December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Facts of Life

by AmmarAlsharekh - Jam Entry

A navy captain put in exile in a giant Island with nothing to survive.You Only Get One Bullets and a gun. Can you save him.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Mood(Jam)3.70
#126Audio(Jam)3.35
#208Theme(Jam)2.95
#314Graphics(Jam)3.05
#351Innovation(Jam)2.63
#353Overall(Jam)2.90
#523Fun(Jam)1.85
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Well that was very indie. Dont want to spoil for others but an enjoyable experience.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

I think it would've been better with a second ending, but it's really nice apart from that.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Thank for pass

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Well, that was depressing. (but not rated badly for being so!) A rather philosophically existential message. I think I'll have a little cry now.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34pm

thanks DustyStylus.
Enjoy sometimes to hear some people tell the truth. But after a while they stop to talk they can not continue

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21am

Great mood.

mtrc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

Very atmospheric! The music was so beautiful. Well done on putting it all together. I enjoyed it a whole bunch.

RhysD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:25am

It was an experience. I wouldn't say a nice one but I enjoyed my time playing it. It would have been better with an alternative ending, but I can see you got a lot done within the time you had :) Good job.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:45am

Bleak seems like a fitting word to describe this one. You certainly got the message across!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:46am

Hmm...interesting. Very fitting music.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:17pm

hey ... nice game, didnt find the other ending

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Hi abdurrahmankh No other ending and this is what I wrote in my game

MrBlade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I can't find any other ending? Very nice music. Pretty nic sky box.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:19pm

It's really depressing. I think telling the truth is the hard path, but the only one worth walking. Any way, I liked the island. I like the exploration and the narrative. Good job!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:11am

I'm not sure I would call this a game -- more of an interactive essay. I found the narrative pretty... uh... unmoving, mostly due to the inconsistent/vague writing. You obviously did something wrong to end up on this island... helping poor people is a nice sentiment, but how were you helping? Why do I care about saving you/me? What's with the trees?

The music was quite soothing, though.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:16am

Hi SimianLogic ,

When I was kid they told me "Bad people go to jail"
but when I grew up I saw some good people in jail

xrm0 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:55pm

The initial text when the player tells her story sometimes is hard to read because of the text color and the background. Blue and black are the hardest ones. I think it would be better if you choose one color and stick to that.

JabirAlsaidi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Hello,

Nice game, it took two days until it struck me despair of getting on the water :). Regardless of the captain death in every attempt, the accompanying music is very beautiful .. Liked. Thanks

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]