December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Voyage

by hoqjed - Jam Entry

Created By Dylan Gallardo and Farhan Qureshi.

The opportunity is rare, a space launch has been funded.
You've only got one voyage to explore and collect information about distant planets.
What will you find?

We wanted to get across this idea of humanity and how what you find out "there" would reflect something about yourself, even though it's alien.

We are aware the game ends abruptly. We ran out of time and couldn't make the ending we were thinking of and put something in the last 15 minutes.

Created from scratch for Ludum Dare 28.

Controls:
Left-Click - slow boost
Right-Click - fast boost
Scroll Wheel- Zoom in/out

*NOTE*: MAC and LINUX versions untested.

*We've also run into a potential bug for the Windows version of the game. If the game seems "jerky" or like it's running at double speed please use the Web link instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#99Mood(Jam)3.48
#100Innovation(Jam)3.36
#183Overall(Jam)3.27
#215Audio(Jam)3.04
#222Graphics(Jam)3.38
#248Fun(Jam)2.93
#290Humor(Jam)2.26
#305Theme(Jam)2.65

Comments

hoqjed says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:13am

*Please note* We've run into a potential bug for the Windows version of the game. If the game seems "jerky" or like it's running at double speed please use the Web link instead.

-Dylan

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Nice mechanics and the music makes a very good mood. I liked the idea :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Nice work =)

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Nice atmosphere. The comments on the planets were really cool.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Star Trek! :D Good job.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:31am

Aaw, I really like the concept of this! Too bad it ended a bit abruptly. I wish there was some sort of narrative that connected some planets together, maybe you find a way to penetrate the "impenetrable" orb? All in all, great atmosphere and I really wish I could play more!

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34am

Cool mechanic. Love the description on the hallucinogen planet!

hoqjed says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:38am

Thanks for the comments so far guys! Much appreciated.

Specific responses to:

Tex Killer - Yes very Star Trek Inspired

Nelien - Thanks, the ending was very very rushed. It's admittedly pretty tacked on. Very good idea about connecting the narratives, that could have been interesting.

-Dylan Gallardo

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:54am

This is quite an interesting concept, and the orbital physics seem very well done. I seem to not be alone in my confusion over the end, though :P

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:01am

This is beautiful! Top marks for concept, fun and mood!

TaleLore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:05am

Pretty confusing but decent exploration.

ryangatts says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:07am

Very enjoyable, scanning the larger planets is quite hard :) Also, I love what happens when you run out of energy! Very mood-setting!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:09am

Cool space game, great movement mechanics !

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:20am

Due to the speed limit I wasted a lot of fuel trying to get close enough to scan the big planets. I couldn't successfully establish close orbit on anything but the small starting planet

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:36am

I forgot to mention in the last post that I really enjoy the orbital mechanics.

Bcadren says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:13am

Your Kepler gravity felt a little weak and inaccurate to me. Only feeling strong when trying to achieve escape velocity after landing. Simple
rigidbody.AddForce(target.transform.position - transform.position);
Should have felt a bit smoother than it was in this game. (I've used that code before). Strong point is the graphics.

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Great job. I love the atmosphere and the descriptions of the civilizations on each planet.

van noctar says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Great job!! :D

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:50am

Interesting game, I couldn't manage to beat it though :C

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]