December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bugz

by Grafter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Second Ludum Dare Attempt.
Shoot The Bugs, Last As Long As You Can, You Only Get One Life!
Use the mouse to aim and shoot, WASD keys to move.
Good Luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#170Audio3.19
#173Humor3.14
#473Mood2.80
#603Fun2.71
#611Graphics2.71
#762Overall2.68
#839Theme2.23
#977Innovation1.84

Comments

Aaants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21am

Epic voice acting

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Not bad. Your menu audio didn't quite loop right for me, unfortunately. I liked the one liners, though!

nka says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:05pm

I like movement and pew-pew sounds along with other sounds in this game. Could be a little bit more challenging if there was no health bar. Also would be great to implement continuous shooting when holding shoot button.

Photon says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

"OH YEAH!" x20

Humor aside, its all right. Pretty generic, but it was still enjoyable.

wilpel says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:20pm

it was pretty fun, the graphics were cool but it got a bit boring after awhile, but otherwise it was good

dalbinblue says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Audio was really good in this. It did get a bit repetitive; would have liked to see more than one enemy type or some power ups to change up gameplay over time. Despite this, you have a solid game.

jprogman says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:23pm

The sound effects are hilarious! The voice work along with the high-pitched bullet shots made me laugh out loud!

PaulSB says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Decent little shooter. Could do with a bit of variety and maybe more ramping of the difficulty curve early on. Like the use of voice!

GarethIW says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Fairly run-of-the-mill arena shooter, but it was well coded, had decent audio and worked well.

postmodestie says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:49pm

nice. arrows for control would be nice too :)

postmodestie says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:56pm

p.s. telling that the 'Windows' version is actually a web build would probably lower the entry barrier for testing your game..

Moosefly says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:48pm

As others have mentioned, the game could use a bit more content (enemies, powerups etc.), but the basic foundation is there. Managed to survive a bit over 2 minutes.

Grafter says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Thank you for your comments! I had planned on more weapons, power ups and a variety of enemies but ran out of time!
postmodestie - just edited it to include the web version! Cheers for pointing it out! Appreciate it!!

Jod says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:56pm

117 seconds,48 bugs (coulda swore it was 148). Epic voice acting, especially when contrasted with the pew-pew-pew of the shooting :).

psc1997 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:10am

pew pew pew... "OH, YEAH" ! :D
This game reminds me old game, that I've played when I was young, AlienShooter ;)

cardboard says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:21am

I'll state that it needs more variety even though I saw your comment about having more stuff planned. :p The graphics are nice but I think at least the bugs should be animated, the sound is good, and the voice acting was funny.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Pretty decent shooter although it's lacking in variety (different enemy types, powerups etc.).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]