December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Agent One

by DanielSnd - Jam Entry

You are Agent One, right now you're the last hope of this planet. Why? There is no time to explain! Just GO! You only get one minute!

ASWD or Arrow Keys to move.
Left Mouse to Attack - Right Mouse to Dodge
1 to Toggle Melee - 2 to Toggle Gun.

Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NryPFX1qan0

Game by Daniel Snd and Eliza Wibisono
Music by Scythuz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Graphics(Jam)4.57
#47Overall(Jam)3.78
#62Fun(Jam)3.57
#114Audio(Jam)3.39
#117Mood(Jam)3.38
#118Humor(Jam)3.07
#302Theme(Jam)2.66
#351Innovation(Jam)2.63

Comments

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56am

Absolutely amazing complete polished experience. The trackbar is also a nice touch. Low poly modelling skills were pro!

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

Amazing art, great gameplay, some funny text :)

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

score: 2204! haha dude your skills are so flipping good. You create assets so fast and so well! Daniel that's an awesome game just as expected :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

Really polished game. The only thing I really would complain about is that the controls were a little hit or miss sometimes. I found myself skipping the gun because I was able to be much more effective with just fists. Nice work though

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44am

Cool game. The gameplay was a bit fiddly, but overall, it is absolutely amazing for 48 hours.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:59am

Had some weird issues with movement getting stuck in certain directions. I ended up just running through the levels while punching backwards. Love the lo-poly art style.

LTPATS says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:59am

Fun and entertaining game! I realized in the second half of the game that I would just run through an entire level, which was fun in its own way ;). Very polished looking game!

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08am

Something something fantastic! :D

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

The controls could be improved but overall for a game done in 72 hours absolutly amazing!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16am

Great entry, nice graphics.

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33am

Stunningly polished with graphics that are better than many games on the market.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:59am

Love the graphics! Looks really polished.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47am

Thanks guys ^^ Wish I had more time to make some more levels and fix some more things xD but for 2 and a half days of work I'm pretty happy with the results ^^

Tim Kaldor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:35am

Amazing polish, great graphics/animations, good controls, great game, you just need a way to punish skipping the enemies other than score...

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40am

Among other things I wanted to add, I wanted to do like old school brawlers and have the camera stop and have a invisible wall stopping the players until they kill the enemies of that area, but didn't have enough time xD

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44am

Incredibly competent entry for the Jam, wow. Looks great, sounds good, animations and controls were okay. One of the most polished looking games I've played so far.

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:43am

Great style, and smooth dynamics.

Venturelli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15pm

A polished 3D game in a jam is madness :) Congrats!

frickajr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28pm

awesome!!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Awesome, n-n that is funny, although the screen could flash least XD

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:28pm

This seems surprisingly polished. It's really fun.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Graphically, the game looks fantastic! Looks super polished like a commercial game. Gameplay, really nice and responsive. It felt "fair" if that makes sense, in that I felt in control.

I feel the one minute limit isn't needed. Just as I was having fun, the game would end on me! Also, this game would be great with gamepad support! Tested with a Xbox360 controller, and the analog stick does work in your name. A few minutes binding a couple of buttons to the attacks/toggles would go a long way!

Raphy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Hey, very nice polish, great graphics and impressive music. Simple but efficient gameplay too.

If I was picky I'd complain about the length of the game (2 levels,right ?), the lack of feedback when you hit an ennemy that make the combats less energetic, and my biggest concern is that the gameplay gets a bit monotonous. But still, really great work overall !

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I loved kicking Santa's ass :3

Really nice game! Felt very polished. I had trouble aiming the gun, though it's probably because I'm not used to the camera. Good job, looking forward to a post-compo version

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Congratulations, the quality of "Agent One" is really impressive! The only bad thing is that the mechanic of movement is a bit annoying, like walking on a slippery ice.

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00pm

The graphics look very nice, gameplay was a lot fun too.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:08am

Amazing work in short time. The models and art are very nice. Good Job.

epb9000 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:46am

I think I liked beating Santa a little too much. Had some problems aiming the gun, but meh a little more fun to punch people in the face anyway.

pele says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:09am

Cool game. Nice graphics and easy to master controls. Could be a little bit more challenging though.

davisan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Nice entry! Superb graphics! The aim is a bit problematic, but the punches are very fun.

