December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pellet Run

by Brodenino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This my latest submission for the Ludum Dare. The thing you are playing as (the pellet) was firstly supposed to be a donut, and the back-story there was that the lady in the house tells you, the husband, that you may only have one donut today. She locks it in some sort of machine where you need to rotate it (the level) in order to receive the donut.

Well it didn't turn out this way. I changed the donut to a pellet, maybe for the sake of simplicity. Maybe it is a result of me having a migraine during the final submission day. The level itself looks more like a garden inspired by a level from Sonic the Hedgehog. And I have little idea to figure out a way to end the game with suitable art - what happens now is that the game goes back to the start menu instantly.

You control the level by moving the mouse towards the left or right. I tweaked it as much as possible to prevent seasickness. That camera hasn't been my best friend during the project, but now it turned out well I think.

If you want to restart the level the "loop" icon to the left is there to give you that. I know perhaps my UI should have
been made more clear. (And the exit button doesn't work in the web build)

I used Unity to create my submission, along with bfxr for sound effects, and abundant-music (a site that procedurally generates music). The graphics were made in paint.net.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Fun3.64
#114Overall3.62
#181Audio3.17
#189Innovation3.42
#194Graphics3.62
#220Mood3.21
#653Humor1.91
#909Theme2.00
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

CTATZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

Very Lovely.

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

Interesting concept here! Great work!

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12am

Loved the moto-whoops and the tilt was cool. This would be perfect for mobile!

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13am

Charming! I really liked the music, and the gameplay was fun. It felt nice to control, which is great given the strong potential for a feeling of disconnect with the gameplay.

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13am

Very good - lots of little touches that make it visually very charming. High marks for mood. I especially liked how you could see the old levels in the background.

haveric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14am

Fun gameplay, but I would have preferred keys to rotate as the mouse just felt awkward. Maybe it was just because the mouse wasn't stuck to the game area and was moving across screens.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14am

It was almost zen like. I got a super monkey ball in 2 dimensions vibe. It was really pleasing

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

I have to say playing this was one of the most pleasant experiences I've had yet. The physics feel right, and there's a decent amount of variety in the obstacles. I like the way the previous levels are "behind" the current one too. Good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

Interesting game. I could see this being fun on a mobile device. It was explained, but the theme isn't really here. Well executed. Graphics are crisp.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16am

Good work, though the audio actually stood out a bit, in a good way. Not sure exactly how it ties in with the theme, but it's a fun little unity game.

cdgugler says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

Interesting game! I like the mellow music.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

what a great entry, it looks really cool.i agree that the pellet could be cooler

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Great Game !

Diamonde says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32pm

mmmmm... pellet..
I could easily play a few more levels of this game since I just completed the game two times in a row :)
The flow of the game makes it a very soothing experience.

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I finish it and like it, please, more levels :)

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I love this kind of king. Need more level buts for the time you have to build this game, it's very cool. :)

Christian S. says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

I immediately thought Sonic, when I saw the screenshot :) Solid work!

NuSan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Graphics and lighting is great, with the marbre zone style. I find the gameplay just perfect, a bit of luck and a bit of practice. Keep up the good work !

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:35am

nice one. got stuck in one level when my movements were blocked by blue npc-balls. something like "press R to restart" would be helpful. other than that I had a lot of fun. good work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:44pm

really interesting game, would be nice for mobiles xD

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Looks and plays great! a little tricky for me because i use touchpad, but still enjoyable!

Brodenino says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Thank you all for all the great feedback. I agree myself it is not perfectly suitable when it comes to the theme, and I will try better on the next Ludum Dare :). I'll see if I make some more levels and post that as a second release, along with perhaps some new things. Christmas is coming though, so we will see about the time.

@finfin, there is a button to the left with a "loop" icon on it. This allow you to restart the current level sequence you're at. Maybe I should make those buttons more clear.

Brodenino says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

@finefin, my apologies, I made a small typo there on your name

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10am

Reminds me of Marble Madness, i don't know why.. super!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:10pm

I enjoyed this! Maybe cuz I'm a Sonic fan ;)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:54am

Great solid game with nice puzzles. Good job!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Nice concept and an overall very fun game. I enjoyed it quite a bit, good job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:46am

Very stylish and fun! The second entry that reminds me of Sonic 1.

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:59am

Very interesting idea and nice style. If just the controls were not so difficult.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:08pm

nice puzzle game!

you should consider locking the cursor inside the game window, it will be easier to control and rotate the viewport then.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very good and innovative. Quite hard, too, but I made it to the end.

Excellent work.

smash ball says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:36am

This was a very nice game. The looks fit together really well (background, level...). Reminded me more of Super Monkey Ball.

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Well done, but also quite difficult. I don't think my trackpad is the right input device for this...

GFM says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:45pm

For procedurally generated music, this was pretty cool! I finally can finally notice auto tracker songs, after many LDs... but this didn't feel like procedurally generated!

The game is interesting, but could really make use of a device with accelerometer. The gameplay would feel much more natural.

Still, I liked this game a lot. :)
Nice job!

van noctar says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Yeah! Very addictive! I like the concept, and great gameplay! :D Congratulations :D

xrm0 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:19pm

This is a game for a mobile device!

Jan 23, 2014 @ 7:51am

I made a vid of the game here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGIhgGa3Tgc

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]