December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Process Journey

by Lissar - Jam Entry

Process Journey is a first person point and click adventure/visual novel created in Ren'Py. There are six endings to find (though several just add on to one ending). Please play through to get the best ending for the most satisfying experience!

Please tell me if there are any errors so I can squash them as soon as possible. My beta testers can only do so much!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#18Mood(Jam)4.02
#39Overall(Jam)3.82
#51Graphics(Jam)4.28
#123Audio(Jam)3.36
#164Fun(Jam)3.16
#236Theme(Jam)2.85
#247Humor(Jam)2.43
#299Innovation(Jam)2.76

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27am

That was quite enjoyable. Nice art and setting.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:37am

Interesting story! Worth the time I spent playing through and getting two endings. =)

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:38am

nice to see this kind of game in the jam, well done!

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39am

enjoyable is the right word for it. Thank you :D

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49am

Wow, that looks amazing. Found 3 endings so far, will have to keep an eye out for the rest. :)

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51am

It took me a LONG time to realize that clicking on the bottom right was the "go back" command, you should write that somewhere.

But the art is really beautiful and the storytelling is really well done, with a few clever twists that rely on multiple playthroughs. Good work here.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01am

Perhaps in the future I will include a darker bar on the bottom when moused over to indicate you can go back.

Thank you for the comments everyone!

ZXeno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:08am

This was a really good story, and the art was absolutely fantastic. This was really good!

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:14am

Epic game I loved it! The best I've seen so far. The story is complex and perfect, you got five stars in everything with this entry! I love virtual fiction mine is slightly similar but nos as amazing! Fantastic Work!!

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:16am

BTW I got the best ending, I'll be really looking forward to the extended version!! :D

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:13am

There's a 'screeching' noise in the loop that gets pretty irritating.

Really beautiful art.

incobalt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24am

I really enjoyed this. I think I managed to find five endings. Two of the endings were called "Betrayed". Also, if you say you don't know what species you are then she will say that you are an Unknown, which sounded really strange.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:37am

One ending is called "Betrayal", the other is "Betrayed"! (I just checked the code so I know I didn't accidentally make an error). And thanks, I put that in there as a placeholder to fix a bug that occurred when speciestype is not defined, and forgot to change it!

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:43am

Great collection of artwork and story, it's been quite some time since I've played a point and click adventure so it was pretty nostalgic. I got two of the endings but didn't find my way to the best ending (though I was happy with the second one I got :) )

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45am

Very cool! Great art, nicely written, good mood. Looking forward to the expanded version.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46am

I got the best ending on my first try, then got a few others. Although when I told Sehya my species was "dog", she said "oh, you're a Corsean?" I also liked the response when you tell Sehya your name is Sehya! Awesome art, and a cool story, too. The music is simple but really helps set the mood.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:57am

Really? It shouldn't be like that! I'll have to fix that. Thanks for letting me know!

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12am

Fixed the issue and uploaded a new version!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:46pm

An enjoyable and well thought-out point-and-click adventure with a surprising amount of character development.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Very nice, quite enjoyed the story and character design, I was intrigued from the start. Got the best ending on my first playthrough. I think the ending song is a tad blown out though.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Turns out there was another error causing people to get the final ending too easily. But I fixed THAT one now. I guess this is my fault for not knowing the quirks of Ren'Py and not being about to thoroughly test the final product before submission!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:38am

[SPOILERS]
I enjoyed this one a lot, enough to try to get all the endings. I was completely stymied on getting the "good" ending -- I had clicked everything and thought that I had even figured out what I was supposed to do in order to get the best ending, but it wouldn't acknowledge my input. I got so desperate that I looked at the source code, and then I realized that it has bugs that make it impossible to get the good ending (probably introduced when trying to fix the too-easy good ending). The bug is that you can't say

if variable == "a" or "b":

that tests first to see if variable == "a", and if not, tests that "b" is true (which it always will be in Python, I think). So the condition ALWAYS holds. You want to do something like

if variable == "a" or variable == "b":

There are a few instances of this in the code; the first at line 260 (and a few after that) and then again later at like 788. Might have been another one somewhere.

