December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crew: A Futuristic Detective Game

by metkis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Crew is a futuristic re-imagining of CLUE, where you try to discover who killed the captain of your spaceship, where, and with what. The game-play includes narrowing down suspects with information and writing down info on loose pieces of paper. Not only can you solve who killed the captain of your ship, but you also get judged and graded on how well you've done and how few clues you took.

Tutorial:
Clicking on people will give you a hint about the crew or that crew member. Here are some tips that will help you narrow down suspects:

- Crew members never lie. You can take anything they say at face value.

- If a Crew member tells you someone was in a certain room during the captain's death. That room is not the murder room, nor is the person referred to the murderer.

-If a person suggests another crewmate was angry, or upset. They likely killed the Captain.

-The murderer won't tell you what room they were in when the murder occurred.

Investigating rooms will tell you the murder room and the murder weapon. There are only 4 possible murder weapons. If you find three of the weapons, the missing one is the murder weapon. Try not to investigate too many rooms. You can narrow down the room that the Captain is murdered in through dialogue, but currently the only way to find murder weapons is to guess at rooms. Don't investigate more rooms than you need to. The room with the blood drop in it, found while investigating, is the murder room.

Select your suspect, weapon, and murder room, then press the accuse button.

If you were right, you will be treated to a win-screen and your score/rating. If you were wrong, you can play again.

Currently there is a problem in that the dialogue inter-laps making it difficult or impossible to narrow it down to one killer. As of right now, your best mode option is to guess based on the clues you are given. I am working on this, but am afraid I won't finish it by the time the compo is over as it includes spreadsheets and cross-matching dialogue, which is a pain and time-consuming.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Graphics4.45
#83Mood3.61
#103Audio3.41
#117Overall3.60
#312Innovation3.18
#357Fun3.06
#375Humor2.53
#415Theme3.04
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Orni says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:39pm

love it - don't forget to upload the source code as well (it's required for the compo category)

metkis says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Thanks, I missed it at first, hope it being in a .rar is okay.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Really like the art style

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35am

neat idea, kind of unfriendly to the user. There's a lot of redundant cross-referencing involved that could be made easier by highlighting certain characters/rooms at appropriate times

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54am

Agree with people above, there are often cross-referencing of the same fact by different people. This could be better if it has a good in-game introduction/tutorial and music to set the mood. Overall, I like the gameplay and art style. Good job!

metkis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:53pm

As I mentioned in the game post, the repeated dialogue is the one thing I didn't get a chance to fix before submitting. A tutorial with back-story is also something that is really needed if I were to take it further. As my first Ludum Dare game, I learned a lot here, and I'm glad you like the game-play and art style. I appreciate that you took the time to play it.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Very inspiring art style! I love the color palette and the little animations, as well as the ui.

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very well executed in forms of aesthetics. A bit confusing - but patient people will like it.

Spit Tex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Interesting game play mixed with cutesy aesthetics and great audio design, good job

McFunkypants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Wonderful artwork! Good job!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Beautiful art; cluedo in space. :)

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Incredible art and a good game concept. Sorry you couldn't work out the game logic of identifying the killer in time. Maybe you could have set a rule stating that the killer is always one room away from the scene of the crime, and thus limit the choices that a player could make?

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Really great entry. I love the art, and I've never really played Clue, but it was intuitive enough to figure out. Great work!

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37am

great art!

atombrot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53am

I like the art style very much. Nice pixel graphics. But I never managed to catch the killer ;)

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24am

There were a lot of counter-intuitive things about the game and I had to rely on the description to figure out most of it. Once I read through, it seemed pretty easy though. The art and the mood were really good!

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:33am

Thanks Nick! Until a tutorial is added it's a game that takes some effort to learn. That's not the most optimal for a game-jam game, I've learned, and I will try to make a simpler to play game next time around. I'm really glad you liked the art and mood!

