December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cure the infected!

by archaeometrician - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A terrible disease is about to turn everyone into a zombie.
You are the only medic left and of course, with the only cure left.

You only get one chance to cure the infected before the virus spread to the entire city.

Find the infected citizen (red one) and cure him by giving him a shot of the vaccine. Act fast because the virus spread quickly !

Space to jump
Left Click to cure (you must be close to the patient)
F1 to restart the level
F5 to reset the game to level 1
F10 to quit

Go to the hospital to buy more cure, running shoes to run faster and a slingshot to cure at distance.

Save the city, save the world !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#321Audio2.84
#395Humor2.48
#447Innovation2.99
#515Fun2.84
#577Overall2.92
#602Mood2.62
#737Theme2.45
#750Graphics2.42

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34am

I liked it but it was quite hard to walk through the crowd, my arm constantly moved people with me when going to the left or turning

Shigor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

The idea is nice but the physical engine of Unity means that I get constantly stuck in civilians - managed to finish three levels, but then I gave up.

Deity says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

I like the concept and has lots of potential. Good job getting all that done in 48 hours!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

Cool concept :)
very nice

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26am

Fun game, especially if further developed. It was pretty funny watching the guys crowd surfing due to the physics. More upgrades and a no-tag-backs rule for the infected should be added to make this an even more enjoyable game.

Phil River says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

Very well executed. Cool concept. Congrats!

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Good game, but the mechanics are strange. The last vaccine batch is more expensive and gives you less, while you have an incentive to let people get infected to get more money.... Is that a critic or a bug?

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

I got this weird bug where I couldn't turn or anything so I stiffed arm'd my way through the crowd. The beat is catchy as heck though!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44am

@BillyTheCodingKid
@Shigor
@Deity
@ENDESGA
@ThatGuy
@Phil River
@BoppreH
@SilentBunny
Thank you all for your comments and feedback ! It's really appreciated and helpful ! Thank you again :) I will post update of the game so if you like it, come back I will add a 2nd version as soon as I'm done with all those school's exams

notajetski says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02am

lotta text is off-putting at the beginning. I also found the mouse extremely sensitive, but that's a personal thing. otherwise, nice job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39am

Very Fun concept, but the collision with the citizens needs some work. Keep getting stuck in them lol.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50am

Interesting concept and a great start, unity's collisions do hamper the situation a bit. Perhaps a more spread out crowd over a larger area would be better.

denvil says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:46am

Very fun. I had unity physics flipping people over the place when playing the web version.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:59am

Heh controls are a bit awkward, but I like the concept!

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31am

Liked the idea, it seemed a little easy to complete though if you're quick enough. I did like the purchasing system, added some re playability. Nice job

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:04am

Cool concept, Shame the physics spaze out but that's Unity for you.

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:16am

Very fun - collision logic was a little off, but very cool anyway. Nice music and a fun concept, don't get the "you only get one" link though. Good job!

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:07pm

The concept is really great, too easy or i miss something,but i like very much the concept.

NuSan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:45pm

At first i was sceptical, but it's a great idea, and with lot of tools in the shop. It's really hard to overcomme the infection past the first couple of zombies. I find the collision good to add chalenge, and throwing other people into the sky is always nice ^^. Congratz

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Hmmm very interesting game. Played it up to level 12. Wasnt sure if there was more to it after that. What was the surprise? endless mode? Good game + concept 5 stars

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Hang on, so where's the cheerleader?!?
Never played a FPV before (first person vaccinator)
Great concept, but really difficult on the 3rd level!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34pm

I like it! It has everything it should have! Only one thing: It's not really based on the theme.

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I played until lvl 11. I noticed that it is a lot easier if you just evade as many civilians as possible, especially close to zombies, because most of the time you will push them directly into the zombies and they get instant-infected.
Now i will take a look at the post compo version :) .

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Again, thank you everyone for your comments and feedback. I will continue to improve the game so stay tune if you like it :) I still have one final exam to do tuesday, after that I plan to add more items and all the things I wanted to implement in the game. Don't hesitate to send me your suggestions !

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Really funny)

travislucia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Not bad, The sensitivity was way to high for me, but cool idea.

explosivose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Good sense of progression in this game :)
I scored 40000 and had to give up :P

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Cool concept, nice upgrade system. The song rocks hard! Also, there are two things specifically about Unity you should take notice:

1. Increase font size and decrease scale to enhance the resolution of 3DText;

2. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/13/unity-devs-i-beg-you-do-not-use-standard-mouselook/

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:04am

I had a lot of fun with this game. Also the music was awesome. The collisions with the crowd seemed really buggy though. Good job!

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:17am

Overall was a fun game! running into the patients was a bit annoying but made it more fun!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

Very cool game. Made it to level 10. really liked the music.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42pm

I like the concept! good work

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00pm

An interesting play, could see some improvement in the visual impact.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

i liked the idea but couldnt seem to cure anybody hmmm.. good job tho :)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Cool game. Great music choice. I like it.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:15am

Addicting, got up to 110 before I gave up.

omaha says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:17am

Fun game! (played the post-comp); a thought: with music as present as this, it would be nice to have a mute feature (or to have a different track with each level). Nicely done though!