Lipedal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:06am

This game is beautiful! Great low-poly characters, and great visual overall. I liked the story too, haha. Movement is a bit slippery, that's my only complain. Very good for a 72h game though, grats guys!

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:33am

I like the game, it's very polished visually. You did a great job.
My 2 cents as a beat'n up fan. You can make better the controls. The acceleration and the use of the mouse to hit/dodge don't make the game feels good. And the soundtrack it's good, but not for this kind of game.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:51am

Daniel, it`s a very good game man! the controls are difficult, specially in a note book, but the overall value is amazing. congrats

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:07am

Nice game, guys. I liked the gameplay and the art style a lot. It was good to see that many different variations on enemies in a jam game, the small alterations went a long way. Good work!

Taldius says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:10am

Awesome graphics, I enjoyed played it. The game is really solid, it reminds me of the old beat them all era.
Great job.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:10am

Really neat game. I love the overall look of it. It was a little weird getting used to the controls at first. The gun was hard to aim and didn't seem needed. I loved the ability to roll, but I never felt like I needed it. The random items in the background looked amazing. The movement was very fluid.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:18am

awesomeee

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:33am

Amazing graphic style!

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:01am

Pretty cool color choices. Great game although I beat it by just running towards the goal, lol.

Venks says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:01am

I'd love to see your first impression of my game!

As for yours I'm not a particularly huge fan of side scrolling beat-em-ups(besides TMNT IV), but yeah the controls are really solid and I like the art style.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:17am

Stunning look and animations for a jam! Is pretty fun to play too. I think I would like it even more of the action took place on ice, because that's how the movement feels.
Great entry!

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:18am

Well done! Like a modern double dragon! :) I just ran past all enemies though.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:25am

Woow, controls feels really smooth and polished, and the graphics are simply fantastic!

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:26am

Cool game! Incredible achievement in 72 hours :)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:27am

Okay, this was a really great, polished entry. The movement and controls were pretty slick. Not to mention the cool graphics and gameplay. I just wish I had a few more bullets, though. Really enjoyed it. The only downside would be that you could get to the end without killing a single enemy.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:33am

Holy... what an impressive entry! Had a cool River City Ransom feel to it. Would love to see what you can with is if you continue on post jam. I wish the weapon select was bound to the scroll wheel of the mouse - it was a little awkward switching weapons. The aim of the gun also felt "off" somehow - or I just sucked at ;)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:35am

"Something something power plant, something something bad guys" hahaha :D

Unbelievable level of polish, it's crazy what some people are capable of.

I'll admit, I'm here because of your front page post regarding first impressions videos. I'd love to see you do one for my game You Only Get Won http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=15929

Dyn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:35am

Cool game. Mobiles planned?

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:58am

Well done game with lots of polish! I really liked the graphical style and the controls worked well.

One minute was very short time to get through each level though, and I found it easier to just rush fast than stop dealing with enemies. Also the gun is very underpowered compared to the fists, I would have made the gun much stronger, but ammo more scarce. I also felt like the music doesn't really fit the gameplay and graphical style.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:12am

Amazing presentation! I love the graphical style, impressive for such a short time! About gameplay, it's a little repetitive and controls are a little slippery, but beside that I really enjoyed it.

drludos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:15am

I also saw your post about first impression video - nice idea. I downloaded the Windows version of your game, and I think the archive is corrupted or something. I don't have any extracting error, but when I try to launch the game it says "AgentOne.exe isn't a valid Win32 application". I've downloaded your archive twice, same problem. I'm using Windows Xp Sp3. I hope this can be fixed because your game looks amazing (I'm a big fan of beat'em ups!)

And if you want to try my game, I'll be very happy: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=29773

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:25am

Really love your Art-Style. So impressive make all of this in only 72 hours!

