December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Single-Shot Space Hero: Adventures Through Time and Space; Encounters With The Green Worms of the Edgeworth-Kuiper Belt Planetoid Quaoar

by mutilator - Jam Entry

############################

CONTROLS

############################

You get to fire your first shot any direction by clicking.
Clicking on the screen will change orientation of the ship.
Click and hold will move the ship that direction.

You can control your bullet after the first shot by using your ship to bounce it around.

There was only time to get one level in, good luck with it!

Art by Michele 'Buch' Bucelli <http://blog-buch.rhcloud.com> - <http://opengameart.org/users/buch>

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#109Theme(Jam)3.32
#167Graphics(Jam)3.63
#275Audio(Jam)2.83
#316Innovation(Jam)2.72
#349Humor(Jam)2.05
#349Overall(Jam)2.91
#367Mood(Jam)2.63
#457Fun(Jam)2.32

Comments

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50am

Nice graphics. I'm guessing the intent is a bullet-hell evasion game? I wasn't very successful at it but hiding in the corner seemed to be an effective strategy.

If that's the intent then the game feels pretty unfair and hopeless unless there's some way to buff or protect my player other than dodging things that almost oneshot me and appear and shoot very quickly.

bitowl says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:27pm

awesome graphics. the controls feel glibberish though. And I'm not quite sure how this works, as I seem to be able to play around with the bullet by reflecting it with the ship?

Tanser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:27pm

The graphics are really good ye, but as Netguy204 have said it is a bit easy to cheat at the corners.

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Really nice retro-style graphics and solid idea, with some gameplay-balancing and progression this could easily become a good solid game! =)

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:41pm

I found it tricky to dodge enemy bullets, especially as they moved up the screen at a different rate to the turrets firing them. I liked the idea and the graphics, and with some tighter controls (and maybe a little more health) it would be great :)

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Love the graphics and the ambient space music. Gameplay is really unforgiving though. I also suggest tweaking the controls a bit to make it more responsive. But other than that, it's a nice little game. Keep it up!

Muciojad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Solid entry, but in my opinion noticeable is the absence of collisions, and controls are some unintuitive ;)
Overall quite good job! ;)

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Well hard. It didn't take long to get used to the controls, and its an interesting way to control the ship. I'm not sure about the one-shot thing though, it would be nice to have some method of controlling it after the fact.

Music is scary!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Like the one bullet reflect mechanic, really hard to play though.

ludotrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Cool idea, kinda tricky to properly control the bullet after firing it though. Solid game and nice graphics.

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Kept dying all the time, I either suck at this or I'm missing something completely. My ship should be able to take more hits, and there should be more room to dodge stuff

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24pm

i found it really hard but maybe im just an idiot :) i really wish i could just press space or something on the keyboard to restart instead of taking my hands off the keyboard to use the mouse etc. good job tho :)

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Try only using the mouse, the keyboard controls were just left there from the beginning of dev.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Wow, that was so hard! Haha. And I had to use all my movement to stay alive! I couldn't control the bullet, lol guess I'm not pro enough ^_^ the sounds were great and the graphics too! Very well done :)

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Awesome game. I loved the graphics. I was using the keyboard to control the ship for ages, which was really confusing. Using the mouse instantly made the game feel better.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21pm

This game is like, impossible haha. Fun though. How long is this 1 level you designed? I thought for certain I had it several times.

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23pm

The last guys spawn at 55.5 seconds in, so far i'm not sure anyone has beat it and that's a good thing because there is no end level design it's just blank space forever

GarethIW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Controls are kinda odd, but I really like the idea. I thought it might be good if you could "catch" the shot again and re-fire it. Great spritework!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:32pm

With better movement this would be a greater game. Nice overall of graphic/audio. Good job

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Very unforgiving gameplay, I found myself hiding in the corners of the screen more often than not...

ryann says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:41am

Well I had thought my problem was the arrow keys but using just the mouse doesn't really seem to help me any. I like where it seems to be going though and the graphics and audio and everything are nice but I wasn't really able to figure out how to play.

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:59am

Great graphics. The one-shot thing was good in theory, but the game rewarded me more for dodging stuff -- if I tried to kill with my bullet I would end up dying pretty much instantly. Also it's a shame that you had no ending after all of those enemies. Oh and the music was awesome.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:21am

I'm terrible at this game, but that doesn't stop me from loving it.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:10am

Control and audio is a major setback for me while playing SSSH, but I guess this could perfectly fixed. That would make the game a wonderful top down shooter, so give it a thought. Good entry, plenty of room for improvement.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I tried the web version on android and it worked!
Marvellous what you can do these days. The graphics are pretty good, with 'SNesish' feeling too it, but the controls were kinda awkward, but that must be better with a mouse. In my opinion the number of enemies could be a little more progressive!

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:28pm

The idea of one bullet is good, but it seemed a lot more easy to play and rewarding to just dodge the bullets coming at you. Every time I actually tried to shoot, I was just lousy at the game. :P Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]