December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

JumpMan

by LevelUpJordan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yes I know JumpMan is already a thing!!!

My entry is sort of a puzzle platformer (sorry about that :P), you only get one jump per level and only get one attempt at a level.

I'd love to hear what you think either here or on Twitter at @LevelUpJordan

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Theme4.10
#47Fun3.72
#167Innovation3.46
#193Humor3.08
#282Overall3.28
#511Mood2.73
#702Graphics2.52
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16am

Pretty fun game! I liked the various enemies and level design. Cool use of the jump mechanic with the purple enemies - i liked the visible timer

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50am

Definitely fun. Definitely fun to see jumpman's head explode when he dies, over and over again.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30am

This was fun and funny to play I love the head bounceing.

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:19am

Haha, I really love this concept! I think it fit the theme perfectly, really like the permanence. I was terrible >_>

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43am

I was kinda useless at this :(
Still neat idea for the theme.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20am

Very fun, got a win percentage of 53%. The "one chance only" is a little frustrating, but it goes well with the theme.

I would love to see this becoming a full-fledged game :)

tomc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

It was hard, but as I started to get the hang of it, it became quite a fun puzzle.

embero says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Pretty hard game :) But it's a lot of fun.

turnip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Nice use of the theme and a solid little platformer. I got 6/15 and I'm proud of that! :D

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Great game! Such a nice concept to come out of a theme...

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Frustrating and hard. But fun, really fun. Your character sprite is broken though, maybe you could fix it eventually!

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:50pm

I failed this game pretty hard.

LevelUpJordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Okay, I might have made this a bit a hard :P

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Cool concept. I felt sad I couldn't retry a level right away, but that made it more interesting: you *need* to do well, so thinking more upfront.

McFunkypants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Great feel! So nice and smooth, all the nice znimations and particles and menus all seem to move in a silky smooth 60fps. Great work!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

The first time I couldn't replay a level, my thought was "man! that's a hardcore interpretation of the theme." By the time the levels started getting difficulty, though, it was really really annoying to reload to try again.

The check/X animations should probably be about 1/3 as long as they are (awkwardly long).

Clever puzzle designs!

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Awesome, very fun! Love that you used the theme twice and I love that you had time to vary the enemies and make a really interesting puzzle. I'd probably buy this for mobile if it was extended and polished a bit, but for the love of all things holy speed up that zooming tick mark!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03pm

This is really funny. I was laughing after every mistake. Good use of the comically large close-up of your result too.

Parasyte says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Love it! SOOO difficult. The only downside is that I did not hear any audio.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Damn, it's hard to beat. Good game:)

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:14pm

I find a lot of game shoe horse a theme into the game, and it hurts the gameplay. As far as the single-jump mechanic goes, I think the opposite...Nice job there. I didn't care for only having a single chance at each level though.

All that aside, it was quite fun. very nice job!

mobyvb says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Of the fifteen levels, I only beat one, but it was very fun.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:49pm

pretty good game. good job!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:50am

Nice - thought it was too easy at first, how wrong I was. Liked the one jump thing. One shot at the levels was just mean though. :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]