December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Element Fighter

by smash ball - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IMPORTANT NOTE: Enemies of a certain element are weak to the opposite (fire enemy is weak to ice). This isn't stated in-game, so I decided to put it here.

This is a shooter where you only get one powerup, and start off with no ammo. Instead, you have to absorb enemy bullets, and fire it back at them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#303Innovation3.20
#651Graphics2.63
#711Fun2.54
#766Mood2.36
#769Humor1.48
#772Audio1.35
#795Overall2.63
#827Theme2.26

Comments

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Nice idea behind adding multiple types of shields. :)

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Absorbing right type of bullet really cool idea, but hampered by the fact it takes so long to switch absorption modes. Also, it is super hard to absorb one type amongst all the firing that is going on, but anyways, I really liked the idea!

foumart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Really, really hard game. I had difficulty with shooting and once started to shoot all the ammo was wasted fast without significant visible damage to the enemy. I ended up chasing only one color because it was difficult for me to digest all the elements on screen and switch my color at the same time, but this is a meter of skill thought. Also there ware moving stars in the background that additionally distracted me. The game needs balancing a bit in order to become more appealing.

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:21pm

A very complex game for a 48 hour game jam, with multiple different types of AI, artwork for different spaceships, particle-effect physics, and even a perk system. Very well done!

tobbez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I kind of like the idea but the game need some balancing.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Nice, old-skool feel with new ideas, but it would benefit from an easier beginning, with less bullets on screen :)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Much work in this one... well done! :)

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Very original idea, but it suffers from uncomfortable controls and slow shield change vs too many enemies at times. Surely it could become more even with adding some audio.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice idea, but game is unbalanced

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Cool concept, though I didn't like that shooting caused all your ammo to get discharged.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Love the graphics and movement in the game :) Innovative game mechanic too. However... changing colour was too slow rendering it almost useless as a power up. I found myself sticking with one colour and dodging everything else.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Functionally a good top down shmup, however the sheer amount of bullets and modes that you could switch between makes the game to unwieldy to really have fun with.

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I agree with other comments, the idea is nice, but there's kind of too much going on to be able to work it out.

jarnik says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Great concept, I like it! Would love to have the color-switching a bit faster.
Though I'm a shooter noobie, so I didn't get very far.

gnargle says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:06pm

This is a VERY difficult game. Ikaruga had a similar concept, but that game used two bullet types for a reason - any more and you lose track. I had trouble even shooting (all the bullets seemed to shoot out at once and do no damage) and seemed to absorb a lot of stuff I didn't want to either. GOod effort, though.

bukt says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Can't download it ((((

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Download error from file host.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:05pm

As others have said, it's a really good and interesting idea - it could just use with a little balancing. Shield swap speed, number of enemies, and perhaps some extended controls? Constraining to left/right made it pretty tough.

smash ball says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:39am

Bukt and tommakesgames: I tried it, and it works fine for me. I'm not sure what the problem you are experiencing is. Perhaps MediaFire was temporarily busy/down?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]