December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pete, The Petard

by Saf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Theme: You only get one.

Pete is a professional petard. His job is to carry explosives and blow up the enemy base.
When you play as Pete, you have to destroy all enemy supplies and troops, but you only get one chance as the loyal petard also blows up with his bomb!

Controls:
[ Arrow Keys] to move
[ Space ] to Blow up!
[ R ] to restart.

Destroy all Enemy Supplies and Troops to finish a level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#59Fun3.68
#67Humor3.61
#76Graphics3.98
#90Overall3.68
#101Theme3.66
#145Audio3.26
#146Mood3.39
#176Innovation3.44

Comments

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:37am

Love it! Impressive art style.

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:12am

Love it! Yeah the art is cool really cool. Love the sound effects too!
As someone who has Peter as a first name, I love this!

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:13am

Excellent Idea! Really impressive art and polish

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20am

Haha, nice graphics and gameplay! Thanks!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50am

Amazing job, I couldn't stop playing it was a suck in.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

Could not play, as every time I hit space-bar it scrolls down the page.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38am

Cute game ! Funny and very nice use of the theme. Great job :)

SiM2SiM says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:33am

Very nice although every time I'd'd blow myself up I could still press the space bar and the screen would shake and play the explosion sound even when I'm not alive.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:43pm

A really polished entry, with great graphics. I'm really impressed by how you pulled all this off in just 48 hours.

Only issue I noted is that the small blocks you have placed on the ground to prevent the player from pushing boxes so that the game is in an unwinnable state don't actually do a very good job of stopping the blocks (due to the slippery physics)

This is one game I could easily see developed further and published for $$$ on mobile platforms.

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Great idea haha somehow I love exploding. Very nice art.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Really funny and entertaining! It's one of the first games in this LD that brought a smile to my face. Good job! (also, good graphics, sounds and levels). The jumping controls could use some tweaking (I keep slipping on platforms in some levels)

Sytech says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Cool concept and nice graphics!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Nice, it got challenging quickly, love the art style. The levels could do with a do-over button, the pause goes to the beginning which gets frustrating. :(

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:11pm

One of my favorites. Only the sound isn't matching to the rest of the game, but that doesn't change that it's a good game.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Amazing! This is superior to many complete casual games!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Nice work! This was pretty fun entry. I liked the visuals and sounds a lot. There is something oddly satisfying in that victory jiggle.

Unept says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:04am

Haha, liked it. Nice art.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Nice puzzle game! I like the physics and the victory sound :-)

Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:29pm

My highest rated game so far! Sweet graphics, nice gameplay, fun game overall. Good job :)

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I love games about explosions! This one is pretty nice and I'm enjoying it.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Nicely done, enjoyed playing this game.

jonask says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:12pm

This is great!

havana24 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:41am

Pretty nice puzzle game with nice visuals! :)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

Impressive art. Reminds me of Age of Empires II, with the guys with the barrels!

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Nice game, kept me interested until the end. I like how even the guards armed with bows walk while sleeping. ^^
It could use some music though, and maybe a bit of backstory? I wanted to know more about Pete!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Lovely art, style, atmosphere and tech. I found the physics and controls difficult, but I read your post explaining how you built the game and I'm full of awe and enthusiasm for your approach.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:23am

awesome game! this is a really great concept - simple yet challenging. a shame all those little petards had to die ;)

loxo says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:07am

Great game with good graphics and audio. I enjoyed playing it very much. But I think the progression of the difficulty could be better. It seems the first 3 levels are really easy, then there are some levels with much higher difficulty and the last levels are easy again. But overall a very polished looking game and more levels would be nice.

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:48pm

This was really well made, I really enjoyed this.

Rustam says ...
Apr 24, 2017 @ 11:10am

wow what a great post is this... thanks for sharing boss, keep share these valuable content.
http://usemywarez.blogspot.com

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]