December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Misfight

by dudsen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Added Post Compo Version for the sake of it. More brawl, bottles and rubber ducks!

Keyboard for input, Beware of CAPSLOCK! Hope you are fast in typing. Pretty hard in the beginning, but eventually rewarding.

Some stuff missing, still buggy and whatnot. Play it, hate it, rate it.
Hopefully it made you smile at least once ;)

Yeah right the theme/story:

The most awesome band is in town, however there is this guy who starts a fight, and the only magical power you get from drinking too much is a bottle-ish "HADOKEN!"
At least this is what you remember of the night the next morning.
Eventually it could be as simple as "I drank to much and wasnt able to punch this guy, so instead i threw bottles" .

Use your only ability wisely (i.e: Type as fast as you can the words which appear in the lower left corner to defend yourself)

Inspired by the old SFII fireball battles i had with friends back then.

Have fun, and may the typing speed be with you. You'll need it.

.dudsen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#97Humor3.43
#190Graphics3.63
#281Audio2.93
#314Mood3.03
#365Fun3.05
#584Innovation2.78
#584Overall2.91
#877Theme2.12

Comments

CTATZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

I really loved the concept! It was super fun. Wish there was more however.

Manou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58am

very good concept & graphics

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20pm

"You hit a guy with a bottle within 4.45 seconds and you don't even know why". Brilliant.

I don't see what this has to do with the theme. It's neat, but quite short.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nice graphics.
Don't know how it relates to the theme

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51am

Funny game, not sure what the tie in to the theme was other than you have one attack (beer?)
Very short, wish there where more opponents!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:19am

It's funny that i can't stop laugh. Too bad that it's too short.

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:22am

I suck at this game ... lol. I enjoyed it tough even if it was very brief.

dudsen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Hi guys,
thanks for playing and dropping the comments! Yeah, game is pretty hectic, haven't had the time for tuning or adding another character. Spend a full night on painting the sprite sheets. Never done that before, and lost too much time.
Wish it was longer with some challenges though.

Theme is about "getting only one attack" for fighting... Thought it would be more recognizable. If it isn't, sorry for that. After a while being so close to a thing it's hard to judge if people get something you held for obvious all the time. Could be the lack of sleep o_O

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Reminds me of Typing of the Death, very neat. Good graphics!! Too hard!! (For me) SFII rulez!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:14pm

ultra cool presentation. cool sounds... good idea... type fighting :D But it is very challenging for me and my laptop keyboard ^^ Well done...

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Beerdouken! Nice artwork and funny concept, well done!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:33am

It's really fun and I like the graphics but I don't know how it relates to the theme

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:08pm

It was well executed but I wish there was more content, I kept winning at ~6sec. Typing challenges should be harder when you expect coders to play it :P.

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:39pm

@Nelien: Hah, ~6 seconds is pretty good. Other people say the opposite. You should have seen the first version. Broke the letter "D" on my keyboard. No shit :D
As I mentioned in the comments before, the deadline was forcing me to cut the stuff i wanted to implement in the first place. Wanted to polish this one a bit more. My roommate suggested network play, lets see if i get this stuff done as well. Ok playing more games now... Next up: yours :)

Rothens says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Excellent work ^^

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Awesome fun. I found it a bit too hard to keep up though! Awesome tunes too.

Joror says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Needs more words, more soundeffects (when failing or succeeding), and a difficulty setting for those who flail at typing. ;)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:38am

Really enjoyed this! Slick product, really superb graphically and the sounds was fantastic - perfect bar room brawl music and it really had atmosphere. I wish I could have enjoyed the sprites a bit more - i was too busy looking at the target text to really take them in. Perhaps some kind of "action slo mo replay" of your final bottle to the chops would have clinched the deal?

pjchardt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:52am

Oh man do I suck at typing! Love the graphics. Could not get anywhere in the game though, not sure if it is too hard or I am really bad at typing. My typing martial arts style is hunt and peck. Enjoy the concept nonetheless!

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:50am

The graphics were super cool, loved the overall style here! Winning wasn't very clear though, played the game a bunch of times before I noticed the text saying I'd hit the guy with a bottle. Thought I was losing!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:09pm

A bit quick to complete, but a solid entry. :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:56pm

As someone who enjoys playing fighting games a lot, I found this extremely hilarious. The game was ridiculously addictive too (although the audio quality could be better).

occash says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I can't write so fast! But it a very good concept, I like everything-sounds, graphics and idea! Very good job!

dudsen says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Hey guys, thanks for the criticism. For the most part I'm aware of what should be improved, but, you know, time constraints, 48h, etc ;)

@ Joror : yep totally right. All this should have been there. That was before I realized I had only 1h left to submit my game and there wasn't any sound at all in it... DOH!

@ jimmypaulin : Gotcha! Nice idea there! Will put some more work in this

Sorry for the typing speed. It should have some difficult level. For people that cant type a bit faster it is probably impossible to play :(

van noctar says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:20am

Very good concept! It's very difficult when the words are long!

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Great entry! Enjoyed a lot. I really like the fighter's animations :)

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:37pm

LOL - this is awesome. Lovin' the Misfits-soaked influence and you totally nailed the 'crummy bar fight meets Street Fighter with typing' genre.

My best time is 8.3 seconds

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:36pm

love a good typing game. i liked the fight poster description, really set the theme. wish there was more going on, but this is a jam game! might try the post-compo version after judging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]