad I had a chance to play this one-- it conforms nicely to the theme and it has a great atmosphere to it. Great job!

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Very fun to play, I think you got the balance just about right! Would have liked more duck-tape tho. Haven't found the mask yet. Only thing that's missing is music and perhaps a better explanation of the powerups as you pick them up, as in the 'stuff I found' section.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Nice and enjoyable, a like the graphics and overall mood of this. Good job :-)

Rustam says ...
May 16, 2017 @ 9:25am

Some tend to dress lighter, some tend to dress heavier. http://downloadcoolthingswebsite.ru Have you even seen a hedgehog being grateful for to you?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]