December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Last Squadron

by Chaoseiro - Jam Entry

Almost missed the submission hour :O

We tried to make a sci-fi rogue-like game: "you only got one" player, one weapon, survive!

Unfortunately we couldn't finish it, with sound and some things more, but you can have some fun killing monsters :P

And please note that you can also fire with the "alt" key or control the game with an gamepad!

From Mister Studios team:
Chaoseiro - Programmer
Takeshi Kouga - Graphics Designer and Game Designer
ReddoYX - Graphics Designer and Level Designer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#232Graphics(Jam)3.33
#340Fun(Jam)2.67
#383Overall(Jam)2.82
#397Humor(Jam)1.87
#424Mood(Jam)2.41
#470Audio(Jam)1.46
#503Theme(Jam)1.98
#510Innovation(Jam)2.04

Comments

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39am

Thankyou for web!

chabuduo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:54am

I couldn't get passed the first area, can you clarify how to proceed? Looks solid.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07am

very difficult! controls are a bit wack, but pretty nice work! i like the upgrade system

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11am

I had fun jetting around, but it was a bit unclear how to proceed from the first area like chabuduo said. I think I crouched by the middle of the floor and an upgrade/weapon select showed up, then it faded to the next level. From then on I was mercilessly killed by enemies. I had a blast!

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31am

Maybe the door isn't that visible :X
To open it just interact with it (w) and it will take you to the levels.
And thanks for the comments and reviews ;)

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:08am

It's obviously unfinished, but this could be a fun game someday! I like the art and the fast-paced jumping around. I don't like that I need to click the mouse to shoot when there's no aiming or other mouse control - firing should just be a button on the keyboard. Of course the game also needs sound and tighter controls, but overall I'd say this isn't a bad showing for 72 hours.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:29am

@Nut
Actually that was a mistake, you can also use the "alt" key and use a controller, thanks for remembering me about that kk
About the sound, if we had just one hour more we would be able to give it some sfx and a bgm, but that upgrade window took way longer than expected :/
And the controls...let's say I lost the fight with unity 2d physics :X
and thank you very much for your comment and review ;)

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:47am

Got a wacky feel to it, almost like it was made while drunk. Guess that's just cause for some mood points.

Mase says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I'd prefer to hold a key down to fire.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Nice game!
The graphics look really nice.
The game is quite hard, but hey that makes it challenging!
Some small points I noticed:
- Standing up from crouching should be instantly, like the crouching, because it's quite hard to shot, when in cover.
- The assault gun would be cooler, if it was full-auto.
- Moving around could be a bit more crisp ;)

Is the level procedurally generated? It looks really nice. Besides that, the money avalanch you get, when killing an enemy is really satisfying :D

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Looks really nice and fun when shooting monsters (and they shoot back). The hero's speed felt too much.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:43pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GoQp6BpHAx4
My first impressions on the game :)

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:44am

Pretty cool. Tricky, but very satisfying when you kill an enemy.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:52am

I did have fun killing monsters! Initially I thought the controls were too jerky (specifically the unaccelerated x/y), but after I played for a while I appreciated the speed. Massive coin drops reminded me of Smash TV for some reason. I played enough to explore some of the map (still can't figure out if there's anywhere to go) and upgrade my weapon pretty far, and wreak some havoc!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:46am

Really like the graphics. Great stuff. I couldn't figure out how to get pass the first screen though. I tried to interact with the door, but it just wasn't happening. Not quite sure what I was doing wrong.

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:46am

Man, this is a dangerous (and well-presented) game! My main qualm is that the controls didn't make much sense to me (mostly in the menus, where you need to select with WASD and then click on it), and also, given that I am using the mouse, I would've liked to have been able to aim with it. You have a pretty solid foundation, though. Great work!

madlee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:54am

Fun, though the controls are a little wonky. Took some time to get used to the speed of movement. Also, I somehow got stuck on a weapons upgrade screen in the first area, and somehow when I figured out how to close it, I had been teleported into an area with a bajillion monsters. I died promptly and was very confused, but the second playthrough was better :)

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:26am

First, thanks everyone for playing and commenting!
Second, well, mentioning the mouse was an error, as the whole game was planned for wasd/gamepad, i know that shooting can be done with mouse, but that's Unity's default behavior (Fire1 button).
@Mase: That would be an upgrade, but we decided to give the rifle a burst shot instead of full automatic firing :P
@StMatn: Yeah, stand up after crouching should really be instantaneous :X
The levels aren't procedurally generated, we planned to have a sequence, but in the end, we could only make the door take you to a random map :/ (at least there are 8 maps...)
@DanielSnd: thanks for the video :P
@Venks: You start without a weapon, and must buy one from the shop to enter the maze/spaceship/levels. The hud is wrongly showing bullets when the game starts for the first time...
@Maple: in the menu you select stuff with the "Fire" button, which happens to also be mouse button :/
@madlee: yeah, there's a really annoying bug in the shop, as it was supposed to let you change to one of the first weapons but after opening the upgrade menu it will stay activated forever...

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Reasonably fun, but you move to fast, there's minimal feedback when you interact with the UI (IE: Buying things), and the monsters seem overly aggressive. I walked in, and got mobbed by about 6 things, only to jump and have over half my heal removed by some crystal thing I had assumed was an item or something.

Sound would have definitely made the experience much better.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Quite well executed, the graphics and controls (I would reall like interacting with E, jetpack with W and shooting with SPACE) are not that great but the mechanica work really well. I like the fact that when you die you just get another try and you keep your money -- good feeling of progression.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Nice game jam try and I hope you will finish it one day!:)

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Controls are'n trivials!! Good game however.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Shooting system not always working, nice one BTW

Shigor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:56pm

It reminds me good old turrican in some ways.

Lipedal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:34am

That looks promising, man. Would love to see a fleshed-out version with sound and improved gameplay :)

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:16am

I like the graphics, but i don't like the controls at all.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:31am

Professional graphics, a good base to work on!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Really excellent graphics/particles...It really deserves some sound FX to make the experience complete. Navigating the GUI was also a bit wonky. Overall, a nice game!

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:06pm

ficou bastante BETA :P mas da para melhorar!

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice work! In my opinion is so fast, but good job anyway! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]