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07am

Great visuals and mood. It would definitely benefit from highlighting the people and rooms mentioned by crew members. Also the score is very random so it would be better if there were none.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21am

This is a damn solid entry. Awesome looking sprite art and audio/ambience. Only negative thing I think to say is that it could be a bit deeper. If was more meaningful than just straight up "here's a fact", and you could maybe derive more information if you really thought about what people were saying.

Awesome job overall, really one of the best I've played.

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06am

Thank you for trying it, Jakub and Broxxar. Lots of great advice!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27am

Great atmosphere, the graphics were good too as was the music.

Nice game!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08am

I really like it, though I feel like the information provided isn't enough to 100% verify the killer each time, though that may be the point. Very fun, lots of replayability, and great pixel art!

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:44am

Thanks Whoa! I need to work on the dialogue system more, but I'm glad you liked it and found it really re-playable!

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:09am

Once I actually read the description, the game made a lot more sense and I figured out who the killer was! Yes, it does need work so that it becomes possible to logically and surely identify the killer based on all the clues, but that is not the point - the concept is great! Logic aside, graphics and sound were wonderful. Love this entry, well done!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46am

I always enjoyed playing Clue so this was a really nice experience. :) And such awesome pixel art! Great job :)

RhysD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:46pm

I forgot to leave a comment when I rated it yesterday! Enjoyed the game a bunch, we always used to play Cluedo on summer holidays, so it was fun to see a sweet pixelly version set in space!

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Design of the game is really adorable!
This game is obviously not easy-to-start (because player need to read before start playing). However, it's replayable.
So I loved it!

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Amazing ! Without a tutorial you have to rely on your description but overall it is a very solid and innovative concept you got there. I would love to play an extended version of this game if you think about updating it in the future.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Really liked the visuals and mood in this game! managed to find the killer after some tries, I must suck at Clue..

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Nice job, I really enjoyed this one :)

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Love the art!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:30am

A nice little twist to an old concept.
also the mood of this game is so relaxing!

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:19am

There are more hints than just a random "One Killer" game, but not so user-friendly.

d__adee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Took me awhile to understand how it's played. Also I'm not aware with CLUE so I have no idea. :P

But it was nice once I got the chance to really understood it. :)

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:15pm

*thumbs up*

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Great entry, very enjoyable.

metkis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Thank you all so far, been enjoying the comments! This is officially one of the most worthwhile things I've done this year. I am so glad I did Ludum Dare, and a big part of that is your feedback!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:38am

Great game, five stars! Love the art style, and the sound design ^^ Flesh out the information system and you have an excellent product in hands :D

Snuti says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Beautiful art and interesting concept. Really nice game, well done :)

GarethIW says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Struggled with it until I came back to read the instructions (RTFM!). Lovely graphics and atmosphere!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Very interesting game, I love clue games and this has a lot of personality, good job! My advice is, maybe to care more for an intro, how to play and start menu ;-)

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Good looking and finished! I don't know is there anything that I would change to make it better.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Lovely visual style. The background music fits very well. Was fun to play, but I needed always so many rooms to uncover the items, which somehow makes the score worse :D
It would be nice, if you could see the murderer, the item and the room after accusing someone wrongly.

michail says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Very well done for the 48 hours, especially the graphics.

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:23pm

The theme was well used and the graphics are great!

But, though I really liked the concept, I didn't like the gameplay that much... :(
I couldn't help but compare it to the based game, and I missed being better able to track down who the killer is. Perhaps if each one had a unique line (like, being able to know about almost every one and every room). As of now, it's possible to know about only two people, at times...

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:04am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hiJUwAghnUU
Recorded my first impressions of the game :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:17pm

So this is the game everyone is talking about! :)
Finally I managed to have a go with it! :p

metkis says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Thank you Dan for making a video. I appreciate you taking the time. I know it's not the easiest to understand and the dialogue system isn't perfect. I'm glad you liked the idea, though.

@Alan, no way is everyone talking about my game Haha, it's got a lot of problems, but I'm glad you tried it.

Here's the link to the post-mortem which explains some of why things don't quite work right, and what I felt about the experience of doing my first game-jam:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/20/crew-a-futuristic-detective-game-post-mortem/

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Gorgeous pixel art.

