December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Darkness will crush me

by ExtreLime - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Experimental game about the fear of unknown.

You are walking in the forest at night. It's hard to you to see the objects so there's so many strange and scary shapes around You're fear. You'll probably need some light to calm yourself. And you have a box of matches, but there's only one match left. The road is too long...

Please, read ALL the text in the game for understand it!

Made in Flash, so the Web-version is avaliable :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Mood3.71
#101Audio3.43
#267Theme3.29
#349Graphics3.21
#491Overall3.00
#694Innovation2.59
#736Humor1.67
#916Fun2.12
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

Ysty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52am

Really nice concept. I love the art.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58am

Yes! I've made it through! :D
Good job, the game (visuals + sounds) really creates a nice atmosphere. Too bad it is so short...

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Good stuff! I always like experimental games.

ydg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Short but intense, the music helped a lot to get the perfect mood. Good job!

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:44am

A simple game, I really enjoy the concept of just one match/torch/light source. Works well here, and I think you did a great job on the atmosphere and mood with fitting music. Great!

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:52am

Answering your question about my game: the wall is not the end-> pick the bulldozer and go back to the left (see the comments for more info)

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Nice concept with good art and sound, i also laught when i see that we can go to the left of the screen for a time!
it's an interesting game, just a little too short

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Creepy atmosphere, but entertaining. The graphics fit well with the overall game and the sounds build up the mood. Good job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:52pm

A little too short, but it had great graphics and music! ^^

sadiquo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Creepy... But beautiful ;)

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Short and sweet, great atmosphere!

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:31pm

That's a nice game you have there :)

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Very creepy. The music and sound is especially nice.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Had a very "Amnesia" feel to it - nice work.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Very moody yet too short. Well done!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Pretty short but good, especialy the atmosfer :)

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I like the art a lot ! The parallax effect with the blurred pines in the background is really nice, so are the colors. God job with the audio too. But it's a very short game, unless I missed something...

If you want to work with the fear of unknown, what about reducing the viewport using a radial gradient from transparent (near the player) to black (outside) and/or fast and surprising monsters instead of static ones ? Just some random ideas ^^

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Nice experience. Very tense atmosphere. I loled at the end, though, in the good way. Funny.

Snuti says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Cool concept! The music fitted the mood perfectly and really nice work on the art. I wish it was a bit longer though.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Nice idea, it definitely has a good atmosphere

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]