December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Shot

by flatgub - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About an agent that only could only afford 1 bullet.

Arrow Keys - movement & jump
X - Shoot

I ran out of time for this one, so its only got 11 levels instead of the 15, and it ends anticlimactically.

PLEASE READ: If you do not like 1x scaling, then press the scale button on the main menu, that's what its there for. Playing this game at 1x scale makes it harder that its supposed to be!
I will continue this project with someone else though, so progress will continue!

-Flatgub

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#163Fun3.41
#179Overall3.45
#215Theme3.41
#220Mood3.21
#236Graphics3.48
#400Humor2.47
#414Audio2.68
#694Innovation2.59
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Donutttt says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I like the music. Also the reasoning behind the game made me laugh, that they could on;y afford one bullet. Excellent. Very difficult but also very fun.

person124 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:46am

My god..... This is fun.

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50am

Tough game but after a few plays I got better. Graphics are well done. The music is motivating. Great effort!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50am

Very fun and good music, but the window is a bit small.

Moist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55am

Very engagaging mechanics. Looking forward to see this expanded.

Thingus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I got as far as the corridor full of the little blue hopping guys, and got stuck there :S Good concept, thought the music set the atmosphere up well, and thought the art was great :)

flatgub says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Koller-Digital: Yeah, x1 scale is too small, but the scale button on ther menu cycles through 1x, 2x, 3x and 4x, so the screen can be rather sizeable. I probably should have pointed it out better
-Flatgub

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:53am

RAD SONG
HARD AS HELL
BUT FUN
Great use of theme and awesome little sprites.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I don't know if is my computer but the screen is very small :( .. but the game looks awesome! and is very fun, great work :D

Radnen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Very nice game, but hard as all heck. I disliked the 1x scale, and figured out too late it can be changed. The one bullet concept I've seen floating around, it's a good one. Ninjas need no bullets, lol.

flatgub says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:17am

NiceAlexanderAS: There is a button in the main menu called SCALE, and it cycles the screen scale through 1x, 2x, 3x and 4x, i will edit this post because a lot of people seem to be missing it =P

302_Dave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:56am

This is really addicting, and the visuals are very stylish. The music was indeed fitting and driving, though it got annoyingly repetitive for me, but in a 48 hour jam, that's easy to forgive.

derdragon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:04am

Way too hard for me. Would be nice if there was some sort of warning or pattern to the red guys moving left and right. Maybe I'm just not approaching it right. Maybe I'm just a big sissy... Great job though!

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:12am

You get a prize for the entry that made me shout at the game the most. ;) But also one of my favorites so far. Very unforgiving game, the guards' motion is so random... but very fun!

flatgub says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:44am

HellBlazer & derdragon: Yeah, the AI is entirely based on setting the direction to either left right or stop every 1.5 to 2 seconds. I might make it an option to use predictable patrol cycles or the random AI in the later versions...

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:18am

wow. HARD

Its super meat boy in a 15x15 pixel screen! hahaha

i loved it. play thousand times

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:30pm

I like the game, but the music was a bit too much. Loved the 'sneaking' aspect in the game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]