December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface Climber

by korfi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everyone!

I made a small 2d-platformer.


Programs used:
Game Maker Studio
MilkyTracker
Gimp

-korfi

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#386Humor2.50
#528Audio2.44
#613Fun2.70
#843Graphics2.17
#845Theme2.21
#868Overall2.50
#870Mood2.12
#943Innovation2.04

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Really enjoyed this! Couldn't get past the part where there are spikes on the ceiling and you have to jump over a ledge, couldn't find a way to not jump into the spikes and get over the ledge. The hat was a nice touch xD. Good work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Man, that music... :D
And yes, I took the hat too, of course. And I had the same problem as ocarina, and only could avoid dying at that point on my second attempt using the extra life instead of the beautiful hat (what a shame). Is there an actual ending? I just found two secrets.
The ceiling climbing thing was an interesting idea btw - and would almost assume it was originally a bug but you decided to make a feature out of it. Right?! :P

korfi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Ocarina of lime: Thanks for the feedback, I know exactly what spot you are talking about and thought whether I should keep it in or not, knowing it's a hard jump. It is absolutely do-able as long as you know the technique, if you have time/just want to go back to it I'm sure you'll find out how to do it. :)

ShellfishGames: The only actual ending is the image you get from reaching the flag, if I would've had more time I might've been able to make a proper ending. You are absolutely correct about it being a bug. I even found a fix for the bug later, but I thought it was better keeping it in. Thanks for the feedback, and glad you liked the music! :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Nice game ! Good luck ;)

tobbez says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:01pm

A nice short platformer, the music got annoying after some time. No real difficulty anywhere. Many things that could be improved such as new mechanics and new enemies.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:52pm

For some reason there was no audio for me

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Reminds me of my LD25 game. It only has better graphics, and stuff that can kill you, and the levelmap isn't annoyingly huge. So better than my first game. Pretty good for first time.

ashen says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Good effort at a platform game. The control method was responsive and easy to use and the ceiling walking fun to use. The music was a bit repetitive, but overall a nice effort.

Raphy says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:29am

Quite good for a first time, music is kindda repetitive and gameplay isn't very original, but good work.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Haha the ceiling running is fun. Cool stuff :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Nice music.

Kane says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:17am

Nice little plateformer, congratulation ! :)

Poxymyr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Loved it :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]