December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The life of Jerry, a mayfly

by Anton_D - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second time participating in Ludum Dare and I have to say, this theme was a lot harder then the previous one.
But in the end, after searching google for a while I decided to write a game about a mayfly, Jerry.
As Jerry, you have to find food and building materials for your queen. You only have one day for this (which lasts 60 seconds). However, you're not the only one trying to survive. There are also wasps and they will attack if you come to close.
After the first day, your children will also have to survive but the world will get tougher each day.
I hope you will enjoy this!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#446Humor2.33
#551Theme2.78
#653Fun2.65
#729Audio1.74
#746Innovation2.50
#785Mood2.32
#815Overall2.59
#862Graphics2.14
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

Little buggy, Seeing as I got attacked from nothing? not sure what happen there the enemy was only just enterting the screen.

It's nice to see someone comeback for a second Ludum dare and yes the theme was hard.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:57am

Nice game ! Congratulation on your second LD. No bug encountered, I made it to level 2 twice but didnt got enough time to return to start point ;)

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59am

The controls are a little awkward but the gameplay is solid in its simplicity.

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07am

Nice little game. I enjoyed this.
Some critique:
Controls felt a bit strange. I am so used to WASD for movement. And the character facing the mouse direction felt without purpose.

SamH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Nice idea; could very well be made into a proper casual game. My major issue is with the very sensitive collisions; sometimes I would die while the other insect was still at some distance.

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:07pm

well done!

rnlf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35am

Quite a nice game. I would have preferred if the controls were relative to Jerry's heading.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Good entry for a second LD !

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:07pm

It's a tough world out there

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Seems like there is no real end. The timing got more and more tight the longer you played. Would be nice with a real goal except for just surviving as long as possible.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]