December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Have One Key

by Clayblob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions are in game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#202Innovation3.39
#248Theme3.33
#436Fun2.94
#491Overall3.00
#720Mood2.44
#908Graphics2.00
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:54pm

An interesting concept, and quite unique - a one key platformer where you can control which direction you go in. The instructions are somewhat hard to understand, but it is all in all good.

Mutt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:59am

Not too bad. Didn't like the concept at first but then I started having fun figuring out how to get around the levels. It's surprisingly tricky, somehow my mind didn't want to let go to go left after jumping, lol.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Tricky and challenging..could be abit more colorfull. But overall a nice entry :)

Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:29pm

i liked the concept.. found it abit tricky at first but one i got used to it i enjoyed it ..well done man :)

Novodantis says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Simple and easy to play, although it quickly gets very hard. Jumping left in particular felt like a mental reprogram. Overal a nice implementation of the one-button mechanic.

epb9000 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:18pm

That was quite clever. I fail it a lot on a couple of the levels. Darn skulls.

poland3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:07pm

interesting level idea good job

Citiral says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:29pm

I loved it :) I'm a huge fan of frustration platformers, so this was just the game for me :) From the intro, I thought to myself "Oh, yet another 1 button game" but i've never seen it being done this way, it was pretty innvating.

crazyrems says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:03pm

This is so hardcore, I have not enougth skills and time to finish this game, but it's really well made.
You just need more graphics & sounds.

stefan says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Your game has a nice concept, even though it was a little hard to master it for me. Maybe you could have improved the instructions: I found them hard to understand and in to many small boxes. But since this is a game jam and therefore about concepts, this is a very nice entry :)

jprogman says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:23am

Heh, interesting, yet funny, on how you control. Press and hold an arrow key to move right and double-press a key to jump. A little awkward, but adaptable.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]