Anyway I guess it's a good review if I'm saying that I liked the game enough to fix bugs in order to win it. :) The sound and graphics were super, in particular.

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:57am

Ugh, thank you so much for figuring that out! I wish I hadn't done variable punctuation in that manner, but I hadn't used Ren'Py before and didn't have time to figure out if there was a better way to handle capitalization (like for example in Ruby). At least I'm getting this stuff figured out for the when I release the polished version next year. You're all beta testers now!

Shigor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:13am

Great art (I wish I was that good :/) and nice little adventure - I found just two endings, but I'll probably try later to get the rest...

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:09am

Very nice, I love the adventure bit applied to visual novels :P

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19am

My first point & clic of this LD! Thanks for that :)
Really enjoyable game, i will probably play it until i have the six endings!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:02am

Good job! The history and the art are amazing :D

Scifer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:33am

Lovely artwork! Well done. Reminds me of those good old adventure games on the C64. :3

zebi24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:00pm

This game creates fantastic mood! It really got me interested in the story. Awesome drawings and music. The story is very deep. Impressive work!

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Not bad! It sets the mood quite well! Felt a bit aimless at times (wasn't sure what I was meant to do), but then again that's a common problem in adventure games. Great one here without a doubt!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:53pm

People who see in darkness as opposed to light, that is nice! Or as the Corsean say: &%$/(&$§

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Really awesome! SPOILERS: I love that you made it so you have to play multiple times, but I'm glad I got the hint in the comments :P Great story, art, SFX, etc. Definitely want to check out your other work!

Several says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:58am

Surprisingly polished for 72 hours! The art, writing and sound fit well together. I'd play more of this.

I seem to have done everything right and gotten the "best ending" the first time. Perhaps because I downloaded it earlier, I ended up with the too-easy build? Everything I did made sense, though... If it really should take multiple plays, I'm not sure I'd have enjoyed it quite as much. Will have to try a more recent build later.

Other, random nits (which may have been fixed?):

The initial menu seemed a little too dark, like something between states.

I think I spotted a few missing words early on. Can't recall where, unfortunately--it was before I actually got to clicked around the island.

The options menu seemed oddly arranged, somewhat difficult to tell what things were about.

I was a bit thrown off by the lack of a cursor-change or indication of what was clickable. Ditto for the click-on-the-bottom to go back. (I tried clicking near the other edges, not-quite-low-enough-at-first, apparently, and pressing escape, then space, before clicking randomly until success.)

Lissar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:01am

Thanks for the feedback! A lot of those things I will be changing in a later version, though it would be too many changes to make on the jam release. I didn't spend any time changing the default Ren'Py UI, which is why it is so frustrating for many, I think. It wasn't built for this sort of game in mind.

Enneract says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Fantastic and enjoyable game :) I loved the visuals.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:09am

Fun and solid entry. Nice mood and atmosphere. I got the "not enough" ending. I will bookmark to try some more.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:28am

Great art, story, and the mood was set exceptionally well. I have to say I really enjoyed my time with this game.

hbocao says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I'm not a fan of the visual novel games, but I really enjoyed this one. The setting is great and graphics are so beautiful. Great entry, Lissar!

steamgirl says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Really enjoyed it! Beautiful game, full of atmosphere! Unfortunately I had to cheat to get the good ending. I kept thinking I must have missed something in the scene because when I asked Sehya for advice she kept telling me to keep looking. Maybe after you have examined the scene fully there could be a different response. ;)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:43pm

This is very atmospheric! The sounds are textured to suit the art, the story is intriguing, and I'm left wanting more. Very nice work!

I'd love to see more of this project if it continues to grow post comp. I would like to ask that, if it does, to investigate ways to re-use your backgrounds with overlay character images (instead of duplicating full screen images) to reduce the overall size of the game.

Thank you for making this, and good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]