December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

My Last Pocket

by marccspro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"My Last Pocket", you have a place for only one item in your last pocket. If you take out the item you lose it. Be carefull.

====================
Controls:

WASD to move.
SPACE to use.

Items will get in your pocket if you are on it.
====================
My Last Pocket is a game made by Marccspro in Java and LWJGL.

This is my second entry to the Ludum Dare but this time I had
a challenge. It's been 6 month seens my first line of code and I wented to finish Ludum Dare.
Last time a made the game inside of Unity.

I am French.

Code: Java + LWJGL
Arts: Paint.NET
Sounds: Bfxr
Music: http://tones.wolfram.com/generate/advanced.html?generator

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#293Theme3.24
#489Graphics2.95
#492Audio2.53
#523Mood2.71
#766Overall2.67
#920Fun2.10
#948Innovation2.00
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I like it. I'd like a way to hurt the bats, but I'm just violent.

Music is nice, but the bat sounds are quite abrasive.

TheFumelgo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Apparently, we can exprim our violence on the bats :D Great game :D

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I like it but...i'm lost in the cave!... Hehehe

voltorben says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38pm

couldn't launch on OS X 10.9 :(
(jar file just doesn't open when i double click)

Satwa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25am

Java 7 obligatory @voltorben

Satwa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26am

I love your game :D

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:14am

Good job on the sound and lighting, it creates a real feel. I wandered around trying to find an exit, but no luck.

I also punched a few bats, but after you fill your pocket SPACE uses your one item instead of punching, and I was reluctant to use it so I could punch more. I found I had a healing potion, full health, and then I'd run into bats guarding a healing potion. They weren't aggressive, so I just passed them by in peace.

Was this a piece about discovering the futility of violence?

marccspro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:45am

Originaly I wented make de bats chasse you but I didn't have the time to do it so the bats are here to make the game more challenging.

Nichii says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:11pm

The background music is nice, but the sound effect hurts my ear, so the audio rating suffers a bit. Other than that, the game was okay.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:27pm

On Ubuntu 13.04 I get the following error:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path


Looks like lwjgl isn't packaged in the .jar?

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:30pm

i get a crash when trying to launch the jar (on osx)

marccspro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:40pm

uploading a fixe now.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:47am

Audio gets a bit wonky at times, and the game could use some overall polishing, but I still think it's pretty neat, and I enjoyed playing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]