December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

(You Only Get One) Friend

by cbear_wallis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I had a lot of fun making this game. I was able to explore my skills at narrative like I never have before. The game I have submitted is best played in browser and has certain rogue-like elements. The game explores the feelings around not being sure of your decisions...I hope everyone likes it <3


*note* if you play the desktop version please keep it windowed since there is no way to close the window if it is fullscreen <3

**note** the source is the entire unity project assets and all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#105Mood3.50
#143Audio3.28
#244Graphics3.45
#313Theme3.20
#538Innovation2.85
#622Overall2.85
#948Fun2.00
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

ntaso says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53am

First: The narrative is nice.

But: Are you sure it works? Because it feels weird and I don't get it. At first I thought the title switching thing cycling through friend/enemy/etc. has anything to do with the game. Apparently not.

So, then I see these people talking, which, btw. is waaaaaay to slow. I read 10x faster and it annoys the heck out of me. Sometimes, if I hit return on the title screen, the first person starts talking right away. I can't distinguish whether the speech ended or not, because the Return key makes them talk again.

What I think how it works: You get a description of your friend. You have to find him or her. But it is unclear how you actually select your friend and if it's negative to let them all talk to you or not.

Your game would benefit a lot from:
- Clear instructions
- Faster faaaaaster text
- Make it clear when a dialogue ends and when I get to select somebody
- Retry button? Is this necessary? I thought so, if you get only one chance to select somebody.

Confusing.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:49pm

@ntaso thanks so much for the feedback! This was a really big experiment and I've never done anything like this. That being said, I can totally understand all of your concerns. I might keep working on it and I'll fix all of these things. Thank you again <3

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I enjoyed it, good concept. Faster text and a retry button would be good as already said. And so the night goes on!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03pm

in Update():
if(Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Escape)) {
Application.Quit();
}

Just saying :)

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Good job...the narrative and the ambient is great.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Very interesting concept to explore. Dialog choices and being able to speed up text would make this a much more engaging and interesting game. Nice work!

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:28pm

@postmodestie Yes I'm aware of how to program in unity

Marcellus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38am

I liked the idea but it's true that the text shows too slowly

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08am

yeah i have it fixed now but not in the build that is up unfortunately :(

xrm0 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice concept. The text goes too slow.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:46pm

As it's already been said, the text goes soooo slow. The idea is interesting. I feel like it's a bit sad, but interesting.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:29am

Really cute, wish the text did go faster, but good job over all! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/OVru4uI3W-s

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:38am

This game seemed really nice, but I dont know how to select my friend, and again, the text is slow for me.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:47pm

thanks @Jupiter_Hadley and thanks to everyone who commented >.< <3

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I really like the idea behind this - one of the more unique uses of theme I've seen and it really does make you think about how some choices are made, sometimes with less thought than they should be. Nice job!

Kohijin says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Very interesting concept... like the narrative and mood, but the characters feel very bit alien at the same time. Also who am I to "choose" a friend? Maybe overthinking it a bit, but that comes with the theme of your game I guess ;)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:30pm

This is by far the most interesting entry I've played so far, it stands out simply by feeling quite personal - not sure if that's true or not but nonetheless it's definitely my sort of game. Rated 5 stars for audio and mood. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]