December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monogon

by Rscar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Monogon.

Platformer block-placing fun. WASD/Space to move, point and click to place a block; get to the end of the level without falling off the world or landing on spikes.

Created with LibGDX, Photoshop, and sfxr (also wolfram tones if the music suddenly decides to work...the game is currently sans tunes). Currently executable .jar is the only format available, sorry if java gives you any trouble...

Hope you enjoy, thank you for taking a look!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#71Theme3.75
#84Graphics3.96
#109Fun3.53
#122Innovation3.58
#127Overall3.58
#242Mood3.17
#606Audio2.28
#716Humor1.75

Comments

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05am

Great art style, interesting and challenging game play. The spikes could be more visible, was a little confused the first time i died. Shame about the music.

Kruithne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

Love it, simple and fun.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:09am

I really liked the art and the design was clever! Nicely done!

Rscar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

@Piat Thank you! And yeah the spikes are kinda minimalistic haha, sorry about that. Thanks for the play/comment!

@Kruithne Thanks!

mr.isaer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15am

i like it), very cool art

aeveis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

Very nice, I got to the third level, it got pretty difficult trying to place blocks while jumping long distance (felt like the distance to jump was too long underneath on of those islands).

Rscar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22am

Thank you all for the positive feedback!

@aeveis It is challenging but I promise it's doable haha. I originally wanted to implement some more elements to be able to make it more of a puzzler rather than just a tech-skill game, but time was running short during level design so I had to make it challenging somehow!

Conflei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

Simple and fun but the spikes are so similar with the grass.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30am

I love your art! :D

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36am

Nice, I really enjoyed it! :-) Sometimes I died because of spikes - making them more visible || letting the player see his "grave" for few seconds would be great.. But overall it's nice and polished.

Spit Tex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:23am

Great game, one improvement I could see though is to add a checkpoint system so that when the player dies at a certain challenge they can easily get back to it without having to cross the whole level again, but apart from that a great title.

ben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:19am

Cool! I liked the block placing mechanic alot. I wished the spikes were a bit more obvious and the jumping mechanic could definitely have been tweaked to be a bit more fun.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:21am

Very solid entry. One of the best.

Mutt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38am

Wow! I really like the idea here. The art too -- I've seen a lot of entries with simple black and white art but it really looks nice here. The gameplay reminds me of minecraft, actually, except you can only place one block at a time, lol. A little frustrating as it is, but some real potential.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:08am

Great art, and really nice gameplay.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:11am

This is frustratingly hard. This is annoyingly hard. WAYYYY TOOO FUCKING HARDDDD!

Its too bad I have to rate it well because it makes me want to strangle whoever programmed this!

Rscar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15am

@vanaficionado Mission accomplished!

Thank you all for the feedback, both positive and negative, it is much appreciated! Sorry, I know the difficulty is pretty up there...can't say it wasn't intentional though ;)

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:16am

Very nice, love it!

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:20am

Looks good, plays smoothly, well done. Good theme too!

afterisk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03am

Awesome style and very creative controls! Fun to play!

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03am

Good puzzle game! Funny!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06am

Loved the mechanic. It was fun attempting to figure out the best method for making the distances. Solid controls.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

Stylish art, and simple but fun gameplay. The third level is tricky!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

Very well executed concept!! Liked this one!

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

I liked this game. It had solid gameplay and I liked the graphics also. I'm not too good at these sort of things so I gave up after the first save point (?). Still great game.

Mr.Cassels says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23am

Nice game! realy tricky, just the way I like it. graphics are beauteful and machanic is creative and fun, but could have used more puzzelish levels to get the most out of it.
tied with one fork dinner for best polish I've seen so far.

verdict: added it to my games folder right away!

jongtao says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:37am

The art is really good. I know these games are rushed, but I wished there was ambient noise or music of some sort to match the visuals.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:57pm

This game needs more ratings! Perhaps ditch the .jar and go for something web enabled next time? Aside from that - excellent art direction and I enjoy the block mechanic. Great work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Nice mechanic, cool with the theme, good graphical presentation, minimalistic but effective sounds. Likesy!

Citsua says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Great art and idea !

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06pm

This makes an awesome puzzle game!
But am I not supposed to be able to place blocks while in air? I got really stuck at the place where I am standing on a block before spikes and have nowhere to jump without placing a block while jumping..

Rscar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26pm

@theholychicken Thank you! Try jumping and placing a block while you're in midair, cool things might happen :)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:31am

Interesting mechanic you have going here. too bad you couldn't get music because that would have risen your game to new heights!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:09am

interesting game. sort of reminds me of 'blocks that matter'. well presented.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Quite a lot of different scenarios from the main mechanic, nice job utilizing the potential of the idea with the level design instead of just throwing it out there.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:50am

Lovely art style. The music didn't work for me but I extracted it from the .jar and played it on loop in Windows Media Player. (I also took a quick look at the code, as I used libgdx too, but I couldn't see any reason why the music shouldn't play! The only difference I have is I use .ogg files, and I've not yet tried adjusting my music volume in code. weird :s )

I beat the all three levels with 52 deaths - most of which were me trying to start level 3 by going right onto the only platforms I could see! :)

A fine game, well done!

ashen says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Really good puzzler. Nice graphic style. The theme usage is a great idea too. The mechanics are simple but give a lot of scope for puzzle solving, well done!

Rscar says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:12pm

@Dry Tree You're an awesome person! Thanks for the play/comments/extra!

SaintHeiser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:50am

Good game idea and theme interpretation. But controls are weird. Because of camera always moving it's hard to "catch" block places.
But good work anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]