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:04am

Interesting game. Adding an action to push people out of player's way maybe better.

TeamRoboto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:39am

I like the idea, but i think it would be better if it wasn't so obvious who was infected, maybe make it noticeably by a change in their behaviour or that they start munching on someone? :) Good job! :)

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:45am

I found very funny sending zombies to the stratosphere while walking among them :)

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I like the general idea, needle in a haystack, right?

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:27pm

What if we had a cure for the infection and start a profitable venture built around it. Chilling real world implications ;)

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Nice game, definitely has some potential. Good work! (:

JackBid says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I nice idea and concept but it is a bit too buggy at the moment, other than that a cool game!

GingerMess says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Great concept, and has something in common with my submission, so naturally I'm biased to liking it. ;)

One suggestion: spread the initial civilian spawn out a bit, and add more zombies to start with. It should make it more of a challenge.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Cool idea. Balancing was a bit off though, the first 4 levels I won before the virus spread to more than 2-3 people at most, but then level 5 it all kind of exploded and although I was able to keep curing people it just looked like it wasn't going to end. Movement was also a little awkward because it was very slow to decelerate. Could be fun with a bit of tweaking. Good work for 48 hours.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19pm

addicting. definitely grows on you. nicely done. :-)

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:41am

the collision makes too difficult to traverse the crowd.

interesting tough

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:46am

Nice idea, but when first time playing it, the physic engine blow me out to space...

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:31pm

walking through the crowd makes this kinda frustrating and hard, but in all other ways this is really impressive.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:12pm

i was kicked off the screen haha. despite the little bugs, i thought amazing. the music beat is really catchy and everything makes you desperate to cure people. i really enjoyed.

fysx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Good fun! Liked the mechanics and also the items you could buy. Seems to be a little unbalanced as it is relatively easy to get the first zombie vaccinated and therefore clear the level without much difficulty.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I had grey npcs floating around in the sky, not sure why, but it looked like a good start.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Nice concept, that song is catchy too.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:56pm

The spreading mechanic is cool, but the feedback loop is too intense. If you get patient zero right away you skip the level for free, but if you don't you be cleaning up for minutes. Would have loved to have a lose condition I was trying to avoid - like 10 people sick - have vaccinated people stay vaccinated, or have a splash damage weapon that could cure groups of people.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:27am

Nice game! Really funny!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:09am

Really good given the time constraints. I like the idea of saving people from an infection.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:19pm

This reminds me so much of knifing people in CS!
Very cool! You should consider adding some cure bombs that have area of effect too.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Enjoyed the concept of this game!

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:16pm

The concept is there but there are still many glitches to make the game less fun. I like the game idea though and played for a while but in order to win, you have to get the first zombie and that zombie has to be on the outside.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:08pm

You could transform it in serious game :D

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Pretty fun game, but a little a bit annoying.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:18pm

I wish there was an option to inverse mouse look.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Really, really liked this! Gameplay is simple, but fun and the music and sound effects perfectly support the idea. I even like having to push my way through the crowds. =) More! Better graphics! I think you have a winner on your hands, here!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:58am

Cool Game :D Zombies are still a good idea for every good game... I did it too :D

henrykun says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:00am

Interesting concept, good job!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:49am

YOGO Drugstore, nice. XD
Really liked the idea and a very good effort overall for 48 hours. The crowdwalking and people on each others' heads were weird though.

yosh says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:15am

Great music + really fun = awesome. Too bad it's so hard to move around within all these guys :P
Maybe the theme could have been explored slightly differently... it's a bit easy to just say 'you have only one chance' ^^

Still a very good little game ;)

frogcheese says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:19am

Cool idea, but somewhat wonky physics. It was difficult until I figured out you could just cure a bunch of people until you could afford the immunity vaccines - then it was smooth sailing.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:28pm

It was fairly easy until level 8, then it suddenly got incredibly hard. Nice little entry, not sure if it has a win condition.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Cool concept, I got caught out by the store the first time and was hammering every key on the keyboard to see what was going on. Maybe in the interest of avoiding rage quit, and escape key or something would get rid of the store, but the store 'area' still triggers it? Well done for 48h!

Zener says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:57pm

This game is so fun! The song fits very well too. Congrats!

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Welcome to the land of green people : http://i.imgur.com/wjxK6ir.png
Fast concept and catchy music !

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:22pm

My tips :
-Use the first 2 levels to grind money with controlled spreading of infected
-To cure, go to the isolated zombies first, so they can't spread more (it's easier to cure a bunch of concentred infected)

It's impossible to cure zombie when they got stuck on the shop aera, just push them out of it (thanks to Unity Phsyics !)

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I really really like the concept, however this is really unpolished. You could have done so much more with the graphics and the controls to make this great.

