December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Akh

by Midnight Creators - Jam Entry

Creators:
Team: Midnight Creators
Matheus Sampaio (matheussampaio@msbnet.com.br) - Developer
Bianca Augusta (biancaazanette@gmail.com) - Artist

Engine:
Unity
Photoshop
After Effects
Audacity

Music:
"Life of Pi" OST
"World of Warcraft" OST
"Wolf's Rain" OST

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Mood(Jam)4.17
#15Graphics(Jam)4.55
#15Audio(Jam)4.06
#177Overall(Jam)3.28
#215Theme(Jam)2.94
#303Humor(Jam)2.22
#308Innovation(Jam)2.75
#401Fun(Jam)2.50
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:47am

Wow, that art design is incredible. I can't believe that you guys pulled this together in 72 hours. I found the gameplay to be a bit less responsive than I'd like, but that's just about the only negative thing I could think of. Really strong work, guys!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:32am

Thanks for your review, (n-n) wanted us to have done even more. 8P

romandtom says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39am

The most invested game I've seem so far in the jam!
Great game!

I found it quite annoying to read something, whenever a level starts, I think that it should be written through the game.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:48am

Thanks for your review. Really, read that text from the beginning you could take a little time (n-n), but do not forget "CLICK to SKIP" and get Souls.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Epic! Great atmosphere & style. Special thx to the music

Pol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:23pm

The visuals are impressive (particularly the colours) *but* ripping off Below's screenshot for your home screen is not exactly subtle .3.

Therrato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42pm

The looks are really nice, bugs wise i did manage to clip into some of the walls, by accident. but overall nicely done

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Methamphetabear & Pol - Thanks for the comments (^.^)

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Good graphic and atmosphere. But game itself too boring. Storyline telling by moving picture is great idea. Its interesting.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Maybe one bug? I will verify (n-n) Therrato thanks for playing!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Saint Heiser - Thanks for playing. Just credits of moving images for Bianca (artist) (^, ^).

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36pm

I loved the graphics and the atmosphere and the gameplay was solid :) nice work!!!

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Wow, great game, sought and neat graphics !
I'm on MAC OSX 10.9 and I had to perform this little manipulation to make it work:
Right click on the Akh. app and press "Show package contents" then go to Contents>MacOs
After that you need to open Terminal and type "chmod a+x " then drag'n drop the "Akh" file and press enter.
Now you are ready to play ! ( Sorry for my bad english, I'm French :) )

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53pm

No problem Monoquartz, we are Brazilians, (n.n) And thanks for playing and this "tutorial"!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:55pm

zconnelly13 - Thanks for the comments and play(^.^)

DBRalir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03pm

The gameplay was a bit too bland, but the aesthetic is great. I love the scrolling story images! The gameplay could be improved with tighter movement and more challenging platforming.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Thanks all for your feedbacks, DBRalir, and platforms that you said are already in production (n.n)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Thanks for the solid feedback DBRalir, and thanks for playing too :)

dznemotion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Incredible! The best at a time.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12pm

wow, thanks dznemotion! >.<

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Because of the really similar menu art with the game Below (3 guys thought the same thing), we changed some details ;'( we are so sorry for it.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:32pm

My first impressions on the game :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ouY5WFbOgNU

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:22pm

@DanielSnd Thanks for the video! We are so sorry about our cut texts on tutorial, it just happend on Web version of the game :/

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:50am

beautiful game! and the sound was amazing too!
I just found quite annoying that much text when the level starts. And also, it was kinda less responsive than i would like a game like this to be.
But hey! for 72 hours! Good job!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:48am

Amazing graphics and the music fitted perfectly!
Good job guys!

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:17am

The music for this game fits very well, but the lack of friction made some of the jumps aggravating

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:32am

The art is incridible! Really is one of the most beautiful ones in this entire compo. Amazing! :)

If you have time , please rate my game too! I would really appreciate it :D

burtlo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:57am

I was enjoying the gameplay video and thought to myself the music was so good and also familiar. I remembered its the music they play when you die in World of Warcraft.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hKdb2GT4Taw

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Yeah @burtlo , we used that music haha Awesome game and OST :)

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Great graphics! I really liked the story strip. The only problem with the gameplay, imho, is that the character slides too much... I often got blue souls while trying to get only the red ones because of the sliding...

Lipedal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:04am

Lipedal here (the other Lipedal back there was my co-worker Cauã). Holy mother, you make BEAUTIFUL art! Loved the custscene and the general mood of the game :O Great soundtrack choice too. I only got a bit confused when red and blue started to negate each other. Other than that, you have a VERY solid entry there! It's really impressive that it was made in 72 hours. Congratulations, Midnight Creators! :D

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:14am

Did i curse you to make a game so beautiful? hahahah!
The graphics are very good, and the music... ahh the music.
Good job, guys!

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:26am

Matheus e Bianca, MEUS PARABENS! meu deus, que maravilha de obra. clima muito maneiro, graficos nota 10. As cutscenes sao impressiontes. Bianca tu eh muito talentosa.

a jogabilidade peca um pouco, com um personagem que deslisa demais.

virei fa (@Gamenific seguindo voces no Twitter)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Muito obrigado @brmassa, adimito que a movimentação esta um pouco complicada, mas fazer o que temos que por algum desafio. (de acordo com fontes vamos mudar isto em uma próxima atualização)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:12pm

stigmawall - Thanks for playing and for your review

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Fancy graphics, and the music made for a nice mood. The gameplay could probably have been made more interesting though.

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Saw that you used music you didn't make yourselves, and likely didn't acquire the rights to use.

Since you're in the jam, you're allowed to use content you haven't produced yourself, but you still need the rights owner's permission to do so.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:02am

really amazing visuals, great job!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:36pm

best storytelling since now :) for me the gameplay is ok.. but the atmosphere and the graphics are awesome!

Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I liked this game loads. I liked the graphics, sounds, and general mood. I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Sii3dnpSvEI

Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Thank you for your comments! And forgive us for not responding earlier, because we were celebrating Christmas.
Mcapraro - Thanks for your comment.
TeamFlare - your review will be very useful, thank you.
Jupiter_Hadley - thanks for your review on Youtube. we advise you to play and turn the game to meet the final two (^ _ ^)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]