December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cable

by eemmbbeerr - Jam Entry

THE GETTING STUCK ISSUE MAINLY FIXED if you can narrow down any specific cases, do not hesitate to tell us!


Halflemon studios's first game (this user's other game was not in this team). This is a puzzle-y platformer where one plays as an electrician, chasing vandals around the city but one can only use a single piece of cable.

If you can't get it to work, use a different browser. We tested on Firefox and Chrome (IE might not work).
In case you can not do the jump on level 3, try it from the 2nd stair and press jump before moving to the side, it works the most that way.

WASD to move, SPACE to use cable, R to restart level. If it turns red it's being stretched too long and cannot be used. Other instructions are ingame. (The Q key carries a secret).

We are grateful for any feedback we can get, please take your time to write a comment. Thank you!

Special thanks to tester Tamas Dobai!


P.S.: Be on the lookout for Justin Bieber! We took part in the Bieber Challenge! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#99Humor(Jam)3.19
#131Innovation(Jam)3.27
#346Theme(Jam)2.53
#360Fun(Jam)2.63
#370Audio(Jam)2.46
#374Overall(Jam)2.83
#407Mood(Jam)2.50
#516Graphics(Jam)1.94

Comments

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:18am

The wire mechanic is pretty cool. The stylish vandal takedown scenes are also fun :)

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23pm

interesting idea for the wire mechanic, controls seemed laggy but that could just be my computer

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:27pm

LOL. I got stuck on the stairs, but had fun.

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Love the dubbing, more city needs the mechanic that they deserve :D
The image little bit glitchy for my taste though :)

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:26pm

The art could use some work, but the gamaplay is actually pretty good! Very original too!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05pm

certainly charming. love the cut scenes

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Your idea is really great and the gameplay is fun. I really like the cheesy jokes :D It took me way too much time (~10s) to get the bug-joke...
I really tried hard to beat the game and I'm sorry to say that but level 13 finally made me quit :( Please don't be offended, but the collisiondetection is a pain... The first one was quite funny, but the last one was enough for me: http://imgur.com/Hp6ymGR.png

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:20pm

If there's anything I could make again it's the collisions, yes. It was a pain, it still is a pain and it's massively better than it used to be (if you can believe that).
The level design on that one isn't that great either but the problem popped up later than the level... well, yeah. Time limits hurt feelings, we couldn't really fix it in time.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Nice level end jokes :) Jumpoing is a bit itchy but the concept is there. I couldn't get the connection with the theme though?

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Left that out of the description, but you only get a single piece of cable to work with.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Loaded a grey scene and music but nothing else.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46pm

JaymeeMak: can you give more details? What browser are you using, what OS, etc.?
It didn't work on Internet Explorer for us.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:24am

You should work on your collision detection I fell through the ground :/

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Very glitchy controls unfortunately :(, couldn't manage to jump while on the stairs. If the technical stuff would've been ironed out it could've been a great fun game! Very original concept!

Nichii says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Nice game, however, the game is pretty buggy especially with the wall stuck thingy.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:04pm

This was so funny! I absolutely loved the inter-level vignettes, the characterisation was hilarious. The platforming controls were a little difficult to get to grubs with but it really made me laugh, thank you!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:24pm

nice idea, but could use more clear artwork. got stuck in the stairs with no way to restart level or die. which sucked.

tchem says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:34pm

interesting idea and all concept, continue!!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:20am

kibertoad: Both descriptions and ingame instructions tell you to press "R" to restart a level. It is unfortunate you missed it all.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:52pm

The idea is very innovative, but the bugs and glitches made it frustrating to play. Some polish here and there and this game would be quite fun, I'm sure :-)

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Totally missed the key, thanks for taking your time to point it out! Sorry.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Interesting idea of using the wires to create traps.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Hahaha! Great concept and humor! Funny game!

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Had some major issues (random lag, particuarly bad when hitting a wall and teleporting after the lag, often through walls and falling out of the level). But I still managed to get through a few levels. Cool idea, and I loved the jokes at the end of each level. Art and music weren't very good, but it helped add the the humor!

GarethIW says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Certainly a refreshing concept for a game, makes the player think ahead at points before wildly charging into the fray.

psc1997 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Interesting idea ! Great job ! ;)

pjchardt says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:47pm

I agree with others that the wire mechanic is pretty interesting. I do however have a few criticisms that I hope may help in some capacitance :) I find it very frustrating when I play the game with the keyboard and have to use the mouse to select levels. Are there keyboard controls on the menu? I find it frustrating and colors my entire experience. I think this is a usability issue, one that is easy to fix but should not be underestimated as to its importance. My other comment is that I have a hard time distinguishing important and unimportant objects in the scene. As the levels progressed things cluttered to the point where it was hard to read a level, and deciphering dangers, objectives etc. became increasingly confusing. Considering this is a one screen platformer with puzzles, I suggest working more on a visual design driven by readability. I do enjoy the tone and tongue in cheek humor :) Hope my comments help. Good luck!

BluMist says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Off the charts humor on this one. I liked how everything was original.

Static 64 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:44am

I liked the graphics, and it was an iterating concept with some funny lines. Not bad.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:17am

Interesting idea :-)

kbake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Fun use of the theme and interesting mechanics! I think if you polished it up a bit more it could be even more enjoyable. Good stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]