December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Iron Chef Dorm

by UltraRat - Jam Entry

After many years of frozen meals and ramen you decide to get toasty. With ONLY ONE iron and endless hunger you'll become the next IRON CHEF DORM.

Made with GameMaker Studio Standard for Ludum Dare 28 "You Only Get One"

Video: http://youtu.be/74jJWQIR3Ik

Controls:
Mouse only, individual minigame controls all onscreen during that section.

Game by:
Gretchen Ortiz
Raynaldo Perez
Molly Jameson

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Humor(Jam)3.88
#92Fun(Jam)3.40
#245Graphics(Jam)3.29
#268Innovation(Jam)2.84
#360Overall(Jam)2.88
#380Theme(Jam)2.42
#383Mood(Jam)2.58
#407Audio(Jam)2.22
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

hate-marina says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Okay, that's funny one :3

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Boosh! Pretty sure that fancy iron would cost more than a toaster.

jackolondon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:01pm

ahahahah I put so much piece of butter on my bread that's my heart feel......x_x

Funny game^^

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:43am

I lolled :D, nice game :D

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:44am

Reminds me of WarioWare, quite funny. The minigames could be more diverse though, and the spreading butter part is kind of boring. Good graphics though, and I like the retro music.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Cute I loved it

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice take on Iron Chef and cooking games :D

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Everytime 'click again' appears, the hit box should include the area of text that says 'click again', rather than requiring the user to click everyone on screen until they find the right spot.

Also, after placing cheese on the quesadilla, it went straight into flipping mode, so I unwillingly did a 'bad flip'.

It's a shame that there isn't more polish on some of the other GUI elements, because from what there is so far, the art looks good.

There should also be more player feedback as to how close they are to getting certain 'scores' as they play.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:55pm

At first, I thought it was talking about ironman ^^

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Hahaha, what the heck! Good job!
Too bad there's no bad ending, though!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Not entirely on theme, but very funny and a good little game.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Very fun! It could be longer though...

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:44am

Very entertaining. Great idea. Soo much butter!

Sebastian says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Cool, quite enjoyable.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Real fun and kinda like slice of student life.. Good going..

Xanjos says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:38pm

This was absolutely hilarious. It's as if Amateur Surgeon and Cooking Mama had a glorious lovechild :D

Nelien says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:08am

Short, simple and fun. I'd have enjoyed more diverse challenges.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:59pm

This is a silly game. =)

The first time I played, I almost left after making toast. I didn't realize that was just the first stage. It would help to have a big NEXT CHALLENGE graphic or something.

Sound effects would push this game through the roof.

I love the smooshed butter graphic and the girl's face. Rather than using the meter, I think you could move the iron across the toast/sandwich/quesadilla and measure the alignment when the player clicks. Maybe the water reservoir is loaded with movie theater liquid butter so the "spray" button adds flavor.

-mildmojo

Beavl says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:21am

Ironing some bread? Sure thing! With some more work on game mechanics and perhaps harder challenges, this could turn out to be interesting...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]