The gameplay, in the other hand, don't works with me. I just ran in straight line meanwhile I punched the guys that was following me. I think that the countdown ruins the experience.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:31am

Nice work, the realization was top notch. I do have some critics though:
- Playing in the browser, the performance was pretty choppy. Ok, I'm on a mac, but still!
- I'm not a big fan of games that force you to use both keyboard and mouse for controls. I think the game would be fine if the character just turns towards the direction he's moving, and I can just press a key for punching/shooting. Perhaps you can just add an option to change controls. It's probably fun to play with one hand on the mouse and the other one on the keyboard, but I'm playing on a laptop and my mouse is the trackpad!

Yaguar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:05am

Blown away by how much there was for a weekend and how polished it felt.
The swap from ranged to melee once I was out of ammo was an awesome little bit.
Low poly art style was great and the animations were smooth.

It felt pretty complete mechanically and the simplicity lent itself well.

Damn... all that in a weekend. The second environment was a surprise and a half!

bitserum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:08am

Wooohooo, i saved the world!
The game is good, albeit too easy. The gameplay is too repetitive, however it's not much of a problem since the game is so short.

I didn't really like the use of the theme here, it felt just "thrown in for the sake of it", could have been only one of any amount of time it wouldn't make a serious impact.

The graphics and animations are awesome looking though and the sound is great!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:15am

Very fun, I love your hack and slash game!
I you want to try my game, this is the link:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=25708

recursor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Nice polish for such a short amount of time. This has some of the best 3D models I've seen so far.

Nezzhil says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Solid gameplay and great graphics. The fighting/dodge mechanic I really funny, and having two modes of fight is really cool. Like I said before, really solid gameplay.

But I have two minor issues:
1) The music is good, but the sfx are too low! :(
2) I think that the race to the finish before the time ends don't mesh really well with the beat em up concept. In my second playthough I run without punching more than two or three guys to arrive to the end of the level. I think that defeating a certain number of badguys or find some keys to advance could be better with the gameplay.
But great game for a development of 72 hours only!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Great looking game. Nice straight forward Double Dragon type mechanic.

Might have been good to stop the scrolling every no and again to prevent just running through. But otherwise really solid.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Great colors, and nice arcade feeling. I think there's too much control inertia for a beat'em all. The game also lack some sound sfx and more Fx/shakin on impact. I would have prefer to use mousewheel to change weapon.
Also the targeting system is weird, some time people are in my target and won't be hit. Maybe don't try to compute collision with bullet but simply autohit baddies if they were near the target when shot.

Apart of that very good overall. congrats :)

bsowers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Pretty good looking game! The controls felt a little floaty, and the gun aiming was overly difficult, but the general beat-em-up action worked well.

I had a fair bit of success just running backward and punching until I reached the exit. :)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Good game! Always liked beat-em-ups where you can shoot - and speaking of: i toggled shoot in the beginning and ran into a mag .. got a 'blueish' screen with timer and kinda the mag, and couldn't do nothing more.. after that i abstained form picking them up..

sknoslo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Fun game with a really neat art style. My only complaint is the one minute constraint. Seems like a bit of a cop out on the theme, when one life (no health regeneration) would work with the content of the game much better, IMO. Mainly, I would have just liked to have seen how long I could have lived because I was having fun!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Totally loved! And hated for the way you used theme - i'd like to see longer version of this fun! :) (and more creative way of the usage) Visual style is so fantastic! Could you tell me if this low poly style is an effect or special technique (which I could google&research) or program?

mortus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I absolutely loved the graphics, color scheme is quite good! Controls feel smooth and the game is fun, but I had problems aiming, especially with a gun. Also too bad it's so short, I hoped at least for a boss at the end.

rubna says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Wow! Amazing effort! The graphics and attention to detail are great! Though I will say this: some more sound effects and maybe some less walking friction would have made it even better!

It's really great nonetheless though :)

Maple says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I loved how I was able to save the world managing a score of 0 points, haha. Well-presented game you've got here! I feel the need to comment on the ultra-slippery movement making it harder to control than it should be, and also the fact that it is easier (though not as fun) to run through the levels without engaging in combat. The combat itself felt alright but I feel like the punches etc could have had more 'oomph'. Also, I love the almost-speedrun take on the theme. Great job guys.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Very impressive work, controls maybe have some room for improvement and the punching impact sound was at times barely audible, but everything else was spot on! I got 2340 points and saved the world :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Incredible work you guys! Beautiful shaders as well <3 Top marks!

