December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Match

by Tanner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simply survive, because there is really cold and this is your last match. Avoid blue wind that's what is it about.

I haven't done anything interesting since a long time, so it is - my first Ludum Dare entry. Small warm-up.

Toolset:
Phaser - http://phaser.io/
Chirp Composer - http://chirp.rezoner.net/
Inkscape - http://inkscape.org/
Gimp - http://www.gimp.org/
Sublime Text - http://www.sublimetext.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#409Audio2.69
#466Theme2.94
#595Humor2.03
#737Mood2.42
#746Innovation2.50
#824Fun2.36
#829Graphics2.20
#881Overall2.48

Comments

MrTambourine says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Tanner, you have my vote! Come back to your gamedev.pl folks! :)

burgerdare says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:24pm

little unclear what the goal is

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Nothing is loading for me, Will defer from rating due to that.

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50pm

@Tsumei what browser do you use? have you tried with chrome or firefox?

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Not Bad, it is possible to cheat by moving the match off the main area and avoid all of the blue squares.

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Managed to win, the game is very unclear of what's going on, but after a while is quite neat!

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02pm

It seems next time I will have to really concentrate on clearness :)

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Not bad, unique. I wasn't sure if I was trying to reach a goal or just see how long I keep my match from burning out. But good take on the theme.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34pm

A bit confusing game. It took me a while to get what's going on, but when I finally got it I enjoyed the audio and small detail of the match.

pavelzuk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Move the mouse out of the screen to win. xD Funny game.

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Not all blue things seemed to collide with the match, very few blue things spawned at the top of the map and you could move your cursor out of the screen.

The idea is quite simple and fun for less than a minute. Good job on getting an entry finished.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Wasn't exactly sure what I was doing, but i noticed you could move the mouse out of the screen.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Synchronizing blue and red red with music would make from it a very good game! It lags a bit for me...

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Curious: am I projecting, or is that totally, like, a computer on a desk, and then another desk (or maybe a bed) with a picture hanging over it, and then, like, a dresser or a filing cabinet beyond it?

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Kinda fun, cool simple graphics, nice job...

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32am

Nice music. It was surprisingly challenging to dodge stuff with a mouse. I think there might be an interested mechanic there but as implemented in this game it was pretty dull.

Good job. Way to enter and complete something. Go further and deeper next year!

Bogden says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:05am

Could really use some instructions, but pretty neat once I figured out what was going on.

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33am

I did it! "One Match" is a nice theme. =)

It was fairly understandable to me from the outset, though I didn't realize was the percentage counter indicated until playing several times.

I hadn't heard of Chirp Composer before either, I'll have to look into that.

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02am

Agree that the goal is a bit unclear. In no time I can figure it out though (cool and hot wind). The percentage on top left screen also helped.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice game, the soundtrack is great but gets repetative after a while. Pretty hard on mobile (never got more than 70%).

Defr├Ąg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Music does not loop properly. (firefox)

It's kinda weird how red things add more wood to the match, fire should burn the match quicker.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Bah, I thought I could cheat the wind by going outside the screen, but it didn't work :P. Nice simple game, the music was... interasting.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Very original!

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Not a big fan of reflex only games, could consider adding some tell of where the next blue and red squares are going to appear to make it more about planning.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:11pm

the game was quite challenging, but it was fun at the same time. good job on your first ludum dare game! I hope to see many more!

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Cool, small and simple game. I especially liked the music!

Tanner says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Thank you all for votes :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]