December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One shot, One opportunity.

by Sr. Nice - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A D to move right and left, SPACE to jump, right mouse to fire.

Also If you are left handed you can play with arrow keys.(Thanks Als)

You must take the bullet from ground to shoot again

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#180Theme3.48
#301Audio2.88
#349Fun3.08
#400Humor2.47
#410Overall3.12
#504Graphics2.92
#626Mood2.58
#627Innovation2.72

Comments

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08am

Pretty good job overall.

For some reason it says "right mouse button to shoot", it's left.

I'd have wanted the enemies to be a bit slower and jumping height less. Those are personal preferences though.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38am

A very well made game, such fluidity and thanks for just a jar not not hundreds of libraries and scripts to install and run :)

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:46pm

That was fun :) You took an obvious execution but managed to put a surprising spin to it nonetheless, I really had a blast playing this!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Really solid. Like the spin you took on the "one bullet" idea. Enemy behavior makes it kind of impossible not to take a lot of damage, but its still fun.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04pm

I got an error saying the .jar file was corrupt. Any idea what the problem might be?

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Works fine on Linux too just so you know. Though there didn't seem to be any way to exit the game? Had to close it through my taskbar.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15pm

It was nice to play! If you don't know how it works, it's a hard game, but when you know it, it's awesome! Nice Job!

Cell says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Pretty good!
(if i where you i'd lower the contrast on the background in future works, it's kinda eye killing :3)

Zeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Real nice.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice game, challenging and simple. I took a similar approach to theme in my game :)

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Solid gameplay, felt smooth. Not the most original implementation of the theme, but it worked and provided a pretty fun time!

Radnen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46pm

The game is not too terribly fun since you have to constantly pick up your bullet - not a bad thing, but the enemies move so fast it's hectic! Timing how you shoot and where you place your bullet become important, definitely an interesting game mechanic.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:06am

Extremely nice game.
So greyish.

One of the best!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:23pm

It runs way too slow on my computer, and the controls seem to be laggy. I don't think my computer is a potato. Can't win the first level, because the enemies aren't affected by the lag.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Great solid game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]