December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mother

by tchem - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mother is a game about tension and immersion.
You are an astronaut with a single goal: to return home.

It is my second participation in ludum dare and used little time to develop this game. But it was a great experience.

I used images of the Rorschach test to create the backgrounds patterns with 3 colors. All sounds in freesound.org and Construct 2 for engine.

Any opinion is welcome. See you later.
www.twitter.com/_schizoid

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#38Mood3.83
#76Graphics3.98
#85Audio3.50
#371Innovation3.08
#478Overall3.03
#712Theme2.49
#727Humor1.71
#971Fun1.90

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Dithering! DITHERING EVERYWHERE! :p
The game has a very unique aesthetic... I really like it! *_* Would love to see its evolution! :D

tchem says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:23pm

@alan: thanks man,,,!!! :)

Spit Tex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:47pm

The aesthetics and sound design is superb, however the core mechanics are a bit weak, however the game is still increbibly interesting

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Like others said, nice aesthetic but gameplay is simply waiting around... I can see something like this working but with a more well thought out main mechanic. Nice effort!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:31pm

I'm having trouble running the Mac version on 10.9. Tries to open and then crashes out.

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:26am

thanks all,, i had very difficult in mechanic and gameplay idea,, really is a problem in this propose.
@redhotvengeance: the mac version is really crash out,,,, strange,,,

dznemotion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:25am

I am always surprised with their jobs.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:29am

Amazing look and atmosphere. The first 3 minutes I didn't mind, but waiting around for the full 10 minutes is a bit much. ;)

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:54am

@Crabman: thanks man,,, maybe more fast between actions really will be better.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06am

Thankyou for web! cool graphics, but gameplay is too hard

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11am

This game is extremely atmospheric. That is pretty hard to accomplish in a short time. I do find the actual game a bit confusing though.

vinull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12am

The graphics and sound were nice, but I don't think you can use sounds you did make during the competition (for the jam it's okay) / same with using images.

There is a good feel here, but the time is too long and I never really figured out if I could press the keys in sequence or all at once (I feel like i failed a few times going in sequence).

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:15am

As I type this review I am waiting on the timers (they are a bit too long!) I don't see a reason to the excessive waiting, but I like the idea of a "here is what you do, now execute on this precisely" mechanic. Game has a very unique look to it, though it hurts my eyes to look at the flickering for long.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17am

Really liked the mood! Screen seemed to flash a bit on my computer, unsure if that was purposeful or if it was my end.

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18am

I like the aesthetic quite a bit! I especially like how the reflection of the astronaut can be seen underneath him.

The gameplay is a bit bland(mostly key inputs and waiting around until the next queue), but the sound and the atmosphere at least make it interesting.

Well done with this!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:36am

Beautiful, beautiful game. I just wish the mechanic had more going on. I really love the visual style, sound effects, everything. You really created a beautiful environment.

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29pm

thanks by words @emmelineprufrock,,,
the mechanic really need more work,, the gameplay is really very long.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Comment: Really interesting visual and sound design! The gameplay was a little simple, though, and the instructions didn't seem quite correct - the timer started when I pressed Z, not when I pressed HAL. Maybe it was a bug?

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

@JaymeeMk: correct man,,,, its error ,,, the timer really start with Z,,,,thanks

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Yeah, Vinull is right. You're technically not allowed to use anything like Freesound or Rorschach images, you have to make everything yourself. But it doesn't matter, you didn't know.

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:53pm

@Puzzlem00n: right, really i didn´t know. I used the pictures rorschach as a basis, were very processed and modified for a new design and visual identity are not copies or graphics ready, but ok, do not know well. The sounds did not really know, good to know, thanks.

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:33am

I love the aesthetic it is beautiful it fell beatuful. Great job

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:29pm

I like how the graphics are special. I didn't understand what to do and the tutorial O_O TLDR

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:07pm

That moog Oo

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:07pm

That mood Oo

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:14am

wow. visually very unique, never seen anything like this before. I would love to see more from this game in the future.
5min wait was a bit long though :p

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Yeah, I liked the idea of having to follow a set of instructions precisely, but like others have said, the space between actions is too long.

tchem says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:16pm

@GarethIW: agree man,,, is too long,,, i did this game very fast,, without gameplay test.. but it´s ok. After ludum dare i go upgrade this game with personal sounds and the gameplay total time to 3 minutes with 6 or 7 actions between them... thanks all

rnlf says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Great design and atmosphere. The waiting kills it a bit for me, though.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:08pm

i found a bug where when restart the game doesn't work but i can walk D: and also when i go to the limit of the map to the right my reflection got stuck in there and i cant scroll properly! D: anyways the game was very good! i love the atmosphere/ambient/mood LOL The music was very awesome! very awesome and mysterious, very original game mechanics! Good work :D

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Interesting game especially idea and graphics.

stvr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:47am

Great feeling of tension, and creepiness. Not sure if the extra astronaut was a glitch or not, but it freaked me out either way.

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Super atmospheric - nice :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]