December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGO swat member

by severus - Jam Entry

You simply need to kill all red terrorist on the map. This is kind of work for a SWAT team, but you only get one man with one gun.
controls: WSAD + mouse (+Esc)

Game crated using XNA, sounds (gunshot only) from freesound.org. Used software: Visual Studio, GIMP, TortoiseSVN.

Requires XNA4 framework installed, as well as .NET

We still don't have official name for that.
Code & Graphics: Thun & Severus

Doesn't work? Try to install XNA from the link at top.

Post-Compo package includes last version with more levels and less bugs (we still working on it). Current version is 1.1.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#83Fun(Jam)3.46
#239Overall(Jam)3.14
#263Mood(Jam)2.89
#295Innovation(Jam)2.77
#315Humor(Jam)2.16
#431Audio(Jam)2.03
#436Theme(Jam)2.26
#441Graphics(Jam)2.53

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Not bad was alright no issue that I found.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:37pm

^not bad??? I loved this game! It worked great and was wicked fun stealthily up on dem terrorists! ( i do love my stealth games) More levels plz! AWESOME submission.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Quite fun and satisfying, would love to play more levels.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

good entry! I like that you kept you scope small and achievable, and the line of sight mechanic is well polished.

barkergames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12am

I loved the shadows! It gives the game a "fear" effect. Not knowing where the enemy is. Loved it.
It could have used instructions in game. (since I forgot to read the description till now :)

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:21am

very nice game! (and small download size!) awesome concept, love the visibility mechanic! overall 5 stars

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Unfortunately, running the exe doesn't do anything on my computer. Windows (7) seems to be loading something for a few seconds, but no window or process opens.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55pm

The style reminds me of 'I made a game with zombies in it'. Nothing wrong with a good ol fashion top down shooter.

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Pretty fun game even though it is simple. Would love to play more levels...

TomboFry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Loved the idea, but obviously with more time it could have been even better (not saying it was bad, it definitely wasn't, I really enjoyed this game :D)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:08pm

It worked now (my bad, I forgot to install XNA 4), and it's as fun as it looks. Fair yet challenging. I liked the FOV mechanic/visualization. Well done! :)

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:21pm

worked for me, but you should add the xna link at the top

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Compared to compo games, it had a decent level of graphics, but unfortunately I had to rate lower because it was in the jam. Even so, it was very fun.

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Nice start of a game, the guards seem a bit random and quick although not quick enough to stop you from being able to shoot and hide. I like the gunshotsound. I would suggest trying to build more content in the direction of less randomness, more control and planning.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:47pm

really great game! add some more levels and more obstacles and this could end up even better :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:14pm

An absolutely pointless reflex test. It's like Hotline Miami in a parallel universe of the worst possible remakes.

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Quite a fun game. The cone of vision effect is very well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]