December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Visible Hand

by Reverend Speed - Jam Entry

You are a troubleshooter brought in to deactivate a rogue military R&D computer running a marketing program - causing it to create killer clones!

Breech the facility, activate the doors at the sparking console and find the drill parts needed to open the console and turn off the computer...

...but beware the clone! You have only one enemy, but every time it returns it will be smarter and more deadly...!

CONTROLS
Cursor keys to move, left ctrl to shoot! Pick up drill pieces by walking over 'em.

==========================================================

Designer notes! (Spoilersersis)

So, done in time and as opposed to Approaching Ten http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/comment-page-1/?action=preview&uid=27066 I was fairly happy and motivated the whole time.

No sound, but I think I did fairly well on the other factors, tbh.

I do tend to go for overly ambitious Jam designs, which I must must must curb in future. That said, some fun code here - I think my learning, stalking monstrosity has further potential.

Enjoy!

--Rev

PS: Oh, of course, source code available on request!

PPS: More than a tech demo, indeed. =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#201Mood(Jam)3.08
#262Graphics(Jam)3.23
#317Fun(Jam)2.73
#401Theme(Jam)2.36
#403Innovation(Jam)2.46
#403Humor(Jam)1.81
#410Overall(Jam)2.74

Comments

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18am

Cool idea. Unfortunately it was a bit too easy to really notice that the clone became more dangerous. It looked like he exploded a few times without me shooting and I'm not sure why.

Nice use of lighting. You made a really cool scene with very minimal assets.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:01pm

That was neat! I liked the design of the level, it made me feel like I was sneaking around a high security server room or something. A bit short and could probably use some more polish, but overall a fun experience!

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Cool game ! Even if the challenge wasn't so satisfying, the motion of the character and the visual style are cool ! It reminds a bit of The Real Texas. It's really smooth/

WojWorks says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:34pm

A fun little game. A bit basic for a top down shooter, but still fun.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:45am

Wow- surprisingly tense! I'm a big scaredy. >_>

pkenney says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:12am

Cool atmosphere! I would have liked this even more if it was tougher. Nice job weaving the tutorial content into the playing.

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I like the concept, but the game felt a little too slow for me. Controls are really smooth though.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Thanks for testing the game out, folks! I'm a little disappointed that the level design doesn't effectively expose what's cool about the game, but I only had a few hours at the end to make the environment. Ah well - definitely taking this forward!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:56pm

too short and the whole collect x things to open is boring as hell. but nice enough work with unity.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:28pm

(I'm not sure if my comments went thru so sorry if it's a double post) I like the graphics / atmosphere of the game. The gameplay is interesting and the power up is a nice touch ! Great game :)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:40am

Short and easy, the visual style was nice as well (but sometimes hard for the eyes). Overall, good effort!

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I liked the style!

pixelissue says ...
Jan 25, 2014 @ 8:29pm

It would be great to look at your source code :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]