December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Egg

by fluffypillow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--The Last Egg--

You have to protect that big egg on your back from harm, and go through the dangerous forest.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#250Humor2.91
#307Mood3.06
#336Theme3.17
#414Audio2.68
#421Graphics3.07
#446Fun2.93
#460Overall3.05
#778Innovation2.45

Comments

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14pm

I enjoy it, nice mood!

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:52am

Good work for a 48 hour comp, the collision detection is really good, so it's very forgiving. Well done!

Brian says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:17am

Absolutely love the graohics !

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:29am

It's bit laggy in firefox.. Collisions are very forgiving. I liked the variety of enemies :-)

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:30am

nice graphics style. Sounds were very harsh and didn't really match the graphical style. I also felt that the bird was a little too slow.

Ace says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:36am

Felt rather nice, though the camera scrolled a bit slow I think. And sadly the choppiness (Which might just be Firefox's fault) made it unbeatable.

Masadow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Lovely game ! Difficulty is raising fast, but that make it really interesting ! Good work.

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Fun game! Nice work. The vines were a challenge to get past!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:20pm

You are an artist lol! Good game mechanics :D

netmute says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Fun, but hard :) At first the graphics seemed strange, but after a while I really liked them, mainly because of the nicely fitting colors.

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Great graphics and nice version of the game type. A little too often I found myself hiding at the top of the screen, but maybe that was good, because if it had been any harder it would have been too hard for me.

occash says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Nice)But hard control..I think that movement very slow... but maybe the egg is too heavy) Overall - good job!

Zener says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Challenging and with cute graphics, well done!

sadiquo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Nice game :D But I find is sad than the camera don't follow the bird but it's the bird who follow the camera...

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:13pm

I must say it was quite traumatic when I got hit!

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:07pm

What an absurd little game! I love it!

jonask says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Quite enjoyable

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:04pm

The graphics sell this so very well, I love the squiggly foliage - like a dream made straight into a game (with added nightmarish tentacles). Excellent difficulty ramp rounds out the experience

henrykun says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:00pm

MAAAN!! those freaking clouds and arrows!!!! hahaha nice game :D, it's fun, a bit difficult though.

goerp says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Wow, this part of the jungle is WAY too dangerous, indeed!
And that egg is BIG, I think it's a cuckoos egg and you should lose it :)
As a story I think the 'you only have one egg' works. It puts a emotional drive to it.
There was something weird about the music, it only kicked in after a few minutes of play and several replays.
It became hard very quickly, but was compensated a bit because you knew beforehand what would come when.
Maybe you could add some savepoints?

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:14am

You've created a really nice mood here, the hand-drawn graphics are fantastic. It's also an imaginative take on the theme, great work

Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Great job, cool game, great collision detection.

Jerre says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Very enjoyable game, sound is nice, graphics are sufficient and game play is quite original. If you were to continue on this idea I would spend some time balancing the pace of the game. Very Well done!

GarethIW says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Lovely hand-drawn look to the art, and some nice gameplay to boot.

Tex Killer says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:00am

I laughed at the boss fight... lol

Nice game!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:04pm

A nice little entry, enjoyed the sketchy art style and animations. Nice work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]