December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Where's my Present?

by Zerkruemler - Jam Entry

The game is controlled by mouse

I have created a post-jam version with 24 Levels and Level selection since the original jam entry has only 4 Levels.

Where's my Present is a cooperative work of my daughter, who is 7 years old and probably one of the youngest participants of ludum dare, my wife and me. Game idea and graphics was created by my daughter. Graphics conversion, game design support and testing by my wife and programming was done by me.

It is Christmas. Everybody gets a Christmas present. The question is who gets which present. Everybody knows something about the present, but not how it looks exactly. The player has to drag the presents from under the christmas tree to the correct family members. When it is correct you can proceed to the next level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#227Innovation(Jam)2.97
#265Fun(Jam)2.84
#341Graphics(Jam)2.95
#342Overall(Jam)2.92
#363Humor(Jam)2.00
#376Theme(Jam)2.44
#397Mood(Jam)2.54
#414Audio(Jam)2.17

Comments

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

This reminds of the game Set. Well done.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:48am

Clever little puzzler. All it's missing is more levels!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:53am

I had to rate your graphics higher when you said your daughter made them. I wonder if I should lie and say I have a child that made my graphics...

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:18am

well done.

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Adorable and surprisingly competent puzzler. Would have loved to see some more difficult puzzles.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:23pm

I just found this game no fun, the art style irked me. You can hear kids shouting on the intro music, pretty sloppy.

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Very nice and quite complex game from a simple set of rules.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:15pm

enjoyed this short and cute game! since you are dividing it into "levels", some indication of a score might make it better.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

The audio should start as soon as the menu opens - mine only started when i clicked instructions.

The 'correct present' audio was a bit too loud and high-pitched, so it got a tad annoying. It also didn't seem to fit the other christmas music and general christmas theme of your game.

It would also be nice to be able to replay/reset a level once failed, rather than having to start from the start again.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17am

Congratulation to the whole family for this nice puzzle game.
I really like it when people start to not wish some kind of gift, it becomes challenging.

lilinx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:10pm

The post-jam one is good too! I have one suggestion, maybe find a way not to have "white square" when no color is asked for.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Cool game, with an easy set of rules. Tell your daughter her art is awesome!

tobbez says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Simple and well made game. Noticed no bugs and I kind of like the graphics. The puzzle in itself is a bit limiting and it will probably be hard to make a large number of interesting levels with it.

irma vep says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:53pm

a cute family game with an awesome graphic. My kids like it too. :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:01pm

I love the graphics!

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Yay! That was an excellent puzzle! Simple but very well thought out! The hand drawn graphics add a lot of atmosphere as well! Sound could've been better if I have any criticism, maybe some christmas mood music and less annoying Success/Fail buzzer sounds.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Great concept! I like gift! You could use a backtrack algorithm to determinate which gift correspond :D Good job!

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:42am

Really cute game, those graphics are so lovely and the gameplay is simple but fun, great work! :)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Well done! A nice idea, well implemented. Well done to your daughter on the pretty graphics. I like these pattern matching puzzles, they sometimes appear in some Mensa tests.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:33pm

neat puzzle game. nice one zerk.

DangerPenguin says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I enjoy graphics that were originally non-digital. Great use of the theme, just wish it was longer/randomized and had music all the way through.

Fun score would be higher if it was longer.

While some of these issues are fixed in the post-jam version, I can't rate based on that version. Still, good job!

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:52am

Interesting, but you could clarify that when multiple traces are on the negation sign, neither trace is accepted on its own... I was under the impression that only their combination would be negated.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:41pm

fun little puzzle game, nice idea for cristmas.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Absolutely adored the hand-drawn graphics and I loved how each puzzle gets progressively harder to solve.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]