December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Conkery

by RoseNinja - Jam Entry

So this is the game me and Jellycakes have been working on. I did the art at the start of the Jam, and Jellycakes programmed the game in the remaining 24 hours of the Jam.

Due to time constraints we didn't really get the features we wanted in this game, but we still think it turned out pretty well.

Also incase the theme implementation isn't clear, you only get one life, and you're the only Conker/Horse Chestnut.

INSTRUCTIONS
------------

WSAD - Move
Left Shift - Stick
Space - Jump
-------------

Sidenote: This game is incredibly unbalanced so be prepared to be frustrated. :)

Known Bugs:
-Jump height sometimes doubles and launches Conkery into the air

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#400Graphics(Jam)2.70
#401Humor(Jam)1.83
#402Mood(Jam)2.52
#424Innovation(Jam)2.39
#441Audio(Jam)1.90
#471Theme(Jam)2.13
#506Overall(Jam)2.33
#516Fun(Jam)1.91
#965Coolness49%

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Love the main character! So cute! ^^

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Couldn't beat the first level with spikes! Couldn't climb the wall for some reason, not sure how you're supposed to do it, otherwise cute conker!

hate-marina says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Okay, I'm frustrated enough already, hope Conkery will be okay :D

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23pm

The game is very beautiful, but I found it very hard. So hard in fact I couldn't make it past the first level with spikes. I couldn't get the stick to the wall thing to work proberly. The feel to this game however, is magnificient.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:42pm

The art-style is a bit strange, but the game play is interesting. Nice game!

antila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I couldn't get past the spikes. :(

digihacker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Nice little character ! But the resolution is abit too large ? At least it's large for me. Hard to control though.

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Was really hard to figure out how to control Conkery, couldn't go through the first spikes too. I really liked how he goes down the hill on the second screen.

goteambob says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Nice game :) Spike bit was hard!

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Cute game :)
The second screen looked really great, but the sticking feature was a bit confusing. Maybe I did something wrong, but when moving, sometimes I was unable to jump so I landed in the spikes on the 3rd screen way too many times :D
All in all nice work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]