December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Life, One Baby

by Kyle Mac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"You only got one baby life to live!"

One Life, One Baby is an action platformer starring Mr. Baby, the baddest baby of all time. Shoot aliens and defeat the final boss to save the world and avenge your parents' death.

My apologies to anyone that is offended by a baby smoking and shooting aliens. Admittedly, it's a really dumb joke.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#164Humor3.17
#170Audio3.19
#298Graphics3.32
#737Theme2.45
#756Mood2.38
#802Fun2.39
#825Overall2.58
#965Innovation1.94

Comments

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:44pm

hmm I can't get the game to shoot, but im playing it in a windows VM on macos so maybe the alt key doesn't work for me

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Hard as balls to get down from boxes without geeting shot. Music and audio recordings are great!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Pretty good graphics, and I liked the voice acting. It added some extra humor to the game. As for the game itself - quite hard - unforgiving yet quite fun to play. The crazyass music fitted right in!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31am

The baby was pretty cool with the sunglasses and all. I could picture him riding a motorcycle with a shotgun protecting John Connor.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41pm

The gravity was a bit weird. But love the art of your game!

multikorv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59pm

It is a bit slow when switching context. Maybe make it possible to skip the transitions would work. Quite nice graphics.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Those guys don't stop shooting at me :/ nice graphics

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

It's a hard game to play for sure but it made me laugh more than once. I especially enjoyed the various catch phrases when you start. Nice entry.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:11am

I can't get it to run. The game closes out immediately. Is there anything I can do to get try to get it run?

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:23am

@McDonaldsWizard The first thing that comes to mind is that you may have an old version of Java. Update Java on your computer and then try running it again.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:39am

HILARIOUS. Loved it. I did find a little glitch, though. If you stand immediately adjacent to something that your bullet will hit, you basically have a machine gun. It'll fire continuously and immediately practically tearing apart those aliens. :P (Also you can stand on their heads. XD )

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:43am

@Scipio Xaos Very observant, though I kept the rapid firing in the game intentionally and actually designed much of the game around that mechanic. Did you notice the wall of bullets in front of the final boss? That was put there so you wouldn't be able get close enough to use the rapid fire on the boss.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:00am

Pretty tough. I like the art style! I'm always amazed at what can be done with Java these days.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:02am

It's a fine joke why would we be offended? :) This is OLD school difficulty! And I'm old enough to remember Spectrum ZX games :P

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:13am

@Christina I just wanted to apologize in advance mostly because smoking is a touchy subject and a baby smoking a cigarette is pretty messed up if you think about it too hard.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:17am

i got to the boss and beat it, but i think he may have been broken. his shots were coming from the very top of the screen, forming a wall in front of him. i just stood a space away and fired away until he died. the movement is pretty stiff, and i'm not sure how it related to the theme, but not a bad attempt over all. good job, man.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:13am

Really like the art. It's definitely eye catching. When I saw the screenshot in the default section I absolutely had to check this one out. It's a shame this had to be tied down to the 'one life' gimmick. I'd like to see this be just a wee bit more forgiving.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:13am

Cute style, nice entry

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:14am

Very difficult, but good graphics and audio!

TaleLore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:17am

Sometimes you can walk in the air and it is very difficult to get down from boxes without dying. Otherwise great game, amazing graphics.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:18am

I cant run it on my pc (Win7 i7 latest java version)

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:18am

Stunning visuals and hilarious recordings. It was almost a pleasure to have to restart because I got to hear a different voice clip.

Gameplay itself was a little lacking, since it is nearly impossible to drop down from the boxes where enemies are. In addition, the final boss was laughably easy compared to the rest of the game.

This is a fun little game and could be expanded out with more love and time. Great work!

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:18pm

With a game as unforgiving as this, I always wish for a brisker pace. I wanted the guy to walk faster, but more than anything I wanted the gameoverrestart loop to be much much shorter. This game inspired keyboard hammering while I waited impatiently.

But otherwise a very nice job, cool graphics and sound and polish. I abused walking on the heads of the enemies to avoid having to jump down from the crate, was that as intended? I had no idea it was possible until I did it by mistake.

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Cool smoking baby

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Wow! Sound effects, voice over, idle animations, transitions, your game got everything! Very fun :-D

I think you are going to like this video, I hope it gives you some ideas :-)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJdEqssNZ-U&list=FLMQ_qQlZ5zqZ0NAk3wqDRWA&index=1

Cheers!

PaperBlurt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:08pm

This looks amazingly good.
Great skills..

Mr. Baby FTW!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]