December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Birds with One Stone

by PunyOne - Jam Entry

An interactive story (more story, less interactive).

Sound is absolutely necessary (did not manage to put subtitles there in time).

The game may behave quirky if the focus is lost at some point.

Built in Haxe, exported to Flash.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#288Audio(Jam)2.79
#313Theme(Jam)2.64
#341Humor(Jam)2.07
#349Mood(Jam)2.68
#380Innovation(Jam)2.54
#437Graphics(Jam)2.54
#531Overall(Jam)2.13
#535Fun(Jam)1.71
#965Coolness49%

Comments

the says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:37am

This game so slowly. Blurring is also not best decision.

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:00am

A bit... non-interactive as a game for my taste. But love the audio, few games have used it like this.

sprawl says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:37pm

It's the first game i see that ludum dare that tells its story like that, love it.

However, It took a little too long for my taste.
Also, the audio keep going when the game is paused.

Good job !

drkrunk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Good job, but I think the beginning drags on a little too long.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:09pm

You have a very sleep inducing voice :) The intro is really too long, I would have gotten to the point faster, and with slimmer dialogue. But the concept itself is interesting.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Too long for me... However good job for this work!

Dyn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Like this art a lot and concept also.
More interaction in the game will make it much better.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Lol only criticisms I have were already said, love the idea tho!

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Very moody. I wish you would have talked a little bit louder, it was hard to follow a times :) (I'm a non-native english speaker)

goerp says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I love the idea, quite original and it has the right mood. Good take on the theme. Here you really had only one.
It would have helped if you had a voice artist for this.
It was a bit too long for me, too long to try if I could do it differently.
But then again, playing it only once fits the theme.

PunyOne says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Thanks a lot for the kind comments :).

It was our first submission to LD in general, now we see that the length of the game is quite burdensome.

Next time we would exchange the run-time for more experimental approach.

Jan Marcano says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:44am

Its a good idea, nice one.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]