Madball says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:06pm

The first impression was excellent. Great graphics, much polished. But it turned out to be very short. I was loading it for a while, and completed it in under two minutes. I hope you'll make more levels!

You should make bad guys faster than you. I just kept running, and there was a huuuuge train of bad guys vainly following me.

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Graphics, sound, and everything is great. No bugs also! But I would expect to see something more than 2 minutes of gameplay.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:39pm

This is so shiny and polished it almost hurts. Amazing sound, graphics, and presentation! Fantastic job! Nice touch with the santa thug. :)

I would love to see a first impression on my entry, thanks for doing that for everyone!

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Awesome looking game. There is only one thing I don't like about the game and that's the control mechanism. Maybe a restriction to keyboard only would help, like in the old 2d games.

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Nice looking graphics! But it's a little short and I was able to go through a wall with dodge. The music is good too.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Wow so many comments, xD I see I have a long day of recording ahead of me.

Thanks for all the positive feedback guys ^^ I also feel the controls are a bit slippery sometimes, and I see the problem that having the mouse controls causes for notebook users :x

I'm considering keeping on working on this game, rewriting the controls to make the character shoot and punch where he is walking to so the mouse wouldn't be needed. Also want to put camera stops to force the player to deal with enemies. Extra weapons, and getting rid of the 1 minute limit for sure =x

Maybe it would do well on mobile :3 I did an android version and had some trouble with the aiming but if I get rid of the aiming it should be ok

psychomonster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:08am

Very good game. Very good arts, cool music... Smooth gameplay. Like the way you dodge :D Enjoyed playing...

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:17am

Controls are a bit slick, but pretty nice otherwise. I feel like some wacky sound effects would have been appreciated.

ploogle says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:28am

Amazing polish for such a short amount of time!

grifdail says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:56am

The graphics are awesome but the game is not so good. You can just run from the bad guy and avoid the bullet. You wont get a good score but, because of the timer, score fell far less interesting.

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Nice models and gameplay, too bad it's so short.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Really love the graphics and the gameplay, although i didn't need any dodging or gun it was pretty easy. Good job

FrederickK says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:49am

Wow...
My only problem is that is better just run to the exit ratter than fight the bad guys.
Other than that, the graphics, the sound, the smoothness (?) just too awesome!
Amazing job guys!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Great graphics ! Amazing gameplay, the controls are smooth, very interesting experience !

KEFIR says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:37am

Very nice! Beautiful and detailed environment, fantastic character animation. Really nice beat-em-up!

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:45am

Great graphics, great character design!
It's cool to have two levels which are both well thought with many obstacles put along the path our hero must follow.
Controls are a bit difficult (using keyboard and mouse at the same time isn't easy for this kind of 3D view).
Would love to see the next adventure of Agent One!

Kohijin says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Excellent presentation, especially in the graphics department! The gameplay itself has a few problems though: While it controls nice enough for me, there is no real challenge about beating the level in a minute, since you can just run through. I think it would have worked better if the combat was a lot faster and challenging with the enemies activly trying to stop you from progressing. Anyway, very nice jam result and apparently very appealing to a wide audience.

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:40am

Graphics and sounds are very good! :D I like this game!

PaulSB says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:25pm

I saved the world! Really fantastic looking work, lovely cartoony/low-poly style. I feel the camera really needs to look further ahead of the character, especially when using the gun. Fun game!

Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Extremely polished game, great low-poly models and animations. Just wish the camera would look a bit further ahead, and also I found that I can win easily by skipping most of the enemies. But great job overall!

Fenixin says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Great idea, a brawler in 3D. It is a pity that there are no commercial great games in the old arcade brawler style. A pity you included pistols, they are not necessary and hide the arcade potential.

lowcade says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:56am

Daniel, very polished game. I like the art style and gameplay. Congratulations bro!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]