This has great potential, and it's in general a nice entry :)

somepx says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:39am

Interesting entry, original gameplay && good music! :)

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Interesting take on the theme. :)

gene-z says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Very good game,, keep the working and more levels

Croze says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I still remember your bomb defuser project from last ludum dare, good to see you again! Not a bad game, was kind of a pain trying to walk through the crowd, but pretty good overall

sclark39 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:08am

I feel like trying to do a 3d game held you back here and prevented you from fully realizing the design. Moving through the crowd was really difficult with guys teleporting in front of me. It also looked like I was able to just buy as many vaccines as possible. Impressive none the less as I think the amount of work required to make a 3d game in a game jam is substantially more than a 2d game.

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Interesting idea, but its a bit slow. It could do with everything running a bit faster.

supremefist says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Nicely done! Really cool concept, but super difficult moving through a crowd!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Difficulty ramps up too quickly, physics are pretty bad, but otherwise quite fun.

havana24 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:59am

Really nice concept... Maybe you should improve collisions but it's fun anyway! Congrats! :)

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:11am

Themes not really in there cause you start with 10 vaccines, and can buy more. But, the idea is fun, I quickly got overwhelmed. Good Entry

Romaing says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:49pm

I like the concept of virus spreading, it can be very difficult if you wait too long.

Skoggy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Hard to understand what to do really. Cool idea though.

anvoz says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

Good ideas and very cool game. I really enjoyed this.

Zephyr89 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

I don't know how you handled collisions, but there are better ways to do it. Also there is a sharp difficulty spike at level 3.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

I felt like I had to restart every level where I couldn't get the first infected withing the first second.

ViliX says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Impressive music and idea :)

eskivor says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

Is it me or I healed everyone and nothing happens ?

Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:28am

Thank you everyone for the amazing feedback and comments !

@eskivor : you need to cure the red one. After 10 seconds, a civilian get infected and turn red. "You only get one chance" to cure him before he infect more and more citizen ;)

Thanks for the feedback about the collision system ! I know it's a mess, I was under pressure (Got a final exam saturday and lost a day of development)

Since, I've read a lot on how to handle collision and I'm working on a new version of the game :D

Again, I want to thanks everyone that played this game and thank you very much for your feedback, it's very much appreciated !

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:40pm

This is real good.
FPS purge sim?

Impressive for 48 H

!

scoopsy says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Thanks for your comments on my game and article! I like this a lot - pretty frantic to try and cure them in the first few seconds.

Raphy says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Hey nice game, well done ! That collision bug is kindda annoying some times but it's pretty addictive.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Wow fast paced ones you get into it! Good Game!

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:27pm

When I tried to walk into the crowd, everyone started flying and I teleported away. Really hard to navigate that way. The zombie also just started walking away, wasn't actively hunting anyone. The second playthrough went smoother, but dealing with the crowd is annoying.

Zhrack says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I like it! A bit easy if you approach che crowd before the patient zero appear, but nice concept! Collisions also a bit strange...

DangerPenguin says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:35am

Not a bad entry, music and sfx were decent, and most of the suggestion I had were answered in the updated version so good on you. Just add some variance to the level design!

local minimum says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:49am

Because the instructions said I was supposed to vaccinate people from the virus, I ran around for the longest time giving shots to healthy people. As vaccinating the sick shouldn't work. Then, finally as I was about to give up -- I didn't see how my action had any affect, and it was outright impossible to keep track of which grey dude I had previously given a shot, I tried vaccinating the sick. So aside for the oddity of the biology involved (you could develop it into being able to use zombie-blocking medicine for sick and vaccine for healthy in the future though to expand the game. Vaccinate to make grey turn green with some fitting chance e.g. 70%), I think it was a pretty cool game idea and well executed compo entry that could be elaborated into something really nice. E.g. also adding more behaviors to the people and zombies (walking, running, scared, etc).

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:59am

I like how many people are in the crowd. It feels hectic, you want to go ahead and knock out those infected before it gets out of hand. I didn't end up using the store.

mortus says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Quite good for a limited time, I definitely loved the idea and the gameplay, too bad the physics are glitchy sometimes and models are too basic (not bad for 48 hours though). Great entry, good job!

P.S. I don't see a source link too.

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Nicely done! I had some troubles to get to infected people so instead of curing them I helped to spread the virus but this made more fun. :)

Colapsydo says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Throwing syringes with a slingshot is surely a fun idea.
I played till the level 11.
Contamination mechanics was funny and I liked how much liberty the mobs get (I found a zombie almost behind the hospital).
The music is fun and suits well the game.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Was sometimes flung into the air when in the crowd but the idea is good and still quite fun.

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:35am

Nice original game. I like the virus spreading concept.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:17pm

The game really spooked me out. xD I liked the game, although the physics was a bit off for me and the game got really difficult out of no where. The idea is good though, and the audio was nice. Good work!

Elforama says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Fun game, although it was very frustrating when I would get caught on people.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:41pm

I got a little stuck due to the physics engine, but this is fun! Are you developing it further?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]