December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spell of Old

by Tanser - Jam Entry

Queer mage have found himself in dungeon. You control him and in order to escape you have to go through a maze of traps. At each level there is interference which you have to pass over with the help of rune magic. This old magic is the spell of teleportation. You have power to cast Blink once each level. Use your magic wisely and get the caster out of the dungeon.

Controls:
WASD for movement and spacebar for jump. Hold right mouse button and then press left mouse button to teleport.

Created by Petar Dimitrov - Art,
Miroslav Dimitrov - Programming.

*Fix: Removed the clicks which Garageband had produced in the soundtrack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#68Theme(Jam)3.51
#171Innovation(Jam)3.14
#180Mood(Jam)3.15
#305Overall(Jam)3.03
#337Graphics(Jam)2.97
#340Fun(Jam)2.67
#374Audio(Jam)2.43
#388Humor(Jam)1.90

Comments

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56am

there is some atmosphere in this game.
also good take on the theme

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:20am

agree! the music helps, and the blink thing is a nice idea :)

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Why is blinking so complicated? Why not just one left click?

The idea is interesting, not sure how many levels you could make with the concept, though.

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Loving the blinking concept, obviously limiting me to one fits the theme, but I want more damnit!

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Please put instructions to open the game.

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:57pm

The design of the level is a bit daunting, but the concept is nice.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17pm

This is a nice little idea! I liked the trapped door at last level. Jumping is a little fuzzy, though, and it would have been nice to be able to see a little bit further, because sometimes you can't see where you are going to jump :) The hardships of being a mage, I guess :)

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Very good game, you hits the bulls eye with the one time blinking and the graphics are like in old games and made with love

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40pm

this is a really cool concept, you should totally expand upon it

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Great!!!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:35am

Really great art on this one. I'm a pixel kinda guy so this completely resonated with me. Also felt like nice use of theme. Great stuff!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:40am

Nice job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:02am

Cool game, love the use of theme and the consent. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/6i2NO94dPrk

97%Awesome says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Nice but the music got a bit irritating

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:03pm

The game is good, but the movement mechanic is not one of the greatest.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Very good idea, it's pleasant to be played ;) Music is climatic, but it became to too boring, and sometimes I see problem with collision(I moved through the block) ;) Overall congrats for finish and good luck! Good job. ;)

ezolotko says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Really cool and moody

Crabman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Now that was a cool idea, love it! :)

Avichal says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:16pm

good concept of blinking, just the level design lacks, but good effort guys :)

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Nice job, but too short.

foumart says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Nice mood here, but you should concentrate more on the game design aspect. I don't feel like jumping with the creeping mage.
Продължавайте в същия дух ! Успех!

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:53am

Nice idea, but the actual platforming is horrible :-/ It's too slow, jump doesn't feel right and overall it's not elegant. That click sounds when walking don't fit the music really well too. Graphics is relatively nice (I'm not pixel art fan but this seems ok to me..) Next time try to concentrate on the gameplay element first :-) I'm sorry that I was so critique and I wish you better luck next time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]