December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet LD-28

by Tragon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your robot arrived on the distant planet LD-28. There seem to be other robots around.
The transmitter was damaged while landing. You only get one frame per second.
The objective is to find any artifacts and analyze anomalies on the planet.

-------------------

Features:
- You only get one FPS
- Random world generation around the player
- Many parameters for balancing can be set
- Feedback after your death to alter the settings according to your performance

(There is no actual win condition)

-------------------

Controls:

Mouse - to look around and shoot
WASD - to move
M - to mute the sound
ESC - to go back to the option menu

-------------------

Used Tools:

Unity

Grafics:
Photoshop

Sound:
sfxr
Bosca Ceoil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#147Theme3.54
#151Innovation3.51
#462Humor2.31
#644Audio2.13
#729Graphics2.46
#791Mood2.31
#931Overall2.38
#938Fun2.05

Comments

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

It looks interesting, but lags way to much :/

Tragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37am

Since you only get one FPS, thats how it should be ;)

But if you mean real lag (Camera not smooth, Particles lagging),
try disabling the "Use lighting with flashlights" option.

icedmetal57 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27am

Very interesting use of the theme. I no longer take my FPSes for granted after having played this. :) Having to predict where enemies are going and shooting at 1 FPS was kind of hard.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:39am

Haha "lags way too much" :] Love the idea of 'one'frame per second. It worked quite well, although my head wanted to burst after playing it for a while. The music is, well, not that good. Thanks!

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54am

Frustratingly interesting :) The options screen was a nice touch, but there needs to be some sort of goal.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:33am

Very interesting take on the theme, haven't seen games built around the idea of 1 fps. Nice work!

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36am

Haha never thought I'd see lag advertised as a feature! Not sure how well it works from an enjoyment point of view, but I found it a thoroughly interesting idea. Nice ;)

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:37am

Interesting concept! Not sure how to evolvethis idea further, but you used the theme in a really clever way!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43am

This was very stange that it was goo that you tried something diffrent.

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:37am

1 FPS was a very interesting idea on how to use the theme. Haven't ever seen that before. Everything worked great. Awesome game!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

Interesting concept but I think a lifetime of getting arsey about framerates has made my mind just want to scream when a game is choppy :)

Thingus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28am

Good spin on the theme, made me giggle.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:17pm

It's interesting, but not really fun. Nice graphics and sounds, but too much options, it's a bit frustrating. Nice try thoought.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Didn't read the 1 FPS before playing and was was extremely annoyed. Now knowing about the 1 fps as your hook, I am still extremely annoyed by it.

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20pm

1 FPS... I'm so glad you didn't create that game for LD 27 (Theme: "10 seconds") xD

For a game, there are a bit too many adjustable parameters...
Maybe use difficulty presets, and add a customizable one. It's just that I prefer to play games the way they have been designed... without "modding"

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

This is infuriating addictive and fun. Also nice use of the theme!

Nancybeast says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

A very interesting take on the theme, haha. I was confused at first but this is a very different and ultimately fairly enjoyable game.

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Hm, nothing happened for me. I see my robot, run around and nothing happens. But I also didn't see any text on the menus, which I had on other Unity games. I will therefore not rate, but it looks like an interesting game.

dementor561 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

eh

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Fascinating. I never would have thought of doing only 1FPS. Very good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I definitely enjoyed it more after a little argument with a button in the options screen!
Interesting idea though.

Was there an win-condition?

Tragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:50pm

No, there isn't any win condition. Edited the description.
Only feedback afterwards, functioning as a score and to alter the settings according to your skill if you were very bad or a bit better.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46am

Whoa what a crazy game! Thought it was lag at first but realised it was part of the gameplay :P

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:47am

Ha! Nice. 1FPS
Great idea

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:35pm

One frame per second haha nice implementation of the theme ;) Original !

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Haha, I thought having one frame per second would be a terrible idea but it turned out ok! It felt like I was remote controlling the robot from a far away location and therefore had only limited data (hence the 1 FPS). Overall a cool concept!

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Very interesting concept. Nice take on the theme. Leads to a lot of spray and pray gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]