I had trouble working out who was who and which room was which; labels at all times rather than just when highlighted could have made it clearer.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Wow, really outstanding pixel art and mood. Very clever pick for the theme too. I found it abit difficult to play at first, but it kept my interest :) awesome!

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Definitely one of the top Ludum Dare 28 games! I was excited about this entry since you posted those screenshots during the compo. ;)

I wasn't able to catch the killer, but I find the gameplay really interesting. Beautiful pixel art! Love the ambient music and the space-y sounds. And there even is a Star Wars reference :P

Amazing work overall!

Madball says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:39pm

The game looks nice and complete, but it felt unbalanced.
Do you need to guess everything to win? Or is guessing the killer enough? It doesn't seem like that, and it's kinda illogical.
So, I suppose you need to guess the weapon and the room. There is a quite high chance that you'll have to investigate almost all rooms. And there is a quite high chance that you won't be able to find the killer for sure. It's a matter of luck if you'll find a killer or not. I would like it to be more logic-related.
Also, I'd like a hint when you hover over portraits in the lower-left corner or rooms after you investigated them.

I got "Brandy was definitely in the eatery" and "Brandy was in the study at the time..." during the same play.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Nice concept.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:45pm

F-ing amazing!!!

metkis says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:50pm

@Madball Uh oh, some dialogue is wack then. I was going to have a seperate type of investigation that led to clues that helped you solve the murder weapon and room in a more logical instead of random way. Just ran out of time for the competition. Next time, I think I'll just shoot for the jam, as you just get more polish, which means better feedback, and better coverage. Seems like a no brainer.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Love the idea I hope you'll work on it more. The graphics are great!

I would have liked to be able to ask each crew member some questions - so if Ryan says Toko was in the nursery, I'd like to be able to ask Toko where she was to cross check the evidence. :)

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I liked the game much, but either the score you get is highly random (and depends mostly on random order in which you click people and places) or I didn't get how to play this game efficiently, and not by clicking on every thing available.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Really nice graphics! Well done!

moop says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:07am

Nice idea and cute graphics. I did unfortunately get one situation where I could only narrow it down to one of two crew members.

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Nice art and good gameplay! Would like to see more levels :)

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Great graphics. Nice game.

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Really good game, I like it very much. Dialogues could be longer and with some choices. Sadly it's a bit easy at the moment, with a few clicks is the murder solved, but maybe it was pure luck. I think it's definitely worth to work further on your game.

DallOner says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:34am

Great Game man! iloveit!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Very well executed, though many things depended on luck alone for the score. I really dig the art and aesthetics.

dznemotion says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:37am

innovative game, wonderful design, but very difficult to understand in the beginning ... I almost discouraged ... but then super exciting, congratulation!

Husky says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:29am

I love it :D
A very interesting logic game!

angelk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

The art is great, definitely pulled me through a few extra playthroughs. I think many of the pieces were executed well, but the game logic was a little confusing where it seemed there was no way to totally get the correct answer without guess, which makes a pass/fail style of rating frustrating. The scoring confused me, because it would be nice to get a better score for guessing correctly after checking fewer clues, but the score didn't seem to work that way; so there was no incentive not to check every room, and hence no point to the score. A little more consistency to the main objective of the game would make it a lot more fun for repeat plays, but still a very nice job!

stvr says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:02am

Really a neat take on a classic gameplay concept. As others have said the interplay of the dialogue could be refined, but this is a great base for a more intricate game! It would work well on a phone or tablet too.

lotusgame says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:22am

Excellent puzzle game ! Extremely well polished, with beautiful graphics, and very challenging. Amazing work :)

dudsen says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:37pm

What a lousy detective I am... As everyone else said, solid entry!
Sometimes the Crew members refer to themselves with their name which is a bit weird. Like the smooth BG music, fits very good to the investigation feeling

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I love the graphics and the idea. Unfortunately I wasn't able to find the murder just once.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]