December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroid Bust

by Glockenspiel - Jam Entry

You only get one bullet, and each wave you have to destroy one Asteroid. With random generation of sounds and Asteroids. Made in less than 24hrs. No install required, just launches from the .exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Audio(Jam)2.89
#412Theme(Jam)2.33
#444Fun(Jam)2.37
#457Graphics(Jam)2.44
#467Overall(Jam)2.50
#468Mood(Jam)2.20
#490Innovation(Jam)2.17
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24am

I can't get the game to launch. It gets stuck on launch and I can't even kill the process in the background, so need a reboot to flush it :(

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20am

So you just lose if you miss a shot, right? That kind of killed the fun for me after I realized that. I never got my bullets back after missing a shot. I really liked the gameboy-esque chiptunes though, they really helped the experience.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:44am

Controls are pretty good. I also like the variation in the sound effects. makes a repetetive task feel way less monotonous.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:50am

Solid controls and graphics, but yeah I'm not a huge fan of the 'one-shot' mechanic in a lot of these Ludum Dare games. I'd like to see the take on theme in a different way.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:54am

Doesn't launch for me too. I double click the icon, and absolutely nothing happens.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:58am

Not getting your bullet back after you fail a wave kinda negates the point of the health bar. It adds some unnecessary lag time till the next attempt. I am cool with one failure games so long as I can reset immediately after the failure.

Glockenspiel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:31am

I'm currently trying to port the game to other platforms. Hopefully the game will launch for everyone when I've finished it or at least work in the webplayer.

koe415 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:00am

Pretty addictive game play! The background music adds a lot along with the sound fx. My only issue is that after awhile, the game play can get repetitive. Ended up with a top score a little over 20k! Awesome work!

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:43pm

It doesn't work :(

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:08pm

I cant play :(

Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I wasnt really sure how to do this correctly with one bullet... but I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/mLdQN8xdVMY

psc1997 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:35pm

23563 score ^^
Good music, and gameplay too ! ;)
Addicting game :P

Tanser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]