December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stillness of the Beast

by ryann - Jam Entry

=========
Game Info
=========
You only have one strike to hit your opponent without letting them hit you, see how many of their swords you can collect

========
Controls
========
WASD/Arrow keys to move and mouse to aim, hold down right mouse button/space bar to keep your sword drawn and use left shift for turbo

=========
Technical
=========
Tested only on a windows machine, not sure if it will work in any VMs. Made in C++ with SDL. Photoshop for graphics. Audacity & Ableton for sound editing. Music is randomly generated in game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Theme(Jam)3.09
#229Innovation(Jam)2.96
#280Mood(Jam)2.85
#343Audio(Jam)2.58
#344Humor(Jam)2.06
#351Graphics(Jam)2.91
#427Fun(Jam)2.43
#439Overall(Jam)2.65
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:35am

The first round I played was over super fast, so fast I didn't quite understand what happened. But after playing multiple rounds, I finally got it. Challenging (which is good!) and pretty aesthetically pleasing too. :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:05am

I really like the atmosphere.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46am

hard to play on laptop

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:19am

I'm unaware of the goal and mechanic at first, but after read your explanation, I have fun playing it. Need more info so player can have more fun :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Too bad I'm currently on a laptop. Found it hard to play :( Bug good game anyway !

ryann says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:07pm

@ TexisbornToFrag, Ekilibr: I added space bar key to draw out your sword which helps a little but the game does play best with mouse and keyboard. To be honest I really hadn't considered tracking pads when making the game, I'll be sure to keep that in mind better next time.

As for the lack of direction that simply got dropped as the time was running out but the game is easy enough to replay. It's not exactly user friendly but it is kind of funny to me having your character die within the first five seconds and having to figure out what went wrong.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:49am

Nothing like a good ol challenge. I can dig this game.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:59am

nice game :D

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:28am

Nice job! A little hard in first attempts ;)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:48am

Took me a while to figure it out and then i read you description (should do that first) and it was actually pleseantly fun.

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:58am

Interesting concept for a game. Initially confusing at first, consider perhaps adding instructions to the main menu page. The action occurs so quickly that I feel there's a bit too much random chance involved, though I did get to add a few swords to my belt by the time I was done playing. A bit too much of a pause after each kill/death. Nice audio, good background art. Thanks for putting this up for critique!

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:34am

Nice game, challenging for sure!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:23am

love the game, after i played it 20 times and undestood how to massacre the other one :P i also like the music and the whole atmosphere :)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:12pm

"Not a valid WIN32 executable" :((

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Works for me with your new executable! Like the graphics of the dojo and the sword sounds are nice, It was a bit difficult for me though and died within 2-3 seconds each time I tried to play - need to brush up my reaction times methinks! Perhaps a bullet time mode etc would make it easier?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]