December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Our Last Hat

by Berzee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A webgame about three wizards sharing a hat. (Because everyone knows wizards can only cast spells when they're wearing a hat)! Made with HTML5 + Phaser. I hope you like it!

Still somewhat buggy; if the entire level disappears for no reason, simply reach for 'F5'. :P

Controls: WASD/Arrows to move, SHIFT to use magic. Click Left Mouse Button to give the hat to another wizard. (See in-game help for better instructions).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#105Theme3.65
#223Innovation3.35
#323Graphics3.26
#389Fun3.00
#400Humor2.47
#452Overall3.06
#506Mood2.74
#606Audio2.28
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21am

Takes me right back to the Lost Vikings... Man that was a great game...
Good work, only problem I saw was the White Wizard decided to climb up a wall at one point.

embero says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15am

I really like the idea and love those kind of puzzlers.
Mini-Trine!

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Great game. The puzzles were pretty nice.

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:40pm

The mechanic and puzzle is interesting. Would love to play more level with this gameplay :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Fun game. I'm not a big puzzler fan but this was nicely executed, good job. :)

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Nice game!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Yeah, wizards rocks! ;)

Nice game, difficult to make, with those mechanics and AI..

I saw your post when you wrote about your idea for the game and I was like: man, how did we came up with the same ideas...
Our games turned out very different tho... :)

Bogden says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:22am

Neat idea. Good puzzles, nice tiles.

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50am

Thanks for all the comments so far, all. :)

It's funny that most of you mention puzzles, since at the time I considered this to be more of a "panicking about panicked wizards" action game -- but it sounds like the light puzzling was a hit :D so I may have to give that closer consideration when I add more levels and more polish.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:42am

Very nice take on the theme. I figured this theme would create a lot of puzzle games, and this is the best I've seen so far.

sanojian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Fun game. The first puzzle was a little hard to start. Could have started with super simple on to introduce the game concepts. Good job!

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Very good idea! I loved that controlling one is done with the hat (gives 'controlling one' a bit explination). The second/third level was a bit frustrating due to the AI killing themselves sometimes. Overall though the AI was pretty smart in that they could walk to the exit and (mostly) avoid pools/enemies, so that saved some time. Nice job.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I enjoyed this, I was very stressed at what my wizards were doing!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Sweet pixel art! :)

anvoz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:13pm

I think the concept was really good on the first and the second levels which clearly categorized the game as a puzzle game.

But the third level turned the game into an action game. I don't know if there is any good strategy for this level but it's really hard to handle 3 wizards. I finally finished this level but didn't remember how. Two wizards just automatically moved to the top left corner and safely got stuck there.

If you are going to design more levels for this game, please focus on the puzzling part :)

johnfn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Very nice job. Just needs a little bit of polish (animations, more sound effects, stuff like that). I like the concept a lot though :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:07am

Just some advice -- too long help causes that most of people don't bother to read it.. next time try to optimize the length ;) I liked this, but I thought that wizards are smart and aren't constantly trying to kill themselves :D

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Neat gameplay mechanics and really nice pixel art - the gameplay reminds me a little of Thomas Was Alone. Nice entry - rated highly. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]