December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stabby Slimes

by suoraviiva - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pink slimes have dug up pointy weaponry somewhere and they are now out to end your gelatinous existence! How awful! Especially when you ONLY GET ONE LIFE.

This is my first finished entry! Yay! I had to cut my original idea, which was that you only get one piece of loot during an rpg level, but at least I got something together.

Made in Java with libgdx. Graphics in Photoshop. Sounds in sfxr. Music in inudge.net.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1571Coolness22%

Comments

suoraviiva says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:23am

Desktop version is available at http://argontus.wandurr.com/ld28/stabby_slimes_v0.1_by_suoraviiva.jar

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33am

In the web player, attacking doesn't work unless I also hold down shift. I keep dying from the first enemy.

laaph says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

Slime Forest Adventure!

suoraviiva says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22am

mtinkerhess: Works for me in Chrome. What browser are you using?

suoraviiva says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59pm

There seems to be a bug in the WEB version that sometimes throws the player and / or camera off by a lot. I suggest to try the JAR if the web version doesn't work.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:38pm

The gameplay is poor, some bugs. But with good graphics, the game coulb be better! Thought good job.

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Good idea, but too difficult to be enjoyable. I can't survive the first enemy.

Gear says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Sometimes I get this "Warning! Turn back!" message, and I can't get out of it, and a slime kills me while it greys out the screen.

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:35pm

This is very difficult! The only thing saving you is luck essentially, since the monsters hit at the fastest speed you can hit. Maybe make the monsters hit slower than you and maybe turn slower? That way you could "flank" them and at least have some tactic to killing them. Glad to hear some proper sound effect though!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Stabby times; I killed 8 innocent things :) When I played the web version the first time everything was grey and I could hear sounds but just died really fast, then it said press 'R' to retry - after that everything was normal. Well done on your first Ludum Dare (I hope next time you can get far enough along to include your theme idea - or better yet have the theme mechanic/charcter/rules/whatever present from the very start! ;))

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]