December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Minute To War

by squibbons - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The nuclear missile on your submarine has been set to launch, but you have been instructed to abort the procedure! You only get one minute to prevent nuclear disaster and you only get one press of the abort button! Make sure your code is entered correct before committing or you just might start a global nuclear war.

NOTE: The sheet says to flip it over, but that code wasn't finished in time. The game still works fine though, as the launch codes will always appear on the front of the papers.

Twitter: @Squibbons
Engine: HaxePunk
Time Created: 12-14 hours

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#326Mood3.00
#380Graphics3.15
#420Humor2.41
#420Overall3.10
#431Theme3.00
#571Innovation2.80
#663Fun2.63
#775Audio1.33

Comments

notajetski says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08am

unfortunately, i was unable to figure out how to turn the sheet over. nuclear war for everyone!

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16am

Yeah, I wasn't able to finish the sheet flipping code in time. However, it doesn't cause the game to break. Since I never finished it, the codes always appear on the front sides of the papers. So it should be 100% playable, except in those rare instances where the numbers appear over text. O_o Thanks for playing it!

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21am

I enjoyed this quite a bit. The concept is solid, though, the way you find the code could be more complex. Good job!

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21am

An interesting concept and cool visuals (sort of remind me of "Papers, please"). The gameplay is a bit stale, but overall, not a bad effort.

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23am

The idea was there and it was a cool idea. However I was almost always able to find the code because it was out of place. Would have been cool with some sound. :)

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26am

Thanks for the comments! Both to ZXeno and whiteknife, I agree that it could be more complex ans less stale. =) I wanted to do lots more. Add envelopes, business cards, random sticky notes. Also, much better implementation of integrating the codes into the pages. Time time time as I'm sure we all know. It was a fun learning experience though, as I've never coded in HaxePunk.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:56am

Try to reduce time a little bit and it took me a while to figure out how to play but it was fun once i did. Good job

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Well I got through a few levels. Though on one or two the code spawned inside of the text already on the paper, which added a readability difficulty to the game :P

I don't quite understand why you get more instructions as the game progresses though. I got consistently more papers that explained the things I had just had to work out in order to advance in levels..

But the game has potential, a sort of Nuclear Papers please :)

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Nice Game Concept!

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41pm

This game has a huge Papers, Please vibe.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35am

Cool idea, but it seemed as though my cursor was lagging really badly on the web version.

As others have said, massive papers please vibe.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37am

That might've been the wrong code, but the one I thought was the right one had a zero in it. How do I zero? :D

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:55am

As a massive Papers, Please fan this was right up my alley with dragging stuff around. Nice concept, would like to see it finished with a few more puzzles in it.

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:57am

Got up to level 23 before dying; I enjoyed trying to read the numbers through the text - I liked how if you shake the sheets the numbers stand out (intentional?) :)

Eniko says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Neat concept! Reminded me a bit of Papers Please. Does it end? I got to level 20.

Maybe at some point reducing time might have a better effect than adding more pages?

Also I noticed that if you jiggle the paper the code, if it's on a page, will lag behind the page. This can be abused to find the code.

Before Light says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:30am

It's a cool game. A little bit over use of gray, for my taste.

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:23am

Interesting game, would have tried to steer a bit away from the look and feel of 'papers, please', though. Just to avoid obvious comparisions.

squibbons says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Sorry Eniko, it doesn't end currently. =( It just goes on and on, until you eventually fail and start a global nuclear war.

Yeah, I didn't realize until after the fact that not only did "Papers', Please" use HaxePunk, but it used the default font in it as well, which is what I used. And then, on top of that, when I rushed out to find a free use as you want font on the net for the bold text and headers/logos, apparently I grabbed the exact same one for that as well. O_o Ah well, I'll change that for a re-release. Thanks for the feedback everyone. =)

grifdail says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:10am

Yeah... It's reminde me of paper please but the timer addition is great ! Howerver there is a gameplay breaking bug: by shaking the paper the code have a strange effect.

Xavier says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Reset please? :D

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:43pm

(Sorry I took this long to play it!)

I liked the concept :D It reminded me of Papers, Please (without actually having played PP before)

I'd like to see other methods of code finding, rather than just flipping every paper to see which one has the code. Maybe more fake codes? Codes that lead to the real code?

It's an interesting idea that could use some expanding :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]