December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

BlockDodger

by Jishenaz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

===============================================
IMPORTANT: Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studios 2012 is required or you'll get a missing MSVCP110.dll error. Download on the URL provided below. Be sure to download the 32-bit version (x86)!

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

ALSO IMPORTANT: Make sure your computer has a decent graphics card (Nvidia or AMD). Computers without dedicated graphics can overheat to the point of shutdown!

If providing feedback, please provide some details. Don't leave vague feedback like "The game doesn't run". Tell me what you did, what messages you see, etc.

===============================================

This is a really simple game made in C++. You are the green cube and you must avoid all the red cubes. You can shoot blue bullets to destroy red cubes, but you can only have 1 bullet on the screen at a time.

The codebase for this game is a graphics wrapper for OpenGL that I made that's based off the tutorials at http://open.gl/
You can download the wrapper at the "GraphicsWrapper" here: https://app.box.com/s/p533pm7vea8ho9rihnuq

The point of this project was to make a robust GameObject system that would facilitate the making of little games. The GameObject system uses the GraphicsWrapper to render cubes on the screen.

Controls:

- Left and Right Arrow Keys: Move
- Space: Shoot bullet
- Enter: Restart game (only if Game Over)
- Esc: Quit game

Notice: This is a really simple game. There's probably more impressive stuff people made here. Don't expect anything innovative. The whole point is to demonstrate the GameObject system and GraphicsWrapper made in C++.

Libraries used include GLEW, GLM, FreeImage, and SDL. I didn't know how to do fast input with SDL, so the player movement will be odd. It will act like a text cursor being moved with arrow keys. May require a Windows computer that supports OpenGL 3 or greater.

I encourage anyone to look at the source code on Github (link provided above).
You can look at the list of commits here: https://github.com/JISyed/JIS-LudumDare28/commits?author=JISyed

==========================================
Update 01-12-14: A little late, but I made a post compo version of the game with more interesting block spawning behavior. It has difficulty scaling.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#776Humor1.14
#790Audio1.29
#814Graphics2.23
#922Mood1.57
#945Fun2.03
#977Theme1.75
#1001Innovation1.45
#1002Overall1.90

Comments

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Got an error: This program can't start because MSVCP110.dll is missing from your computer

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Thank you for reporting this error.

Apparently, you need to download Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studios 2012 here:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/confirmation.aspx?id=30679

Tell me if that fixes the problem.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Also missing MSVCP110.dll.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

@MrBlade: Have you installed Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studios 2012?

http://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/confirmation.aspx?id=30679

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Game starts with game over and the blocks fly past in the blink of an eye. Still a little buggy I think.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:31am

@Piat I encountered the bugs you mentioned on a separate computer. I'll have to find a way to fix it. It might take a while. I never seen this problem in my computer, even with a release build.

Sytech says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Seems to run too fast. I get a game over screen as soon as I start.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Thanks for the bug reports. I have a delta time calculations now, so hopefully blocks move at "normal" speeds. Tell me if it doesn't.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:41am

Couldn't run the game. The installer crashed my explorer...

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:30pm

@mortl8324 The installer (vcredist_x86.exe) is only for getting the Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studios 2012 installed. Have you tried running BlockDodger.exe without installing the redistributable?

If that doesn't work, you should try installing the redistributable again. Hopefully it won't crash Explorer again. Unfortunately, I have no control over that because the installer is made by Microsoft, no by me.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Like the graphics, the gameplay was a bit lacking.

bowlercaptain says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:28am

Definitely very simple, as you said. I think it could have done with some kind of scorekeeping or difficulty curve. Way to go finishing something, though. Good to hear you came up with a basic engine, although generally I would work on engines outside of LD and then during LD either use something I'd already made or someone else's engine (Unity, Game Maker, Flixel, Flashpunk, etc.)

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:17pm

@tobbez: Appreciate the feedback.

@bowlercaptain: I actually wanted to do a scorekeeping system of some sort, but ran out of time.

Yeah, I definitely should have worked on this engine before LD, but there's never enough time. Usually I would use something like Unity, but I need to demonstrate that I could make something in C++.

Thanks for the feedback!

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Good attempt at the theme, though the difficulty didn't scale leaving the experience a bit lackluster.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:19pm

@Daveloper: Thanks for the feedback. I would have loved to implement difficulty scaling but that would probably take too long to test.

jarnik says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Looks like a nice little OpenGL exercise!
The only issue I had was with controls - upon pressing and holding the arrow key, the player moved a bit and then stopped before moving again. It might be because of the framework limitations, but it'd feel much smoother if the player could move without the initial stutter.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:08pm

@jarnik: Thank you for the feedback. :)

Yeah, I was aware if the strange movement. I have to find a way for SDL to handle multiple keys. That will probably solve the movement problem. I would like to make a tiny post-LD version of this game fixing all the issues, but I wouldn't expect it soon.

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:28am

Nice job using OpenGL. It'll take me a long time before I have the courage to learn it, haha.

stefan says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:59pm

This is a very minimalistic entry, but it runs perfectly. It would be great if it could get harder over time.

Jishenaz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:33am

@patrickgh3: Thanks man!

When I was introduced to OpenGL in college, I couldn't get my head around it. It's programming style is a little weird and takes getting used to. The more graphics concepts you are exposed to, the more easier it is to understand. Good modern tutorials for OpenGL include <http://open.gl/> and <http://www.opengl-tutorial.org/>.

Jishenaz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:35am

@stefan: Thanks for the feedback. I'll try to make a post LD version this month for #1GAM that will include increasing difficulty.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Nice, simle game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) youtu.be/O9M3TIYW4UU

Jishenaz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:50pm

@Jupiter_Hadley: I'm humbled that my ridiculously simple game would get a video review. Thank you :)

Jishenaz says ...
Jan 13, 2014 @ 7:05pm

I made a post Ludum Dare version with difficulty scaling and better controls. Download link at top of page.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]